October 2012

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for October 2012.

Composer, singer, and pianist Reuben Butchart brings his song cycle “Nameless and Awake” to the WNYC Studio. Setting poems by John William Carroll, Butchart’s music combines a soulful contemporary singing style with intricate, detailed arrangements that make use of the classical and jazz skills of The Millworkers, seven musicians playing woodwinds, cello, guitar, bass, drums, glass percussion, and more. David Garland talks with Butchart about the songs and how the music came together at Robert Wilson’s Watermill Center. — Spinning On Air, WNYC

“Nameless and Awake: Eight Poems by John William Carroll” was developed and recorded during the artist residency at Robert Wilson’s Watermill Center, with seven multi-instrumentalists, The Millworkers. It has been released through iTunes, Amazon, and Bandcamp. Available on digital / a limited edition hardbound artbook of Butchart’s illustrations.

released 01 January 2012, from “Nameless and Awake”

from Alright Cassette, released 01 August 2012

San Francisco’s indie foursome Cool Ghouls, originally called The Patricks, has released “Alright Cassettes” on their bandcamp. The band comprises of high school classmates, Pat McDonald (vocal, guitar), Pat Thomas (bass) and Ryan Wong (guitar) with Alex Fleshman (drums).
Their first full-length, recorded with Tim Cohen (of Magic Trick, The Fresh & Only), will be comin’ this fall on Empty Cellar Records.

Cool Ghouls – Ghost Song
taken from the forthcoming Cool Ghouls’ debut self-titled LP.

from Alright Cassette, released 01 August 2012

from Ben V. Ho

The Cool Ghouls, entertaining a gallery opening ‘THIS IS US,’ a group show from Artist Collective THIS Los Angeles (Aaron Farley, Claire & Jeremy Weiss, and Justin Van Hoy) at RVCA (Haight St ). Shot & Edited by: Benjamin V. Ho

Sharky Coast – Swim or Die
via Echolocale‘s dispatches from CLOchella series
at the Cloyne Court sessions, April 7, 2012

Hailing from Santa Rosa CA, this young Lo-Fi / Garage duo SHARKY COAST comprises of Nick O’Rooney on guitar, Christine Ortmann on drums.

Famous Class Records‘ latest release from their LAMC split 7” series, Thee Oh Sees – Wait, Let’s Go b/w The Mallard – Over And Under, is available now. Order, HERE. Also available on their bandcamp. LAMC series was launched in loving memory of their partner, Less Artists More Condos promoter Ariel Panero.

Sonny and the Sunsets performs – I See The Void
August 16, 2012 Mercury Lounge
at Mercury Lounge, NYC (Audio by NYC Taper)
Audio by NYC Taper, Video by Bleary Eyed Brooklyn.com

Complete high quality audio from the show can be found HERE.
Sonny and the Sunsets’ most recent Polyvinyl release “Longtime Companion” is available, HERE.

The Pear Traps – Santa Fe
The song is taken from their new EP “Elsewhere,” 
now available on their bandcamp site.

The Pear Traps – Keep to Myself
taken from their 2010′s EP “Basement Fidelity”

The Pear Traps are:
Bryant (guitar/vocals)
Billy (drums)
Josh (guitar)
Stephen (analog keyboards)
Nathan (bass)

via Free Pussy Riot!

MEN – Let Them Out Or Let Me In
Video by: Tyler Jensen

On October 10th 2012 at Moscow City Court will hear the appeal of the sentence Masha, Nadia and Katja. This may be the last chance for the Russian judicial system to free the jailed members of Pussy Riot. After this, the women are expected to be sent to three different penal detention centers, where we are very concerned for their safety. Please check in at http://freepussyriot.org/ for more information.

« Older entries § Newer entries »