June 2011

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for June 2011.

DENT MAY has a new 7″ single, due out on September 13th via PAW TRACKS, recorded at the Hits Inc studio at the Cats Purring Dude Ranch. 100 cassettes will be for sale on Dent’s upcoming tour with REAL ESTATE.

Fun by Dent May

Montreal-based singer-songwriter, Molly Sweeney has the debut album “Gold Rings and Fur Pelts,” released from Syren Songs, digitally available on her bandcamp. Produced by Radwan Moumneh and Molly Sweeney. Recorded & mixed at Thee Mighty Hotel2Tango by Radwan Ghazi Moumneh (of Jerusalem In my Heart, he has produced several Montreal bands like Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra and Tra-LaL-a Band). Sweeney is also known for singing with Land Of Kush, a large orchestra assembled and directed by Montreal composer and musician Sam Shalabi (aka Shalabi Effect).

Land Of Kush’s Electric Light Orchestra – Monogamy (EXCERPT)
From the album Monogamy by Land Of Kush (CONSTELLATION/2010). Psycharabique big band madness led by avant-garde composer and oud-player Sam Shalabi. Featuring Molly Sweeney. Recorded & mixed at Thee Mighty Hotel2Tango by Radwan Ghazi Moumneh in the autumn of 2009 & winter of 2010.


The Phoenix, by Judee Sill, sung by Molly Sweeney.
From “Lopin’ along thru the cosmos: An Evening of Judee Sill’s Music”. Performed at Sala Rossa, Montreal on June 23, 2010 during the Suoni Per Il Popolo Festival. Arrangements by Will Eizlini (of Shalabi Effect). Video by Javiera Ovalle.

He’s traveled from punk rock roots to an enviable place where power-pop meets classic 60s melodies, the best of swirling 80s-flavored production and shimmering, jangling guitars. His brilliant debut solo album Carefree, released in 2008, demonstrated a knack for crafting timeless pop that’s equal parts Brill Building and Topanga Canyon. On it, Williams hearkened back to great songwriters like Nilsson, Chilton, Downes and Westerberg.

Devon Williams – Your Sympathy
7″ single, b/w ‘Sisters’ (out on June 28th) from the forthcoming “Euphoria” album (Slumberland/2011)

Devon Williams – Sufferer
taken from ‘Sufferer‘ b/w ‘Who Cares About Forever’ 7″ single (2009), as the debut via Slumberland.

Devon Williams – Elevator
taken from the first solo album “Carefree” (Ba Da Bing/2008)

L.A. popsmith Devon Williams, formerly of the SoCal’s melodic punk rock band Osker and folk/acoustic band Fingers Cut Megamachine, has a second solo full-length called “Euphoria” coming out on August 30th via Slumberland Records. A blissful shimmering pop album “Euphoria” features 12 new songs, recorded and mixed in several studios by producers like Brooklyn’s Jorge Elbrecht (of the Violens) and Vancouver’s Dave Carswell, who also produced The New Pornographers and Williams’ onetime touring mate, Destroyer.  He is also known for playing in (Vivian Girls) Katy Goodman’s La Sera, previously the Lavender Diamond touring band.


Fingers-cut, Megamachine! – testament
from the 2005 self-titled album (Thick Records)

Osker – Kinetic
taken from Osker’s second album “Idle Will Kill” (Epitaph/2001).

The Champagne Socialists – Blue Genes
from ‘Blue Genes‘ 7″ single (Slumberland/2009), The Champagne Socialists (Jihae Simmons Meek, former Royal We, and Wallace Meek from Glasgow) featured Devon Williams and Mickey LaFranchi. It was released as their first single after moving to Jihae’s hometown of Los Angeles, CA.

(via Yuya Shimizu)

Skeeter Davis ‘The End of the World’ single (RCA/1962)
written by Arthur Kent-Sylvia Dee / prd. Chet Atkins

Anika – End of the World
taken from Anika’s self-titled 2010′s debut album from Stones Throw Records, produced by Geoff Barrow of Portishead.

Girls – End of the World
taken from the B-side of Girls‘ UK only 7″ single ‘Morning Light’ (2010) from Fantasytrashcan/Turnstile.

END OF THE WORLD by bestcoastt

Laetitia Sadier+ Richard Swift – Resistance Dans L’ombre

Laetitia Sadier – One Million Year Trip
taken from the solo debut album “The Trip” (Drag City/2010)

“LA PISCINE, an invitation by laetitia sadier to keep on swimming” is a new collaborative project by Stereolab’s Laetitia Sadier with her friends, due out on August 29th via Wool Recordings.  It features unreleased songs from Richard Swift, Rebecca Gates, Superbravo, Laetitia Sadier. “Resistance dans l’ombre” with Richard Swift is taken from the session of “The trip” and ‘G The Opposite Of Spectator’ is a Sadier’s new song.

Side A:
Laetitia Sadier: “G The Opposite Of Spectator”
Richard Swift: “MG 3333
Side B:
Laetitia Sadier+ Richard Swift – Resistance Dans L’ombre”
Rebecca Gates “take A Little Time”
Superbravo “A Space Without Corner”

This is a New Laetitia Sadier taken from “La Piscine” via Wool Recordings, thanks a lot.

Painting by John Stortz

Following-up to their recent 7″ single ‘Gun Shy’ b/w ‘Wicked Game’ (Chris Isaak Cover), a new Brooklyn-based trio Widowspeak has announced that their self-titled first full-length album will be coming on August 9th via Captured Tracks. It was recorded at Rear House with Jarvis Taveniere of Woods.

Gun Shy 7″ by widowspeakband
Recorded at Rear House by Jarvis Taveniere. Painting by John Stortz.

“I’m offering up a free 25 song “Summertime” sampler with the fine folks at Noisetrade.com Be sure to grab a copy and share with your friends and family. The first track, “Diggin’ In The Sand” is taken from my forthcoming album “Josh Rouse and The Long Vacations”, coming out at the end of Sept. Hope you enjoy!”   Josh Rouse

Nebraska native, now Valencia, Spain-based singer-songwriter Josh Rouse has released a free 25-song sampler via Noise Trade, available now for a limited time. (arrigato, ArAtAq)

Listen his previous “doing Brazilian songs in Spanish” album “El Turista,” so nice for the summer although it was released last winter via Bedroom Classics/Nettwerk.

« Older entries § Newer entries »