You are currently browsing the archive for the ANDREW BIRD category.

(released 27 October 2009)

“Why should jazz have all the fun? Pop and indie artists too seldom throw their creative weight into the art of interpretation. But the sometimes dormant tradition is alive and well in a new revival of songs from The Point!, Harry Nilsson‘s 1971 cult-classic film and soundtrack, featuring new arrangements by Andrew Bird, Martha Wainwright, DeVotchKa, Nada Surf, and other contemporary artists.”  –Amano Recording

MVD Visual released a DVD of The Point! on November 20, 2012, The Definitive Collector’s Edition includes the animated film plus twenty-five minutes of bonus material including: Who Is Harry Nilsson?, Pitching the Point, Making the Point, and Legacy Of The Point. 

Stream the track ‘We Can’t Have Nice Things,’ co-written by author Jack Pendarvis and Andrew Bird, from Kelly Hogan‘s long-overdue third solo album “I Like To Keep Myself In Pain,” due out on June 5th via Anti- Records. Pre-order, HERE.

Hogan’s first new album (since 2001’s “Because It Feel Good”) was recorded by an absolutely all-star band consisting of R&B legends Booker T. Jones and James Gadson (Bill Withers, Beck), Gabe Roth (of Daptone Records, the Dap-Kings) and Scott Ligon (The Flat Five Chicago, NRBQ), and the other songs were written by M. Ward, Vic Chesnutt, Magnetic Fields, the Mekons’ Jon Langford, the Handsome Family, Bird, Freakwater’s Catherine Irwin, John Wesley Harding, Robbie Fulks, Gabriel Roth and Robyn Hitchcock.

Photo courtesy of Nadine Schneller

Andrew Bird and Ian Schneller‘s Sonic Arboretum at the Guggenheim, NYC, August 5, 2010. This is awesome!

Andrew Bird at the Guggenheim, NYC, August 5, 2010
“Dark Sounds” concert series
“Section 8 City”/ “Take Courage”/ instrumental

Margaret Cho – I’m Sorry – featuring Andrew Bird (music video)
The song is from her new comedy music album “Cho Dependent”, which comes out on August 24th and is now available for pre-order.

‘I’m Sorry’ written by Margaret Cho and Andrew Bird, was produced by Andrew Bird, recorded and Mixed by Mark Nevers (Lambchop) at Beech House Studios.  And the full length “Cho Dependent” features comedy songs with Ben Lee, Tegan and Sara, Fiona Apple, Brendan Benson, Jon Brion, Garrison Starr, Meghan Toohey, Ani DiFranco, Tommy Chong, Grant Lee Phillips, Rachael Yamagata and Andrew Bird.

Andrew Bird and Calexico perform at the Newport Folk Festival.
July 31, 2010 / Shots by Addison Post

STREAM :: Hear archived Newport Folk Festival on NPR Music
and WFUV in New York.

Calexico, Live in Nuremberg by cashmusic

Recorded in 2009 at a show in Nuremberg, Germany
Download via Calexico Cash Music.

Envision a Sonic Arboretum — a symphonic field of poppies, a prairie of sound, a forest floor of hornlings — all parts of one “ecosystem.”  Musician / composer Andrew Bird and artist / sculptor / inventor Ian Schneller (Shrimp Boat, Falstaff) of Specimen Products have collaborated to develop the Sonic Arboretum, debuting at the Guggenheim Museum’s Dark Sounds summer concert series on Thursday, August 5th.

Read more about Sonic Arboretum here!  More videos here!

This video was taken the day Andrew Bird played through his new Specimen Janus Horn Speakers for the first time. The song he is playing is “Plasticities.”  This is all done live in Specimen Guitar Shop, Chicago IL. (2007)

“Twistable, Turnable Man: A Musical Tribute to the songs of Shel Silverstein”

Shel Silverstein, as a writer, poet, and songwriter has influenced generations upon generations of kids (and kids at heart) with his brilliant, witty, and touching turns of phrase. It is Silverstein’s oft-overlooked catalog of classic songs that is the focus of this new all-star tribute. As a songwriter, Silverstein penned indelible songs for artists such as Johnny Cash, Dr. Hook, Loretta Lynn, Bobby Bare, and countless others. On this collection, lovingly produced by Bobby Bare Sr. and Bobby Bare Jr., two distinct generations of artists inspired by Silverstein have lined up to pay tribute. From Kris Kristofferson, Ray Price, and John Prine to Andrew Bird, Billy Bob Thornton’s band the Boxmasters, Black Francis, My Morning Jacket, Dr. Dog and more, “Twistable, Turnable Man: A Musical Tribute to the Songs of Shel Silverstein” is an eclectic, endearing valentine to this giant of American song.
Release date: June 8th on Sugar Hill Records.

01. Lullabys, Legends and Lies: My Morning Jacket
02. The Twistable, Turnable Man Returns: Andrew Bird
03. This Guitar Is For Sale: John Prine
04. The Unicorn: Dr. Dog
05. The Winner: Kris Kristofferson
06. Queen Of The Silver Dollar: Sarah Jarosz w/ Black Prairie
07. Daddy What If: Bobby Bare, Jr. w. Isabella Bare
08. The Cover Of The Rolling Stone: Black Francis w/ Joey Santiago
09. Sylvia’s Mother: The Boxmasters
10. Me And Jimmy Rodgers: Ray Price
11. A Boy Named Sue: Todd Snider
12. The Ballad Of Lucy Jordan: Lucinda Williams
13. The Living Legend: Bobby Bare, Sr.
14. The Giving Tree: Nanci Griffith
15. 26 Second Song: My Morning Jacket

Shel Silverstein on “The Johnny Cash Show” (1970)

The Actual ’73 Giving Tree Movie Spoken By Shel Silverstein

« Older entries