November 2011

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for November 2011.

Peter Broderick – Old Time (Official Music Video)
from the album “Music For Confluence”
Directors: Vernon Lott & Jennifer Anderson / Cinematography: Philip Bloom / Copyright: © 2011 Erased Tapes Records Ltd.

“I had been asked to make the score for a documentary film called Confluence. The film is based in the Lewiston, Idaho area, not too far from where I grew up in the USA, and it chronicles several mysterious cases of young girls found murdered or gone missing around 1980, all of which seem to lead back to one man who for a variety of reasons has not been able to be charged with these crimes.”
– Peter Broderick

New-Berliner Peter Broderick has released “Music For Confluence,” a film score album for the documentary “Confluence,” directed by Jennifer Anderson and Vernon Lott. It was preceded by the double A-side 7″ single ‘Old Time’ b/w ‘Solace In Gala,’ songs from “Confluence” and the another documentary “Grace and Mercy,” directed by Luis Peña, with a download of the full 14-track score entitled “Music For Grace And Mercy – a film of Haitians helping Haitians.” 

Available now on Erased Tapes Records.

Photo by Kristy Ralston

Heather Smith is a Chicago-based artist and multi-instrumentalist. In the beginning Bone & Bell started as a musical project with her baritone ukulele and voice, and now it has become a quintet, Heather recently joined forces with Ryan Farnham (drums- formerly of Catfish Haven), Rick Roberts (bass, keys) and Jason Tuller (guitar, bass).
Bone & Bell’s first 5-track EP “Loom” was recorded at home by Jason Tuller and was released September 2010. You can download the “Loom” EP for FREE through her bandcamp.

Loom by Bone & Bell

Krokodil by Bone & Bell
This an early demo for a song she’s working on.
A new album is anticipated for Spring 2012.

Omnivore Recordings will release “Free Again: The “1970″ Sessions” (CD/Digital/LP/Limited Edition LP+7″ Bundle), the first solo recordings from a post-Box Tops / pre-Big Star Alex Chilton, including previously unissued tracks. Available on January 10th, 2012.
Details and Pre-order >> HERE.

Also, Omnivore has released Big Star’s “Third” (Test Pressing Edition), 500 copies Limited-Edition 180-gram clear vinyl as their first webstore exclusive, and the black vinyl as Record Store Day version.


Alex Chilton – The EMI Song (Smile For Me)
from “Free Again: The “1970″ Sessions”
written by Alex Chilton and Terry Manning

released 21 March 2011

Fan Modine Cover of Alex Chilton song from his album ’1970′. Mixing, mastering and additional instrumentation and backup vocals by original song co-writer Terry Manning. Also featuring Chris Stamey (Guitar Solo), Lee Waters (Essex Green, Dean Wareham), Matt McMichaels (formerly of The Mayflies USA), Michael Holland (Jennyanykind), Wes Lachot, Lisa Lachot, Michael Stipe (R.E.M.), Seamus Kenney (SNMNMNM), and more. 50% of proceeds to benefit the New Orleans Musicians’ Clinic.

Fan Modine – Through the Valley

Taken from North Carolina’s Gordon Zacharias aka Fan Modine’s latest album “Gratitude for the Shipper” which was produced by Zacharias himeself, Chris Stamey (of The dB’s) and the former R.E.M. manager (1981-1996) Jefferson Holt. Available from Daniel 13 Press founded by Jefferson Holt.
Purchase the album, HERE.

R.I.P. Alex Chilton (December 28, 1950 – March 17, 2010)
Thanks to ArAtAq!

New 2011 Optigan Disc – VIBRASCAPE
Now available for Optigan owners, pre-order >> HERE,
along with the three new Vako Orchestron discs: VIBRAPHONE, FLUTE & CELLO.

VIBRASCAPE presents the sound of the vibraphone in a uniquely Optigan fashion. The keyboard tones are arranged as a series of rhythmic patterns that create hypnotic, pulsating soundscapes when chords are played. (This disc is not particularly suited to melodic playing). The chord buttons feature sustained bowed vibraphone chords. The special effects switches help keep the groove going with a selection of rhythms from the Maestro Rhythm King MRK-2, an old-school beatbox and technological contemporary of the Optigan. Optigans equipped with a spring reverb will provide the most haunting sound, which is further enhanced by inserting the disc upside-down for backwards play.

Vibraphone played and recorded by Mark Greenberg (of The Coctails, The Mayfair Workshop) / Music produced, edited, and mastered by Pea Hicks (of Optiganally Yours, formerly of Tit Wrench and Lucas & Friend)

MELLODRAMA: Mellotron/Chamberlin Documentary Trailer

Mellodrama,” a documentary by Dianna Dilworth, explores the rising and falling fortunes of the Mellotron – the first musical keyboard to “sample” the sounds of other instruments – from its birth in a California garage in the 1950s, through its dominance on concert stages in the 1970s, through its almost religious cult of followers in the 2000s. From the Beatles’ “Strawberry Fields Forever” to Black Sabbath to Kanye West, Mellodrama is a 50-year odyssey of musical invention, revolution, betrayal, and rediscovery.

The film features interviews with Brian Wilson (Beach Boys), Mike Pinder (Moody Blues), Ian McDonald (King Crimson), Rod Argent (The Zombies), Jon Brion, Matthew Sweet, Michael Penn, Pea Hicks and many more.

William Tyler – Tears and Saints (live) (via nyctaper)

Listen William Tyler‘s recent live track via nyctaper! Recorded and produced by acidjack for at Glasslands, Brooklyn, NY, 2011-11-16.

William Tyler is a native of Nashville, Tennessee and a guitarist who has spent the last several years recording and touring with Silver Jews and Lambchop among others. In addition he has contributed to albums by artists as diverse as Charlie Louvin, Candi Staton, Wooden Wand, and Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, as well as taking part in a large ensemble piece by composer Rhys Chatham. And he also has his own record label, Sebastian Speaks.

William Tyler – The Green Pastures

Taken from his own name’s solo debut album “Behold the Spirit,” released by New York’s Tompkins Square Records, 2010, after releasing his first album “Deseret Canyon” under the moniker the Paper Hats (Apparent Extent, 2008).

William Tyler – Behold the Spirit
Directed/Edited by Zack Wilson. Music/Narration by William Tyler.

Photo by Sarah Cass

Portland, Oregon-based avant-garde singer/songwriter/painter, Adrian Orange aka Thanksgiving has released a brand new 39-track digital album “BLANK YOU” which was recorded with Adam Forkner, Honey Owens, Dadricar Holder, Kyra Moon, Glenys Tennis Johnson, Rachel Nicole Roffman, Curtis Knapp, Brent Bielski. Available now on its bandcamp.

recorded 2009 / released 20 November 2011

Orange is also known as a member of the instrumental band The Watery Graves of Portland (Curtis Knapp on piano, Adrian Orange on drums, Davis Lee Hooker on upright bass) and co-founder of Marriage Records, and has collaborated with Phil Elverum (The Microphones, Mount Eerie), Adam Forkner (White Rainbow), Geneviève Castrée and various musicians of the Portland experimental music scene including members of Rob Walmart, Valet, Jackie-O Motherfucker and LAKE.


taken from 2007′s collaborative album with Geneviève Castrée, “The Watery Graves of Portland and/et Geneviève” (Marriage)

A RAY ARRAY is a new video directed by Sarah Rara that examines forms of visual and aural interference: from the failure of a message to be discernable, sudden interruptions, visual disturbance, the interaction of 2 sound signals, instability, and optical effects.

A RAY ARRAY features a soundtrack created by Luke Fischbeck and Sarah Rara, members of the band Lucky Dragons.


Lucky Dragons – Mirror Friends

Taken from the album “Dream Island Laughing Language” by Lucky Dragons (Marriage, 2008)

« Older entries