July 2011

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for July 2011.

Free Spirit – We All Fall

Free Spirit – The Event  (via Weird Magic)

Free Spirit has been a quiet collaborative work of Greenpoint, Brooklyn neighbors, Chocolate Bobka‘s Michael McGregor (Chocolate Bobka / The Curatorial Club) and Jonah Maurer (Wet Dream / Family Portrait, new live members of Real Estate).

LISTEN :: Free Spirit Index (soundcloud)

Free Spirit – O’Dela
Jonah Maurer (Family Portrait) and Michael McGregor (Chocolate Bobka + The Curatorial Club), Free Spirit‘s first material on any sort of release.

Rangers – Bus to Chalco
outtake from Rangers‘ forthcoming double LP on Not Not Fun.

Tonstartssbandht – Hymn-Eola (Acapella)
An acapella version of ‘Hymn-Eola’ from Tonstartssbandht‘s Russia/Ukraine/Georgia Spring 2011 tour tape “Hymn“.

These tracks above are taken from the new compilation “Friendship Bracelet Club Volume 5” which also features La Big Vic, Main Attraktionz, The Cyclist and the others. Stream / download, HERE or visit their site. This time some physical packaging options are available on their site, too.

Magic Trick “The Glad Birth of Love”
Artwork by Kevin Earl Taylor

Magic Trick – Daylight Moon (Fade Out)

Tim Cohen aka Magic Trick, best known as the lead singer and co-songwriter for the The Fresh & Onlys and the frontman for Black Fiction, has a new solo album “The Glad Birth of Love,” follow-up to the previous release “Tim Cohen’s Magic Trick” (Captured Tracks/2011). “The Glad Birth of Love” featuring guest appearances by John Dwyer (Thee Oh Sees), Grace Cooper, (The Sandwitches), Diego Gonzalez (The Dry Spells, Citay), Amber Lamprecht (Honey Dew), and several other San Francisco musicians, is a 45 minute album composed of four epic long-form compositions, due out on August 23rd via Empty Cellar Records. The LP gets a limited release on July 19th (Cohen’s birthday). Mastered by Paul Oldham. Order. HERE.

Magic Trick is: Tim Cohen, Noelle Cahill and Alicia Vanden Heuvel (Aislers Set), James Kim (Kelley Stoltz band)

Wooden Shjips – Lazy Bones

An experimental spacey psychedelic rock quartet from San Francisco, Wooden Shjips have their first studio-recorded full-length album “West” which was recorded at Lucky Cat Studios, engineered by Phil Manley (of Trans Am) and mastered by Sonic Boom at Blanker Unisinn, Brooklyn. Due out on September 13th via Thrill Jockey.

Wooden Shjips (pronounced shyips) consist of Omar Ahsanuddin – drums, Dusty Jermier – bass, Nash Whalen – organ,  Erik “Ripley” Johnson (also known as the Moon Duo) – guitar and vocals.

Wooden Shjips ATP NY 2010 via FMA

From San Francisco Tortured Genies is a new project featuring Tahlia Harbour (of the Sonny and the Sunsets, The Dry Spells, Citay), Ryan Browne (of the Sonny and the Sunsets) and Zack Ehrlich (of Lucky Cloud). Listen! some unmastered tracks under below.

Brown Leaves by Tortured Genies

So Down To Earth – latest mix by Tortured Genies

Welcome Back Sailors – I’ll be there

Welcome Back Sailors – A fortune teller song

A duo from the italian province of Reggio Emilia, Welcome Back Sailors‘ first full length album “Yes/Sun” (Limited Edition: 300 copies) is available now on We Were Never Being Boring.

Unofficial, non-profit video. Footage from Karel Zeman’s “Inspirace/カレル・ゼマン 『水玉の幻想』(1949) ‘Apart’ and ‘Oh, Why’ are taken from the forthcoming album “WANDER / WONDER” by Pennsylvania resident Alec Koone aka Balam Acab, due out on August 29th via Tri Angle Records

Balam Acab – Oh, Why

カレル・ゼマン展 トリック映画の前衛 -チェコ・アニメ もうひとりの巨匠-  

« Older entries § Newer entries »