August 2010

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for August 2010.

Coil Sea – Waking the Naga, from the album Coil Sea on Thrill Jockey Records. Created and edited by Dave Heumann, filmed by Dave Heumann and Rob Wilson

Coil Sea – Lattice of AUM (unreleased free MP3)

Dave Heumann, known as Baltimore-based Arbouretum’s main man and and Human Bell – guitar duets with Nathan Bell, also he has played with Cass McCombs, Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Anomoanon and Papa M, released his new collaborative recording project, Coil Sea‘s self-titled first LP via Thrill Jockey.  It contains ‘Dolphins in the Coil Sea’ envisioned as an homage to jazz/noise legend Sonny Sharrock.  Coil Sea began with occasional free improvised sessions with Matthew Pierce – keys (Arbouretum, Lake Trout, Big in Japan), Michael Lowry – drums (Lake Trout, Big in Japan), Michael Kuhl – percussion, Jimmy Wallace – guitar and Walker David Teret (ex-Arbouretum, Anomoanon).  “Coil Sea” is released on LP-only in an edition of 1,000 copies housed in full-color jackets with insert and DRM-free MP3 download coupon.

Coil Sea advertisement
Dave Heumann talks about his new project Coil Sea

The Goner – Vilshärad

The Goner – Lost Summer

The Goner is a drone/freefolk/psychedelic outfit from Stockholm, Sweden, which was founded in 2008 as a solo project by singer-songwriter Daniel Westerlund then became a full band constellation.  Both tracks are taken from the “Bitemarks” EP (2010).  Now it was re-released via Dying For Bad Music, free download >> here.

Colorado’s dream-pop outfit, Candy Claws perform ‘Hiding’ and a special cover of Burt Bacharach’s ‘This Guy’s In Love With You’ at the beach in the Marin Headlands. (via

WATCH :: Another session performing ‘Warm Forest Floor,’ and ‘Jungle Practice‘ (Broadcasting live at (Broadcasting live at


Candy Claws – Silent Time Of Earth
re-colored, re-sountracked, re-edited Ivan Ivanov-Vano (イワン・イワノフ=ワノ) and Soyuzmultfilm’s 1944 Russian animation “The Stolen Sun.”

The Stolen Sun 1/2 (+Eng. subtitles)
Directed by Olga Khodataeva, Ivan Ivanov-Vano, Soyuzmultfilm, 1943-4. Based on a children’s poem by Korney Chukovsky (コルネイ・チュコフスキー).

<a target="_blank" href="" >Color Sky by Monster Rally</a>

そういえば …..。
Pylpn “CHOMP” (DB/1983)

Orca Team – Let It Go

Portland-based trio, Orca Team consists of Jessica B., Ami Taylor, and Leif Anders.  ‘Let It Go’ is the title track of their recent surf-pop album.  Influences :: Jessica B. likes: Leslie Gore, Broadcast, The Raincoats, Deerhoof, Liliput, The Shirelles. / Ami Taylor likes: The Jesus Lizard, Missy Elliot, Hella, Lightning Bolt, Dragging An Ox Through Water. / Leif Anders likes: Gang of Four, The Tielmen Brothers, Sleater Kinney, The Ventures, Silver Apples, Dusty Springfield.

Last week we had the pleasure of releasing the All Delighted People EP (available for download for $5 and free stream right here).  And today, we are proud to announce the upcoming release of The Age of Adz (pronounced Odds), the first song-based full-length from Sufjan Stevens since 2005′s Illinois. The Age of Adz will drop on October 12th (CD, MP3) with a double-LP following on November 9th.  (Asthmatic Kitty)

Pre-order is available now.

<a target="_blank" href="" >The Age of Adz by Sufjan Stevens</a>
1. I Walked / 2. Too Much

This “Stand Up Pat Whelan” digital EP was released by Padraig Whelan on 24 December 2006.  ‘Rolling Stock‘ is a track (previously posted) from forthcoming full length which is due out November.

Padraig Whelan – Rolling Stock

<a target="_blank" href="" >Down The Back Roads by Padraig Whelan</a>

« Older entries