January 2015

You are currently browsing the monthly archive for January 2015.

Andy Shauf – I’m Not Falling Asleep
The song is taken from the Andy Shauf 2012 album “The Bearer of Bad News,” coming on February 3rd in US via Tender Loving Empire / Party Damage.  Edited by Mike Dubue. Footage culled from various Saskatchewan Archives Board-produced films 1920-22.

本国カナダでは2012年にリリースされた2作目のフルレングス『The Bearer of Bad News 』のUS盤がポートランドからもうすぐ。ジョアンナ・ニューサム来日時のベアフット・ドラマー、Neal MorganやDragging an Ox through Waterのアルバムも出しているParty Damage、そしてTender Loving Empireとの、どちらもポートランドのレーベルからのコ・リリースです。

Four songs about Sam Jones.
released 20 March 2012

Both tracks are taken from the a cassingle on Bad Actors / Burger Records, Nov 17, 2014.  Michael Rault is a Toronto-via-Edmonton singer, guitarist and songwriter fronting his own eponymously named band.  His latest EP “Living Daylight” (2014, Pirates Blend Records), produced and recorded in collaboration with Renny Wilson (Mint Records), will be released from Burger Records in 2015. 

マック・デマルコやショーン・ニコラス・サヴェージと同じくエドモントンから現れ、現在はトロント・ベースに活動するマルチ・インストゥルメンタリスト / ソングライター・パフォーマー、ミシェル・ローの米Burger Recordsから(本国ではU.S. GirlsやHomeshake、Yacht ClubをリリースするBad Actorsから)のカセットシングル。2014年のEP『Living Daylight』も今年Burger Recordsからリリース予定との由。

Michael Rault – I Want To Love You

Michael Rault covers The Staple Singers
from Whirlpool, released 31 July 2012
Produced by Michael Rault

Nashville’s new duo, STEELISM comprises of Jeremy Fetzer on guitar from Canton, OH and Spencer Cullum on pedal steel from Essex, England.

The duo’s full-length debut “615 to FAME” (2014) is available via Ben Tanner’s Single Lock Records. Half recorded at Muscle Shoals’ historic FAME Studios, produced by Fetzer and Cullum with co-production from Ben Tanner (of the Alabama Shakes), and contributions from longtime Nashville-based collaborators Jon Radford (drums) and Michael Rinne (bass). Also, their latest limited edition 7” vinyl single ‘The Informant’ b/w ‘The Spook’ (Pete Drake cover) is available via Turbo Time Records. Order, HERE.

Steelism – Linus & Lucy

Jam Money – Blowing Stones – Happy Mantle

“Blowing Stones” is the latest release from Spillage Fete Records: a collaboration between
Mat Fowler and Kevin Cormack, with paintings by Aimee Henderson. November 2014.

Deer Tick, performing as Deervo for Devo’s “Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!”  2014-12-29, Brooklyn Bowl, Brooklyn, NY USA via NYCTAPER.

12/26から12/31まで5夜にわたりブルックリン・ボウルで敢行されたDeertickのフェイヴァリット・アルバム+α・カヴァー・シリーズ(Devo, the Beatles, NRBQ, Elvis Costello, Lou Reed)のDevoナイトより。ゲスト多数。Q(『Tiddlywinks』だったらしい)の日も聴きたいデス。

“QUARTERBACKS started as a short-lived duo playing too-fast love songs backed by guitar and a single snare drum.  Basement style, old smelly carpets, house shows for punk and patch kids. This was in New Paltz, a college town at the bottom of a mountain in upstate New York. Dean (Dean Engle, the band’s songwriter/vocalist) worked at one of the town’s two record shops, as K Records-obsessed small town boys usually do.”

QUARTERBACKS comprise of Dean Engle, Max Restaino and Tom Christie.
Visit the trio at the Team Love Records. “Quarterbacks” 12″ pre-order, HERE.

『QUARTERBACKS』は、twee popやkレコーズの匂いがしきりに漂うDIY3ピース・バンド、クオーターバックスの初オフィシャル・フル・レングス。イーストヴィレッジからNYアップステートのカレッジタウン、ニューパルツに引っ越してきたTeam Love Recordsからのリリース。

(Tiger Trap cover)

« Older entries § Newer entries »