August 2011

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for August 2011.

Austin, TX native Bill Baird (former Sound Team) has been known for his latest project Sunset and as a producer/engineer he recorded Jesse Woods, the Generationals among others at his Baby Blue Studio, and he directed Peter and the Wolf‘s ‘Lightness‘ video. Recently he has a new self-released handmade album “Goodbye Vibrations” and a single ‘Analog.’ Both releases are available on his bandcamp. Also listen his rendition of Christopher Cross’ ‘Sailing’.

Sailing (kriss kross) by blondebill

“i first heard “boris godunov” an opera by modest mussorgsky(ボリス・ゴドゥノフ: プーシキン劇詩・ムソルグスキー作曲) about two months ago & went right to work on SPIRITUAL WAR cassette tape, grave thoughts about the ambiguous & vague canadian peasantry & long restless dreams about absurdist morality trials beneath ontario highway service centres abound.”

released 21 June 2011, available through his bandcamp
john southworth – voice & guitar
all songs written & recorded by john southworth
mastered by jean martin

Smithsonian Folkways has announced to release the first children’s album by renowned singer/songwriter Chip Taylor (“Wild Thing,” “Angel of the Morning”), “Golden Kids Rules” is due out on October 18th.

Chip Taylor & The Grandkids – Golden Kids Rules by Smithsonian Folkways

Pigeons – Dead Echo

A new song from the Bronx, NY-based avantpop/experimental duo Pigeons (aka Wednesday Knudsen and Clark Griffin), taken from their forthcoming full-length “They Sweetheartstammers,” due out on November 8th via Soft Abuse.

Lizard Kisses – Swell (with Sea Oleena)

Lizard Kisses – Runoff (with Mutual Benefit)

Both tracks are taken from the forthcoming new EP “Tiny Island Teeth” by Lizard Kisses, it was recorded in their Brooklyn apartment during the summer of 2011 with fellow musicians and friends including Charlotte Oleena (Sea Oleena), Ellen Johansing, Marie Clerel, Jordan Lee (Mutual Benefit), Matt Dallow. Along with “Tiny Island Teeth,” you can purchase and stream a collection of demos for the album, “Tooth Notes,” HERE.

Pre-order “Tiny Island Teeth” limited edition cassette via Cakes & Tapes (out Sept. 6th), HERE. Stream through Lizard Kisses’ bandcamp.

Arigato Cory & Marc.

1. Eternal Summers – On My Honor
2. Great Dads – Ladies Knight
3. Naked Gods – Popsicle Swamp (demo)
4. John Jacob – Future Girlfriend
5. Lux Perpetua – Handshakes
6. Invisible Hand – Race of Wraiths
7. The Young Sinclairs – O Bummer
8. Borrowed Beams of Light – Holy Cow
9. Uncle Bengine and the Restraining Orders – Bootleggers
10. The Cinnamon Band – Call Me A Doctor (live)
11. Elephant Child – Idols
12. Whatever Brains – Drink The Salt
13. My Mind – History’s Hiss (demo)
14. The Super Vacations – Ruby (demo)

Download the entire mixtape, HERE.
Stream the entire mixtape, HERE.
Visit Funny / Not Funny Records, HERE.
Arigato, Harper, Funny / Not Funny Records.

Junk Culture – Hang Roxy (feat. Jana Hunter)

Junk Culture – Chippewa Kids (feat. Sarah Barthel)

Both tracks are taken from a recent digital 7″ by Oxford, Miss.’s Deepak Mantena aka Junk Culture, featuring Jana Hunter (of Lower Dens) and Sarah Barthel (of Phantogram).

« Older entries § Newer entries »