January 2012

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for January 2012.

Portland Cat

LAKE just joined the Bandcamp!
Now they’ve just uploaded the first two albums of Lake.

And Ashley Eriksson (of Lake) has a new 7″ single ‘What A Fool Believes‘ b/w ‘Following A Brooke’ which is due out on Feb 1st via Funkytonk Records. Yes! it’s a cover of the Doobie Brothers smash hit ‘What A Fool Believes.’

New guitar player…. (via)

Damien Jurado – Museum of Flight

Listen to the another new track from Damien Jurado‘s 10th full-length “Maraqopa,” produced by Richard Swift, mastered by TW Walsh.
Due out on February 21st via Secretly Canadian.
Pre-order with bonuses (3 different special 7″s featuring non-album tracks) is available, HERE.

Stream the album in its entirety on A.V. Club now.

Chicago-based Brighton MA was formed by Matthew Kerstein (he named the band name as an homage to his birthplace and youth) and Sam Koentopp, after leaving Scotland Yard Gospel Choir in 2005, with Jim Tuerk, then Joe Darnaby and Jon Ozaksut joined the band. Their newest 7-track EP “Billboard Sun” EP, with production assisted by Archer Prewitt (of The Sea and Cake and formerly of The Coctails) on ‘Comfy’ and ‘V-Day’ (featuring Max Crawford on Wurlitzer), is available now on the bandcamp. Later in the year, the band will release their long-awaited full-length album, produced by Brian Deck at Engine Studios.

Magic Bullets – What Took You So Long?

Magic Bullets – Lying Around

Magic Bullets gear up for their latest and final release in the form of Much Ado About, to be released on April 3, 2012. This seven track EP comprises perhaps their best work yet. The San Francisco quintet featuring Philip Benson (vocals), Corey Cunningham (guitar), Nathan Sweatt (bass), Sean McDonnell (keyboards), and Alex Kaiser (drums) dissolved last fall, playing their last show on August 24 at The Rickshaw Stop. The three original members (Phil, Corey, and Nathan) had been playing together for 7 years as Magic Bullets before calling it quits as said incarnation. —Mon Amie Records

“Condensed Nothing” is a new album by Arizona’s Stephen Steinbrink (aka French Quarter), recorded at home, the follow-up to his previous “Desert Wasn’t Welcome” (2011) album which was recorded at Dub Narcotic Studio, Olympia, WA by Bob Schwenkler.
Released December 27th, 2011 by Holy Page of Tempe, AZ.
Purchase the cassette, HERE.

CMG & We Are The Night – Build Fires (French Quarter cover)

A band hailing from San Pedro California, CMG & We Are The Night (led by Carlos Michael Gutierrez) has covered French Quarter’s song ‘Build Fires‘ for the benefit compilation album “Friends & Family – A Benefit For Hunger Relief” released by Mountain Man Records. Stream their debut album “Golden Ghosts” (2010) on the bandcamp.

“Friends & Family” compilation also features ‘I Could Not Tell If You Were Smiling’ by Stephen Steinbrink (aka French Quarter).

On February 21st, Rhino Handmade will release “Sunny Goodge Street, The Warner Bros. Recordings” collection by Tom Northcott, a Canadian folk-rock singer-songwriter who recorded a catalog of ornate psychedelic-folk for Warner Bros. between 1966-69 with legendary producers, arrangers, songwriters.

“Sunny Goodge Street, The Warner Bros. Recordings” is a 20-track collection that includes the 10 tracks originally issued in 1970 on “The Best of Tom Northcott,” (produced by Lenny Waronker and Leon Russell)– including the four singles: Donovan’s ‘Sunny Goodge Street,’ Bob Dylan’s ‘Girl Of The North Country’ and Harry Nilsson’s ’1941′ and ‘The Rainmaker’ (The latter paired Northcott with Jack Nitzsche’s outstanding arrangement). And six previously unreleased tracks that Northcott recorded between 1968-69. Several are from sessions in Los Angeles, (‘Ain’t Nobody Home,’ ‘A Soulful Shade Of Blue,’ ‘A Long Way Down’ and Randy Newman’s ‘Somebody Always Gets Hurt’) while others were recorded in London at Pye Studios (‘See The Tinker Ride’ and ‘There’s No Time’), and also features the single versions of ‘Sunny Goodge Street’ and its b-side ‘Who Planted Thorns In Miss Alice’s Garden,’ plus Northcott’s final single with Warner Bros. Records, ‘Make Me An Island,’ a song written by Albert Hammond and arranged by Nilsson collaborator Perry Botkin, Jr..

Letterpress edition of 3500 copies. 
Digital design by Bruce Licher, based on an original illustration by Bob Masse. Along with a reproduction press photo, the folio also contains an “underground newspaper” that serves as the album’s liner notes written by producer Andrew Sandoval.


Tom Northcott – Girl Of The North Country

« Older entries § Newer entries »