April 2010

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for April 2010.


Cindy D’lequez Sage – The Moons Lament (The Lovely Bones Soundtrack)
Rare track taken from ”The Lovely Bones” film directed by Peter Jackson and Steven Spielberg, original music by Brian Eno.  ‘The Moon’s Lament,’ written and performed by Cindy D’lequez-Sage, Courtesy of Opal Ltd.  Who is Cindy D’lequez Sage?
(via Dangerous Minds)

Weekends – A Defining Love (acoustic)

optimistically twisted rock and roll derived from every corner of psych, art, garage, noise pop, surf, drone….

Weekend is Baltimore-based guitar/drum duo, Brendan Sullivan and Adam Lempel. ‘A Defining Love (acoustic)’ is taken from Friends Records‘ free compilation “Friends and Friends of Friends“.  Their upcoming album “Strange Cultures,” mixed and mastered by Rob Girardi (Beach House, Double Dagger, Celebration) will be out soon via Friends Records, Pre-order LP (500 Limited)/Digital.  LP side A is closed out by a seven minute (vinyl-only) version of ‘Raingirls,’ a live show standard.

photo by RaRah

Welcome Back Sailors – I’ll Be There (via transparent)

Myspace >>

Blue Giant was formed by Kevin and Anita Robinson, better known as Portland, Ore. indie-pop darlings Viva Voce with Chris Funk (The Decemberists), Evan Railton (Swords) and Seth Lorinczi (The Golden Bears).  Their self-titled debut full-length “Blue Giant” will be released on July 13th via Vanguard Records.  Produced by Kevin Robinson. 

FREE DOWNLOAD ::  ‘Blue Sunshine’ from the debut album.

Blue Giant Take-Away Show produced by One Shot Seattle for La Blogothèque.
June 2008.  Directed/Edited by S. Viehmann.

“Twistable, Turnable Man: A Musical Tribute to the songs of Shel Silverstein”

Shel Silverstein, as a writer, poet, and songwriter has influenced generations upon generations of kids (and kids at heart) with his brilliant, witty, and touching turns of phrase. It is Silverstein’s oft-overlooked catalog of classic songs that is the focus of this new all-star tribute. As a songwriter, Silverstein penned indelible songs for artists such as Johnny Cash, Dr. Hook, Loretta Lynn, Bobby Bare, and countless others. On this collection, lovingly produced by Bobby Bare Sr. and Bobby Bare Jr., two distinct generations of artists inspired by Silverstein have lined up to pay tribute. From Kris Kristofferson, Ray Price, and John Prine to Andrew Bird, Billy Bob Thornton’s band the Boxmasters, Black Francis, My Morning Jacket, Dr. Dog and more, “Twistable, Turnable Man: A Musical Tribute to the Songs of Shel Silverstein” is an eclectic, endearing valentine to this giant of American song.
Release date: June 8th on Sugar Hill Records.

01. Lullabys, Legends and Lies: My Morning Jacket
02. The Twistable, Turnable Man Returns: Andrew Bird
03. This Guitar Is For Sale: John Prine
04. The Unicorn: Dr. Dog
05. The Winner: Kris Kristofferson
06. Queen Of The Silver Dollar: Sarah Jarosz w/ Black Prairie
07. Daddy What If: Bobby Bare, Jr. w. Isabella Bare
08. The Cover Of The Rolling Stone: Black Francis w/ Joey Santiago
09. Sylvia’s Mother: The Boxmasters
10. Me And Jimmy Rodgers: Ray Price
11. A Boy Named Sue: Todd Snider
12. The Ballad Of Lucy Jordan: Lucinda Williams
13. The Living Legend: Bobby Bare, Sr.
14. The Giving Tree: Nanci Griffith
15. 26 Second Song: My Morning Jacket

Shel Silverstein on “The Johnny Cash Show” (1970)

The Actual ’73 Giving Tree Movie Spoken By Shel Silverstein

The Ponys – Check The Door

‘Check The Door’ is taken from The Ponys (of Chicago) “Deathbed plus 4″ EP (digital available now/12″ available on May 25th via Matador Records) which is the first new release since 2007′s “Turn The Lights Out.”  Now The Ponys Consists of Jered Gummere (singer/guitar), Melissa Elias (bass), Nathan Jerde (drums), Brian Case (guitar).

photograph by Colin Smith

Rangers – Glen Carin (via)

Rangers is former Texas resident, now San Francisco-based Joe Knight’s “elevator psyche” project.  ‘Glen Carin’ is taken from the first full-length LP “Suburban Tours,” out now on Olde English Spelling Bee, available at oesbee-shoppe.  RIYL: Julian Lynch, Ducktails …

Rangers ‘Out Past Curfew’ from the LP “Suburban Tours”

« Older entries