February 2013

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for February 2013.

Listen, Real Estate bassist Alex Bleeker’s newest track taken from the forthcoming second album “How Far Away,” due out May 28th via Woodsist. It features his fellow musicians as “the freaks” including Mountain Man’s Amelia Meath, who provides gorgeously weighty backing vocals on four tracks, Woods’ Jarvis Tanviere, Real Estate’s Jackson Pollis, Big Troubles’ Sam Franklin.

Sam Moss is a Brattleboro, Vermont based composer, songwriter, and string player. He has released a handful of solo albums, is a member of the old-time duo, The Howling Kettles, and a long-distance contributor to Sewing Machines. He recently compiled Imaginational Anthem Volume Five for Tompkins Square Records. In fall 2012 he was in residence at the MacDowell Colony in Peterborough, NH. His work has won high praise from NPR, Dusted, Pop Matters, and Blurt Magazine, among others.

All songs written by Sam Moss except “Lonesome Valley”, which is traditional.
Recorded in Brattleboro, Vermont
Mastered by Eric Carbonara
Not Nothing Records, released 01 May 2012

Seattle band Gold Leaves cover Lee Hazlewood’s “Won’t You Tell Your Dreams” for Light In The Attic‘s 10 Year Anniversary 7″ Series. The series features contemporary artists covering a track reissued by Light In The Attic on the A-side, plus the original version on the B-side. 

A-side is produced by Gold Leaves, engineered by Chris Early, and recorded in Seattle in September 2012. B-side features Lee’s original version as remastered by John Baldwin for our recent compilation Lee Hazlewood — The LHI Years: Singles, Nudes, & Backsides (1968-71). 

Other artists in the series include Iggy Pop & Zig Zags covering Betty Davis, Mark Lanegan covering Karen Dalton, Charles Bradley & The Menahan Street Band covering Rodriguez, and Sweet Tea (feat. Alex Maas of the Black Angels & Erika Wennerstrom of the Heartless Bastards) covering Wendy Rene. More releases in the series to be announced..


Gold Leaves
“Won’t You Tell Your Dreams” (Lee Hazlewood cover)


Sweet Tea (The Black Angels & Heartless Bastards)
“After Laughter (Comes Tears)” (Wendy Rene cover)

01 Calvin Love – Chin Chin by ArbutusRecords

Sean Nicholas Savage is a magnetic character. As an integral part of the upcoming Montreal music scene, and an inspiration to many, several artists eagerly accepted the challenge to cover his songs; in celebration of his past work, but also for the promise of what’s still to come.
17 of Savage’s songs – ranging from anthems to obscure gems – are anthologized on this release. As the first act ever to release on Arbutus, a community has developed surrounding Savage, his songwriting, charisma and his social philosophies. 

It is a true honour to present such a mix of genre and creative thought – and this is what’s captivating about the compilation. A group of artists brought together not by genre but by circumstance: a shared home, one which Savage represents as a primary character in the Canadian music scene.”Arbutus Records

06 Eola – Someone’s Got A Secret by ArbutusRecords

02 Mac DeMarco – Bye Bye Bye by ArbutusRecords

the song is taken from “Flamingo”

Beck Reimagines David Bowie’s “Sound and Vision”
- 360º Sound Collaboration with Chris Milk

Directed by Chris Milk, the concert was captured on three 360-degree cameras as well as 360-degree microphones, allowing the audience of the digital experience to feel as if they’re actually there.


Behind the Scenes
….. for more reimagined projects at Hello-Again.com. 

‘In the City’ (Chromatics cover) is taken from the upcoming 6-track EP “ANIKA EP,” coming April 2013 via Stones Throw. Produced by Geoff Barrow (of Portishead) & Beak.

Anika – In the City by Stones Throw Records

Adam Schatz + Kelly Pratt + Matt Nelson- Early In The Morning (Nilsson) by AdamSchatz

Adam Schatz (Landlady) – vocals, saxophone, keys
Kelly Pratt (Bright Moments, Arcade Fire, Beruit, David Byrne & St. Vincent)- vocals
Matt Nelson (Arts & Sciences, tUnE-yArDs)



Louis Jordan – Early in the Mornin’
from “Look Out Sister,” 1947 Musical/Western film directed by Louis Jordan & Bud Pollard, and written by John E. Gordon and Will Morrissey.  ‘Early in the Mornin” was written by Dallas Bartley, Leo Hickman, Louis Jordan, and recorded by Louis Jordan and His Tympany Five in 1947.

Adam Schatz

LANDLADY- ‘Above My Ground’ (Official Vegetable Music Video),
the song is taken from the ‘Above My Ground’ single (2012) 
b/w ‘Oh My Golly (a song by the Pixies), available on iTunes and their bandcamp

« Older entries § Newer entries »