You are currently browsing the archive for the AUSTRALIA category.

The Cannanes have a brand new EP “Small Batch” recorded in New York in collaboration with Explosion Robinson for release in 2013. A new album “Howling at All Hours” is to be released in 2013 on Chapter Records Australia. 

Primitive Motion – Coiled Spring

Primitive Motion – Path of Inconsequence

From Brisbane, Australia, Primitive Motion comprised of Leighton Craig and Sandra Selig, is an offshoot of Brisbane’s Deadnotes. The duo have just released new EP “Home of the Future” (3″ CDR + art book), in an edition of only 30 copies. Available on Craig’s Kindling Records, or Free Download on their Bandcamp page. (via Soft Abuse)

Primitive Motion – Interior Sea

Puta Madre Brothers preview of their new shocking album
“It’s A Long Long Way To Meximotown”

Puta Madre Brothers are three gringos hailing from Altona in the western suburbs of Melbourne in the early 1980s. Their second album “It’s A Long Long Way To Meximotown,” featuring 14 bonus tracks of mexicali-disco-garage-hi-speed-soul-dance gunslings, will be coming soon, on February 10th via Baboso Records/Fuse Distribution. 

Jonti – Firework Spraying Moon
Taken from the first 7″ single from the debut album “Twirligig”

Jonti – Firework Spraying Moon

Jonti Danilewitz aka Jonti (formerly Danimals / Djanimals) is an Australian (moved from South Africa) multi-instrumentalist, arranger, producer and vocalist, his debut full-length “Twirligig” is due out on October 7th via Mistletone (through Inertia, Australia) and Stones Throw (US).

Twirligig draws inspiration from many of Jonti’s favorite artists, Madlib, Stereolab, Free Design and The Beach Boys. But Twirligig’s main inspiration came from cartoonist / filmmaker Norman Mclaren. Jonti explains, “His films are complex, but they’re still fun. You can feel his enthusiasm for techniques and experimentation. I try make simple pop songs with that same mentality.”

Jonti – Hornets Nest  another track from “Twirligig”


Norman McLaren “Blinkity Blank” (1955)
featuring a soundtrack combining improvisational jazz from composer Maurice Blackburn along with graphical sounds created by McLaren scratching onto the film’s optical soundtrack.

Twerps – Dreamin (taken from “Twerps”)

After several releases of 7″s/cassettes through several labels like Chapter Music, Night People, Olde English Spelling Bee, Group Tightener and their bandcamp, Melbourme’s jangly-pop foursome, Twerps has their self-titled debut full-length album. “Twerps” was recorded in a bona fide studio, with the help of engineer Jack Farley (Beaches, St Helens). Out on October 18th via Underwater Peoples / October 14th via Chapter Music.

Twerps consist of guitarist/vocalist Marty Frawley (son of much-missed Paul Kelly & the Dots member Maurice Frawley), bassist Rick Milovanovic (Boomgates), guitarist Julia MacFarlane (ex Batrider) and drummer Patrick O’Neill.

Panel of Judges – Coconut Trees

Taken from the latest album “Moods On The Move” (Mistletone) by Melbourne’s Panel of Judges, the band features Martin Frawley.

Essendon Airport – Martial Art

Chapter Music has announced a 30th anniversary reissue of Palimpsest, the one and only album by Melbourne post-punk icons Essendon Airport. Recorded in December 1981, Palimpsest is now reborn as a double disc package with a whole bonus CD of live and unreleased studio recordings spanning 1980-83.

Essendon Airport – Science of Sound  (via Rose Quartz)

“Formed in 1978 as a mimimalist duo of guitarist Robert Goodge and keyboardist David Chesworth (now a renowned Australian composer), Essendon Airport released their landmark 7” EP Sonic Investigations Of the Trivial on Chesworth’s Innocent Records in 1979. Chapter Music reissued Sonic Investigations way back in 2002, as a CD including second single Talking To Cleopatra (with vocalist Anne Cessna) and a raft of bonus tracks.”

Montero – Rainman by Mistletone

Taken from the forthcoming debut 7″ by Montero, ‘Mumbai’ b/w ‘Rainman,’ due out on vinyl & digital release Sept 2nd via Melbourne’s Mistletone Records.

Montero is a new project from Melbourne music compadre, comic book and video artist Bjenny Montero (of Treetops II, The Brutals, The TM Band). This soft-rock/slow-wave supergroop features the musical smarts of Guy Blackman (Chapter Music honcho and balladeer), Geoffrey O’Connor (Crayon Fields), Cameron Potts (Ninety Nine, Baseball, Cuba Is Japan), Bobby Fresh Bravington (Cuba Is Japan) and Gerald Wells (of Treetops II, The Brutals, The TM Band/Baptism Of Uzi).

Montero – Rainman
Animated video by Bjenny Montero himself who also worked for the animated videos of Earth Girl Helen Brown’s ‘Story Of An Earth Girl’ (Sonny Smith’s 100 records project) and Sonny and the Sunsets’ ‘Death Cream.’

« Older entries