February 2011

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for February 2011.

Sam Amidon w/Doveman “Mary Weeping”
from The Burgundy Stain Sessions (Fri., January 14, 2011) w/Doveman aka Thomas Bartlett & Guests, featuring Beth Orton, St. Vincent, Glen Hansard, Dawn Landes, Sam Amidon and Nico Muhly, recorded as part of The Burgundy Stain Sessions live from Le Poisson Rouge NYC.

Popcorn Behavior was hailing from Brattleboro, Vermont. The two principal members, pianist Thomas Bartlett and fiddler Sam Amidon, were 16 years old. Stefan Amidon, the group’s percussionist, was 13 in 1998.

Noah and the Whale – L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.
(Live from RAK Studios)

Noah and the Whale – Wild Thing

From the upcoming third album “Last Night On Earth” due out on March 7th.

WATCH :: ‘L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.’ (Official Video), the first single from “Last Night On Earth.”

We Don’t Surf – Yo No Quiero Luz

We Don’t Surf – Que Desastre

We Don’t Surf – Yo No Quiero Tu Depresion

These tracks are taken from “La Cuenta de Fernando Ramos” EP by We Don’t surf, hailing from Bloomington, Indiana, tagged as garage lo-fi pop surf country mexican shit spanish. Written/recorded/produced at the Factory in Bloomington In on 02/15/2011, free downloadable on their bandcamp page.

Papercuts – Do What You Will off Papercuts’ Fading Parade album
Shot in San Francisco 2011 by YoursTruly

Papercuts – UFO (non-album track)

If you pre-order Fading Parade via SubPop.com before March 1st, you will receive a Sub Pop CDR of 3 brand new songs!  and Fading Parade is streaming in full all this week exclusively via NPR.com. The album was co-produced/engineered by himself and Thom Monahan, recorded with Frankie Koeller, Graham Hill (Roman Ruins, Beach House drummer), David Enos.

Sonny ang the Sunsets “Hit After Hit”
Tahlia Harbour, Ryan Browne, Kelley Stoltz and Sonny Smith

Sonny and the Sunsets – I Wanna Do It

Fat Possum has announced the release of Sonny and the Sunsets second full length “Hit After Hit” which is due out on April 12th.  ‘I Wanna Do It’ is the second track for the album. “Hit After Hit” follows up Sonny and the Sunsets last year’s debut “Tomorrow is Alright“.

Track List:
01. She Plays Yo-Yo With My Mind
02. I Wanna Do It
03. Home and Exile
04. Reflections on Youth
05. Girls Beware
06. The Bad Energy From LA Is Killing Me
07. Teen Age Thugs
08. Heart of Sadness
09. Don’t Act Dumb
10. Acres of Lust
11. Pretend You Love Me

Sonny and the Sunsets Story (… in the style of 100 Records?)

Sonny Smith began singing while a patient at Warm Springs Foundation Hospital in Texas, to amuse the other patients.
Quasi-mystical with a tendency to write about new-agey subjects such as hypnotherapy, extrasensory perception, fortune tellers, palm readers and channelers Smith has been given his own genre by the press as ‘pop supernaturalism’.
He was released from Warm Springs in the care of his brother and wife, Ryan Browne and Tahlia Harbour who soon became his backing band, Smith changed his name several times in this phase; Sonny Berger, Declan (Sonny) Burke, Sonny Smith and Dave Gil.
He left the band after a week and moved to San Francisco where he quickly landed back in psychiatric care. It was there at the Canyon Manor Rehabilitation Center north of San Francisco that he met Kelley Stoltz who became the drummer and third and final sunset. Stoltz sent for the other two sunsets and they arrived in San Francisco a week later.
On and off they lived out of a Browne’s Toyota van for the next three years. They embarked on a triple album in late 2009 but a hurricane hit the coastal studio they were recording in and most of the tapes were destroyed as well as their equipment. What’s left is Hit After Hit. They returned to Alaska, where Browne has a mother.

I Wish That I Was Beautiful For You” by Darren Hanlon

Music Video directed by Kevin Barker
Starring Eli Wallach and Anne Jackson – Frankie Rose (Frankie Rose and The Outs) – Darren Hanlon

Darren Hanlon is an Australian singer/songwriter who plays urban folk music. The song ‘I Wish That I Was Beautiful For You’ was originally appeared on his 2004 album “Little Chills,” enlisting a few special guests including Doug McCoombs (Tortoise) and Nick Luca, recorded by Craig Schumacher (Calexico, Giant Sand, Neko Case).

Also….. “Last Kind Words“(2011) is a feature film written and directed by Kevin Barker, starring Brad Dourif (“One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” and “Deadwood”), Sarah Steele (“Spanglish”) and Spencer Daniels (“Star Trek” and “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button”). Summary: When Eli returns to the farm of his parents’ youth, he discovers that within its forests a different line is drawn between the living and the dead….

Wonder Wheel – Think Too Much  (via No Fear Of Pop)

Wonder Wheel is the Orange, California band and recording project fronted by Paul A. Rosales, SoCal psych-pop production mastermind (Tan Dollar, Pearl Harbor/Puro Instinct and more). 

Current members include Raul Esparza on bass guitar and Danny Gonzalez on drums. The combination of post-punk thuds, psychedelic swirls and krautrock rhythms (re)animates the colorful back catalog of Wonder Wheel. Over 20 solo albums have been reevaluated and songs redesigned to construct brand new pieces of pop galore.

Both tracks will appear on the first full-length WW band album “Total Bundy”, Spring 2011 on cassette via Burger Records.

« Older entries