August 2011

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for August 2011.


Puppies – bitter about love
from PUPSESSIONS, released 09 July 2011
written by Matt Reilly (of Japanther) and Rocky Banks 

Puppies (Alex- keys / Anita- drums, vox / Rocky- bass, vox / Kim- guitar, vox) was formed by Alex and Anita around September 2010. Rocky and Kim joined shortly thereafter at a Halloween costume-making party.

released 01 August 2011

Twin Sister – All Around And Away We Go
a film by ian perlman / audio mix by big ass lens / titles by joe hollier
part three of three, July 31st, 2011 / 315 Seigel St, Brooklyn.

Twin Sister – Gene Ciampi
part two of three, HERE

Twin Sister – Spain
part one of three, HERE

Michael Hurley – Automatic Slim & the Fatboys
previously unreleased early version, first appeared on “Snockgrass” (Rounder/1979, reissue on vinyl: Light In The Attic/2011)

Michael Hurley – I Can’t Help Myself
taken from “Ida Con Snock” album (Gnomonsong/2009)

Michael Hurley has released the lost album “Fatboy Spring” including unreleased tracks from 1972-73, it was co-released by Secret Seven/Mississippi Records.

The Attic Tapesと呼ばれ、40年近くを経て遂に陽の目を見たマイケル・ハーリィの70年代初期のお宝音源。その後、この録音時のバンド、ファット・ボーイズにホーリィ・モーダル・ラウンダーズのメンバーたちなどが合流してハーリィ爺の名盤「Have Moicey」を録音したのだとか ….。

The musicians in Automatic Slim and the Fatboys playing in various configurations on The Attic Tapes are: Michael Hurley, (Doc Snock) vocals, guitar / Robert Iwaskiewicz (Wax), guitar, bass, vocals / David Bessett (Silent Dave) guitar, vocals / Doug Southworth (The Reverend), mandolin, bass / Robert Nickson (Frog), percussion. Fatboys were formed in Vermont, 1972, the original band was called Puddledock.

“I wrote the tune “Automatic Slim & the Fat Boys” while I was there and it was supposed to be a theme song for the band. Eventually, with musicians going their own ways, the Fat Boy band morphed into another group called Sheriff Mocus (moakus) and the Derangen Cowboys. And then I formed another band called The Redbirds. Original members of the Fat Boys who were on the Rounder record Have Moicey were Robert Iwaskiewicz, Robert Nickson, and myself.” Michael Hurley

Vadoinmessico – Marzia
   released 09 August 2011, Free Download, HERE

Vadoinmessico are a 5 piece band from several corners of the Earth residing in London and playing beautiful, nostalgic psychedelic folk-pop. Giorgio (from Italy), Salvador (from Mexico) started the band and were soon joined by banjo player Stefan (from Austria) and Alessandro (also Italian), and their English drummer Joe.”

Vadoinmessico – In Spain (2010)

Vadoinmessico by Vadoinmessico

Huichica Music Festival June 4, 2011
Part Two: Rain Dancing with These United States, Richard Swift w/ Fruit Bats and Sonny & the Sunsets / Video by Cult Sonoma

Huichica Music Festival is an annual all-day concert at Gundlach Bundschu Winery in Sonoma, California. Conceived by winery owner Jeff Bundschu and Fruit Bat’s frontman Eric Johnson after the band’s 2009 performance at the outdoor amphitheater.

WATCH more … Part One: Refuge from the Deluge – David Williams, CB Brand, Tu Fawning & Breathe Owl Breathe / Part Three: Clear Skies for J. Mascis & Fruit Bats

Gavin Thomas Toler – Holy Maximizer
Video by Nicolas Amato who also filmed John Maus, Ariel Pink and more.

released 30 August 2011

Hailing from the Pacific Northwest, now Los Angeles-based singer-songwriter Gavin Thomas Toler (formerly known as a member of Winter Flowers, Mystic Folk group formed in San Francisco) now performs and records his songpoems under his own true name. “Riding” EP is his debut release, you can download for free on his bandcamp. Vinyl coming this fall.

cover art by Carson Ellis

Portland’s singer-songwriter, Laura Veirs has announced the upcoming release of her new album “Tumble Bee: Laura Veirs Sings Folk Songs for Children,” due out on November 8th via Raven Marching Band Records (N. America) and Bella Union (rest of the world), follow -up to the last year’s album “July Flame.” Produced by Tucker Martine, and features guest appearances from Colin Meloy, Jim James, Bela Fleck, Karl Blau, Basia Bulat and Brian Blade among many others.

WATCH :: The Making Of ‘Tumble Bee’ Video

1. Little Lap Dog Lullaby – Traditional
2. Prairie Lullaby – Billy Hill
3. Jack Can I Ride? – Traditional
4. Tumblebee – Karl Blau
5. King Kong Kitchie Kitchie Ki-Me-O – Traditional
6. All the Pretty Little Horses – Traditional
7. The Fox – Traditional
8. Jump Down Spin Around – Harry Belafonte
9. Why Oh Why – Woody Guthrie
10. Down in the Medder – Laura Veirs/Karl Blau
11. Soldier’s Joy – Jimmy Driftwood
12. Jamaica Farewell – Lord Burgess
13. Prairie Dream – Rob Burger 

Laura Veirs – Wide-Eyed, Legless  from “July Frame”

« Older entries