November 2011

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for November 2011.

cover art: ‘James E. Prudent, Jr.’ by Kurt Wagner

“MR. M started in a painter’s studio in fact. Wagner explains. “As I worked, I was approached by Mark Nevers (former full time band member & producer for the likes of Andrew Bird and Will Oldham) with the idea of making another Lambchop record. He had a concept of a sound and a method that worked with the tone of my writing. His idea was a kind of ‘psycho-Sinatra’ sound, one that involved the arranging of strings and other sounds in a more open and yet complex way.”

Lambchop – If Not I’ll Just Die

Lambchop – Gone Tomorrow

Both tracks are taken from the forthcoming new full-length “Mr. M” by Kurt Wagner’s Lambchop, due out on February 20th, 2012 via City Slang (Europe) and February 21st via Merge (US).

The album was recorded at Mark Nevers’ Nashville Beech House studio, with Scott Martin (drums), Matt Swanson (bass), Ryan Norris (guitar, organ), Tony Crow (piano), William Tyler (guitar) and guests include Jonathan Marx (another ex-member of the band) and Cortney Tidwell. The strings were arranged by Peter Stopschinski and Mason Neely.

Kurt Wagner “LBJ” oil on panel

from the exhibition, Beautillion Militaire 2000, LBJ, Portraits, and Commissions by Kurt Wagner, this fall at Nashville’s Zeitgeist Gallery

Lambchop – Came Home Late

Lambchop – Fa-Q

Both tracks are taken from the Lambchop Rarities LP entitled “Turd Goes Back: Essential Tracks from Secret Secret Sourpuss & Big Tussie” which was released as a part of their 2011 series of subscription-only Grapefruit Record Club, founded by Simon Joyner and Ben Goldberg. This limited, vinyl-only LP is an assemblage of Kurt Wagner’s early recordings, taken from two rare cassettes. Also, Nashville-based label Sebastian Speaks has released the vinyl of Kurt Wagner & Cortney Tidwell Present Kort.

Grapefruit Records’ upcoming releases for 2012 include Bruce Russell & Roy Montgomery, Dump (James McNew of Yo La Tengo) and more!

With core influences being legendary musicians such as Steve Cropper & Pete Drake and attributes of 60s European pop and swinging jazz entering into the mix, music lovers everywhere will dig the resulting collaboration of Fetzer and Cullum’s unique yet classic styles. Introducing… Steelism!

“Steelism” is a pedal steel+guitar led collaborative project between Spencer Cullum Jr. and Jeremy Fetzer, both from Caitlin Rose band.
Their debut two-track EP was recorded with engineer Mike Odmark, and fabulous crew of Nashville musicians: Jon Radford (drums), Mike Rinne (upright bass), Andrew Combs (acoustic guitar) & Matt Rowland  (keys). Available now on their bandcamp.


Spencer Cullum and The Dads on Vacation – Egyptian Reggae
Jonathan Richman cover, Little Pad instore session on 10th July 2011

A student of pedal steel artist BJ Cole, Spencer Cullum Jr. has been playing pedal steel guitar across the U.K and U.S, and he is also known as a member of the Deadstring Brothers from Detroit, Michigan.

The Deep Vibration – Oklahoma City Woman Blues (Veracruz)

taken from “Veracruz” EP

Jeremy Fetzer is also known as the lead guitarist of Nashville’s foursome, The Deep Vibration (named from Lou Reed). Their 2008′s five-track EP “Veracruz” was produced by former Neil Young producer Niko Bolas and recorded with guests including Spooner Oldham, pedal steel veteran Al Perkins and Gillian Welch. Stream their first full-length “Strange Love,” digital album (released 01 February 2011), available on their bandcamp, iTunes.

The Shrine / An Argument
Director: Sean Pecknold / Animators: Sean Pecknold & Britta Johnson
Character Illustrations: Stacey Rozich / Art Assistant: Natalie Jenkins
Producer: Aaron Ball / Story: Sean Pecknold / Made in Portland, Oregon

This is a new stop-motion music video directed by Sean Pecknold, for ‘The Shrine / An Argument’ from the Fleet Foxes‘ latest album “Helplessness Blues” (Bella Union / Sub Pop, 2011).


Robin Pecknold (Fleet Foxes) & Alela Diane – These Days
Live @ Teatro Smeraldo, Milano 20-11-2011 (via)

‘These Days’ is a song written by Jackson Browne and principally recorded by Nico, Gregg Allman, and Browne himself in three distinctly different musical styles… read more on Wiki.

Twin Sister – Hindoo House

Happy Thanksgiving! from Twin Sister,
this is one of their unreleased demos of this year. A message, HERE.

The Sandwitches – Benny’s Memory Palace
Directed by Sophia McInerney.
The song is taken from the b-side to The Sandwitches‘ new ‘The Pearl‘ 7″ out now on Hardly Art. Recorded by Sic Alps’ Mike Donovan.

The Sandwitches – In The Garden
Directed by Ryan Browne (Sonny and The Sunsets / Tortured Genies).
The song is taken from the album “Mrs. Jones’ Cookies” on Empty Cellar Records.

The She’s – Jimmy

A brand new girl group hailing from San Francisco, The She’s consists of Sami Perez – Bass, Hannah Valente – Vocals, Eva Treadway- Guitar, Sinclair Riley- Drums. ‘Jimmy’ is the first single from their debut full-length “Then it Starts to Feel Like Summer,” due out on November 29th. The album was produced, record and mixed by WAM (Women’s Audio Mission) engineers and mastered at the Lodge by Emily Lazar and Jo La Porta.

Tashaki Miyaki – Get It Right
Directed by Juan Iglesias
The song is taken from the self-titled EP by Tashaki Miyaki, available on 12″ and Download from The Sounds Of Sweet Nothing label’s bandcamp.

Juan Iglesias’ inspiration for the video is thus:
“East meets West. With its wild horses and vast landscapes, this video plays tribute to the American West while at the same time drawing inspiration from minimalistic Japanese imagery.”

and here’s another video directed by Juan Iglesias…..

Beth Jeans Houghton – Day at the Beach

Beth Jeans Houghton – Dodecahedron by Mute UK

« Older entries § Newer entries »