August 2014

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for August 2014.

“Rick Brown (V-Effect , Run On and more) was born in San Francisco, CA and is a clerical worker at a law school in NYC. Che Chen (True Primes) was born in New Haven, CT and works for a cancer diagnostics company in Stonybrook, NY. They met via myspace and started playing together as 75 Dollar Bill approximately eight years later. Brown plays percussion and homemade horns and Chen plays electric guitar.”

ヨ・ラ・テンゴ、トータスにも縁あるNY DOWN TOWN / エクスペリメンタル・ミュージックのベテラン、リック・ブラウン(Fish & Roses, Les Batteries, Peach Cobbler, Run On, Timber, V-Effect)が、myspaceを通じて出会ったNYのマルチ・インストゥルメンタリスト、2年前には来日してAsunaと共演もしているチェ・チェン(one half of True Primes)とのプロジェクト。アラビックなキャプテン・ビーフハートと聴こえてくるようなオモシロさも。

released 17 June 2014
Rick Brown: percussion and cardboard tubes on “C.T.F.M.T.”
Che Chen: electric guitar and cardboard tubes on “C.T.F.M.T.”
guest musicians:
Sue Garner: vocal and maraca on “Yes We Can Can”
Andrew Lafkas: contrabass on “WZN#3″
Karen Waltuch: viola on “WZN#3″
“WZN#3″ recorded live at Troost cafe, Greenpoint, Brooklyn, NY. 2/8/14
“Yes We Can Can” recorded live at Troost cafe, Greenpoint, Brooklyn, NY. 11/9/13

The Junipers are a Folk, Pop, Psychedelic band hailing from Leicester. Currently the band comprises of Robyn Gibson, Joe Wiltshire, Pete Gough, Ash Seldon, Ben Marshall.


taken from The Junipers second album “Paint The Ground” (2012), Sold Out. Now available from HERE and HERE.

taken from The Junipers second album “Paint The Ground” (2012), Sold Out. Now available from HERE and HERE.

The Junipers’ “Euphonious Trolley EP Volume 1.” Released late 2013.

 ザ・ジュニパーズは14年前にレスター(イングランド)で結成されたフォーキィなサイケデリック・ポップ・バンドで、現在は、ロビン・ギブソン (vocals、特技:ジャム作り)、ジョー・ウィルトシャー (Guitar, Organ)、Bite it Deepという60s〜70sポップなレココレ・ブログも続けているピート・ゴフ (Guitar)、アッシュ・セルデン (Bass)、ベン・マーシャル (Drums) の5人編成。2007年にマルコ・トーマス(フェルト)のレーベルSan Remo Recordsと契約し、翌年にはセルフ・プロデュース、ギャヴィン・モナガンと一緒に録ったトラックも含まれるデビュー・アルバム『Cut Your Key』をリリースしてBBCなどで好評を得て、2012年にはセカンド・アルバム『Paint the Ground』を自分たちでリリース。今年の春このセカンドはSugarbush RecordsがLP限定300枚で再発(完売)。そして去年は別名ユーフォニアス・トロリーとして、ジュニパーズよりもっとサンシャイン・ポップなEPも出しています。新たなレコーディングもそろそろ、との由。

RIYL: Vetiver, NRBQ, Beachwood Sparks, Curt Boettcher…. and more

The Junipers – Say Goodbye
at The Musician in Leicester. Saturday 7th June 2014.

Małe Instrumenty “Samoróbka”

Małe Instrumenty (Small Instruments) are a band exploring new sounds using a wide array of small instruments. The instruments used in their sonic experiments feature an ever expanding array of professional instruments, sound toys made for children or naive in nature, strange musical inventions as well as a whole array of small items that aren’t really instruments but do make a sound. The music created in this way reveals unique colours of sound sometimes beautiful and fine, sometimes surprising and insightful, sometimes exposing the incomplete nature of the sound created and allowing ears to feast on this restriction. All this means that the band is constantly faced with the need to look for new creative solutions.

The group was started by Pawel Romanczuk in 2006, other members: Tomasz Orszulak, Jędrzej Kuziela and Maciej Bączyk, Piotr Łyszkiewicz. In July 2007 the band made its debut at Era New Horizons Film Festival in Wroclaw/Poland and has since worked on many music projects under the name of Male Instrumenty. The group has collaborated with many prominent art organizations and artists in Poland and Europe.

Here you can buy their releases: (Poland) / Novel Cell Poem, INC (日本)

“Patrick Cleary (Silver Phial, The Digs) + Eric “Cashew” Harding (The Prix, Eagle Winged Palace) = EP of Baroque Rock & Roll with a dash of Americana Surrealism”

Both tracks are taken from Los Angeles-based duo, Cleary and Cashew‘s “Husbands Vol. I,” the first entry in a set of forthcoming EPs.  It was recorded with Rob Campanella of The Quarter After (Beachwood Sparks, Brian Jonestown Massacre), and the additional musicians are Scott Bassman, Cheryl Lynn Caddick, Curt Harding, James Arellano, Darryll Brown, Rob Campenella. “Husbands Vol. I” is available digitally via iTunes and is also available on cassette via Wiener/Burger Records.

The both tracks are taken from the 2014′s deluxe edition of Blue Nile “Peace At Last,” the band’s third album digitally remastered by Paul Buchanan and Robert Bell alongside the album’s original engineer Calum Malcolm.

グザヴィエ・ドランの映画「わたしはロランス」(Xavier Dolan “Laurence Anyways”)のラストに流れたCraig Armstrong feat Paul Buchananのとても美しいヴァージョンが…

Sweet Dreams Press (Tokyo) has announced of their latest release, “We Resonate” by Rachael Dadd. Out on September 15th. Listen and enjoy this awesome preview track from the album.

and the French imprint Talitres release “We Resonate” on September 29th.

“‘We Resonate’ sees Rachael joined by Laura Marling’s sideman Marcus
Hamblet, experimental Japanese multi-instrumentalist ICHI, Alessi
Laurent-Marke of Alessi’s Ark, Rozi Plain, Emma Gatrill of Sons of Noel
and Adrian, and Thomas Heather of Woodpecker Wooliams.”

Previously the TEASI had released their 3rd album “Sando” via Japanese imprint Sweet Dreams Press. And now here’s a brand new 4th album entitled “Unreleased Live Tracks” including live tracks with Tara Jane O’Neil in Kyoto, 2010 and tracks with Masaru Watanabe&Yukiko Matsukura(OMATSUTOMASARUSHI) in Nagoya, 2010.
Free Download, NOW!

Currently TEASI comprises of IPPEI MATSUI (vo & g), KATSUO KAMEYAMA (ds), AKIKO YAMAGUCHI (p), Eiji Mitomi (b) and AKIHIKO KAMEDA (syn).


”TEASIは2010年『sando』という3rdアルバムをリリースしました。リリース後、数回のライブを行いました。この音源は京都でTara Jane O’Neilと行ったライブと、名古屋で渡辺勝さん・松倉如子さん(おまつとまさる氏)と行ったライブで構成された4枚目のアルバムです。”


Newer entries »