You are currently browsing the archive for the BERLIN category.

Tri-Ergon optical sound recording 1922
Photography | © Walter Ruttmann (via)

“Everything audible in the world becomes material.”
—Walter Ruttman – Weekend

Walter Ruttmann – Lichtspiel: Opus IV (1925)

“Berlin: Symphony of a Great City” (1927)
Walter Ruttmann: 伯林 – 大都会交響楽

“an empty bliss beyond this World” haftw008 LP/CD/Digital

“A memory is what’s left when something happens and does not completely unhappen.”   – Edward De Bonot

“an empty bliss beyond this world” is the second album from Berlin based English experimental artist James Leyland Kirby’s alias The Caretaker.  Released: May 19th (June 6th on CD) by history always favours the winners. Cover art is an original painting by Ivan Seal.  Kirby has created the soundtrack to “Patience (After Sebald)“, a new essay film by Grant Gee who has directed music documentaries about Radiohead Joy Division.  The soundtrack album will be released later this year. Also, Kirby’s “intrigue and stuff vol.1” from a new series of four 12″ singles is out now.

ギャビン・ブライアーズの『タイタニック号の沈没』以来の衝撃 ….. ふと『シャイニング』、亡霊達の仮面舞踏会のシーンも脳裏をよぎります。

the caretaker – an empty bliss beyond this world (album preview) by experimedia

01. All you are going to want to do is get back there
02. Moments of sufficient lucidity
03. The great hidden sea of the unconscious
04. Libet’s delay
05. I feel as if I might be vanishing
06. An empty bliss beyond this World
07. Bedded deep in long term memory
08. A relationship with the sublime
09. Mental caverns without Sunshine
10. Pared back to the minimal
11. Mental caverns without Sunshine
12. An empty bliss beyond this World
13. Tiny gradiations of loss
14. Camaraderie at arms length
15. The sublime is disappointingly elusive

Nils Frahm & Anne Müller – Journey For A Traveller (2010/unofficial fan video)
‘Journey For A Traveller’ is taken from their new album “7fingers” on HUSH Records.

Nils Frahm & Anne Müller – “7fingers” MP3/CD/LP
Out Now on HUSH

Jacob Faurholt & Sweetie Pie Wilbur – We like snow
Video by Trine Omø / From the album “Queen of Hope.” Released on Quartermain Records, March 2005.

Jacob Faurholt & Sweetie Pie Wilbur of Denmark was disbanded in 2006.  Now Berlin based Jacob Faurholt started his new project Why Write? and released debut EP via the Canadian based label What A Mess! Records late 2009.  Mixed & mastered by KRAMER (Daniel Johnston, Galaxie 500, Low).  “Saint Wilbur” is Jacob Faurholt & Sweetie Pie Wilbur’s retrospective free digital EP out now on his bandcamp site.

<a target="_blank" href="" >As The Ship Came In (Drum Version) by Jacob Faurholt</a>

Thanks to heroes of indie music blog.