June 2012

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for June 2012.

Thee Oh Sees – Lupine Dominus

An incredible Sci Fi-Psychedelic-Krautrock groove, ‘Lupine Dominus’ is a latest track from the forthcoming new “Putrifiers II,” 14th LP by the San Francisco’s Psyche-Art-Garage outfit Thee Oh Sees. The LP will be released on September 11th via In The Red. Thee Oh Sees are John Dwyer, Brigid Dawson, Petey Dammit, Mike Shoun, and the featuring guests on “Putrifiers II” are Mikal Cronin (sax), Heidi Maureen Alexander (trumpet, vocals) and K Dylan Edrich (viola).

so nice (rough cut) by Thee Oh Sees

Dent May – Shakedown Street (Grateful Dead Cover)

Dent May – Home Groan (from “Do Things”)

Dent May‘s latest full-length “Do Things ” is available now via Paw Tracks

The Hand to Man Band – The Down Moveables
Video by Marcos Sanchez / Recorded by Nicholas Taplin (Post-Consumer)

“The band’s moniker was inspired by a cryptic fortune cookie Watt picked up in Austin, and that’s really no surprise – this album is filled with mysterious clues that lead to solutions indirectly. Veering between the tightly woven and the completely unhinged, trading deep gulfs of ponderous melancholy with gentle, fractured pop fairytales, The Hand To Man Band keeps the listener guessing without ever completely abandoning their own special brand of earthy hall-of-mirrors music.”
– Post Consumer

The Hand To Man Band – First Shallows>

The Hand To Man Band is comprises of Mike Watt (best known for co-founder of Minutemen, dos, and fIREHOSE), John Dieterich (Deerhoof, Natural Dreamers), Tim Barnes (Silver Jews, Jim O’Rourke, Text of Light), Thollem McDonas (Tsigoti). ‘First Shallow’ is taken from their first full-length “You Are Always on Our Minds,” available now via Austin’s Post-Consumer.



Violent Femmes- Eep Opp Ork Ah-Ah
from “Saturday Morning Cartoons Greatest Hits” (MCA, 1995)
Violent Femmes :: Gordon Gano, Brian Ritchie, Victor DeLorenzo, and Guy Hoffman(1993–2002


Jet Screamer – Eep Opp Ork Ah-Ah
Originally performed by Howard Morris. Jetsons music video featuring ‘Jet Screamer’ from 60′s TV show.

Jen Schande – I Really Like Sonic Youth, And I Really Want to Have Sex With You

‘I Really Like Sonic Youth, And I Really Want to Have Sex With You’ by Jen Chochinov (a.k.a. Jen Schande –the singer, guitarist, songwriter for San Francisco local indie noise rock band Schande) is taken from her upcoming 8-song solo album “19: Songs for and Inspired by Valencia Chapter 19,” due out on July 17th, pre-order is available now on its bandcamp.
The album was written for the Valencia Movie(s) Project, and the song was based on chapter 19 (directed by Olivia Parriott) of “Valencia” written by Michelle Tea. Also, “Valencia Chapter 5″ (directed by Hilary Goldberg and produced by Shani Heckman) features Jen Turner (of Here We Go Magic) for its original soundtrack.  (via)

from Valencia Chapter 5 of Valencia The Movie/s

Valencia: The Movie/s is a collaborative film project headed by Michelle Tea and filmmaker Hilary Goldberg. Twenty one queer filmmakers each shoot a 5-7 minute short based on a chapter from the book. Illustrator Ariel Dunitz-Johnson helps visually tie the work together with stunning portraits of the 21 “Michelle” characters who vary in age, gender, size, ethnicity, style and era!


Blues Control – Iron Pigs (from “Valley Tangents”)

Blues Control is a Queens, NY-based improv psych duo featuring Russ Waterhouse (guitar, electronics, tapes) and Lea Cho (keyboards, electronics), both from Watersports. The duo have just released their first Drag City album “Valley Tangents,” the long-awaited full-length follow-up to 2009′s “Local Flavor” (Siltbreeze), and last year’s  Laraaji collaboration for FRKWYS.

Blues Control – Love’s A Rondo (from “Valley Tangents”)
Directed by Tara Sinn. Filmed by William Strobeck. 
Featuring Tarik Davidson aka Allstar the MTA Mime.

Blues Control :: Facebook / Soundcloud / MySpace

Orca Team – Night Moves
Directed and filmed by Eric Fundingsland. 2012. From the album RESTRAINT.

From the album RESTRAINT.

Hailing from the Pacific Northwest, post-punk/surf/mutant disco inspired trio Orca Team‘s new full-length “RESTRAINT” is out now via Athens, GA imprint, HHBTM (Happy Happy Birthday To Me Records) and C.A.L.I. Records (cassette). The trio comprises of Dwayne Cullen on drums, Jessica B. on guitar and Leif Anders on bass/ vox.

Orca Team :: Bandcamp / Souncloud / Facebook

« Older entries