Coil Sea – Waking the Naga, from the album Coil Sea on Thrill Jockey Records. Created and edited by Dave Heumann, filmed by Dave Heumann and Rob Wilson

Coil Sea – Lattice of AUM (unreleased free MP3)

Dave Heumann, known as Baltimore-based Arbouretum’s main man and and Human Bell – guitar duets with Nathan Bell, also he has played with Cass McCombs, Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Anomoanon and Papa M, released his new collaborative recording project, Coil Sea‘s self-titled first LP via Thrill Jockey.  It contains ‘Dolphins in the Coil Sea’ envisioned as an homage to jazz/noise legend Sonny Sharrock.  Coil Sea began with occasional free improvised sessions with Matthew Pierce – keys (Arbouretum, Lake Trout, Big in Japan), Michael Lowry – drums (Lake Trout, Big in Japan), Michael Kuhl – percussion, Jimmy Wallace – guitar and Walker David Teret (ex-Arbouretum, Anomoanon).  “Coil Sea” is released on LP-only in an edition of 1,000 copies housed in full-color jackets with insert and DRM-free MP3 download coupon.

Coil Sea advertisement
Dave Heumann talks about his new project Coil Sea