You are currently browsing the archive for the BELLA UNION category.

Taken from Rima Kato’s first full-length album “faintly lit,” out NOW via flau.

Taken from Tiny Ruin‘s “Brightly Painted One” album (2014, Arch Hill Recordings / Bella Union)

“Following the success of his classic album reissues last year Bella Union is thrilled and honoured to announce a new album from the truly legendary composer, musician, lyricist, producer and singer Van Dyke Parks. There has been one live album and one soundtrack record in the last 24 years, but Songs Cycled contains the American’s first new material since 1989, expanding even further Parks’ pioneering, and still unique, handle on Americana with the crystal clarity of a 21st century recording. All this in Park’s 70th year, which makes Songs Cycled extremely special indeed in so many ways.” –Bella Union

Songs Cycled track-listing:
1. ‘Dreaming of Paris’ (original)
2. ‘Hold Back Time’ (re-recording of a 1995 song from the Orange Crate Art album with Brian Wilson)
3. ‘Sassafras’ (new recording, originally by Billy Edd Wheeler in 1961)
4. ‘Black Gold’ (November 30, ‘02 – a fantasy on the sinking of The Prestige, off the coast of the Bay of Biscay)
5. ‘Aquarium’ (cover of 1886 Saint-Saëns piece, an analogue recording with the Esso Trinidad Steel Band in 1971 – VDP produced their album)
6. ‘Money Is King’ (picks up where Wall Street ends, written with Growling Tiger, a.k.a.- Trinidadian Calypso musician Neville Marcano)
7. ‘Wall Street’ (original)
8. ‘The Parting Hand’ (1835 hymn from the tradition of unaccompanied choral music known as the Sacred Harp)
9. ‘The All Golden’ (new recording from VDP’s 1967album Song Cycle)
10. ‘Wedding in Madagascar’(traditional a capella folk-song, arranged and adapted by VDP)
11. ‘Missin’ Missippi’ (original)
12. ‘Amazing Graces’ (instrumental with the ‘Van Dyke Parks Orchestra’)


Stream the first song off the Grizzly Bear‘s new album, due out on September 17th/18th on Warp Records. Pre-order begins Wednesday, June 6th.


Also…. Daniel Rossen (Grizzly Bear) and Robin Pecknold (Fleet Foxes) will join a special one-off show, at the Barbican in London with full orchestral accompaniment from the Britten Sinfonia, as guest vocalists to coincide with the long-awaited reissue of three of Van Dyke Parks‘ most visionary albums, due out in June via Bella Union.

“I’m choosing Van Dyke Parks because to my ears he is the spiritual godson of number-one American Maverick Charles Ives. If I were to turn this into a thesis, I’d argue that as Ives was steeped in marching band, spirituals and concert hall music, Parks’ ears are captured by mid-to-late 20th century stuff — including but not limited to calypso, ragtime, 60′s rock and psychedelia….. Though Parks works solely in the recorded medium and usually under the umbrella of ‘pop,’ his music is difficult enough to challenge and delight any listener.” -Owen Pallett (via WQXR)

Maverick Mixtapes: Owen Pallett
Maverick Mixtapes Streams Weekdays from March 8-30 at 2 PM

Owen Pallet was asked to make a mix, focused on Van Dyke Parks, for WQXR’s ‘Maverick Mixtapes’ series. And recently Bella Union has announced the long-awaited reissue of three classic albums by Van Dyke Parks, his first three solo albums, “Song Cycle” (1968), Discover “America” (1972) and “Clang Of The Yankee Reaper” (1975) are set to release in June, 2012.

Donovan – “Donovan’s colours” (cover by Van Dyke Parks)
Van Dyke Parks – “Sweet Trinidad”
Van Dyke Parks – “The Eagle and Me”
Harry Nilsson – “He needs me” (arr. by Van Dyke Parks; from Popeye soundtrack)
Inara George with Van Dyke Parks – “Rough Design”
Van Dyke Parks – “Palm Desert”
Van Dyke Parks – “An Invitation to Sin”
Van Dyke Parks – “Datsun Commercial”
Van Dyke Parks – “Ode to Tobago”
Sam Phillips – “Wasting my time” (arr. by Van Dyke Parks)
Louis Singer, Hy Zaret – “One Meat Ball” (perf. by Ry Cooder, arr. by Van Dyke Parks)
Van Dyke Parks – “Out on the rolling sea when Jesus speak to me”
Van Dyke Parks – “The All Golden”
Van Dyke Parks – “Money is King”
Van Dyke Parks – “Dreaming of Paris”
Van Dyke Parks – “By the people”
Van Dyke Parks – “Opportunity for Two”
Van Dyke Parks – “The Four Mills Brothers”

Peter Broderick – It Starts Hear (Official Video)
Directed by Alex Southam
Taken from Peter Broderick‘s debut vocal album “” released via HUSH (North America) on February 21st / Bella Union (Europe) on February 20th, the long-awaited follow-up to “HOME.”
Produced by Nils Frahm at his Durton Studio in Berlin.

cover art by Carson Ellis

Portland’s singer-songwriter, Laura Veirs has announced the upcoming release of her new album “Tumble Bee: Laura Veirs Sings Folk Songs for Children,” due out on November 8th via Raven Marching Band Records (N. America) and Bella Union (rest of the world), follow -up to the last year’s album “July Flame.” Produced by Tucker Martine, and features guest appearances from Colin Meloy, Jim James, Bela Fleck, Karl Blau, Basia Bulat and Brian Blade among many others.

WATCH :: The Making Of ‘Tumble Bee’ Video

1. Little Lap Dog Lullaby – Traditional
2. Prairie Lullaby – Billy Hill
3. Jack Can I Ride? – Traditional
4. Tumblebee – Karl Blau
5. King Kong Kitchie Kitchie Ki-Me-O – Traditional
6. All the Pretty Little Horses – Traditional
7. The Fox – Traditional
8. Jump Down Spin Around – Harry Belafonte
9. Why Oh Why – Woody Guthrie
10. Down in the Medder – Laura Veirs/Karl Blau
11. Soldier’s Joy – Jimmy Driftwood
12. Jamaica Farewell – Lord Burgess
13. Prairie Dream – Rob Burger 

Laura Veirs – Wide-Eyed, Legless  from “July Frame”

Vetiver Mixtape by Bella Union

1. David Blue – Another One Like Me
2. Billy Swan – Don’t Be Cruel
3. The Illusion – Once In A Lifetime
4. Terje Rypdal – Dead Man’s Tales
5. The Sandals – Agunus Night
6. Rab Noakes – Somebody Counts On Me
7. Ricci Martin – Stop Look Around
8. Mataya Clifford – Black Woman
9. Yvonne Elliman – Small Town Talk
10. Haruomi Hosono – Hurricane Dorothy

« Older entries