You are currently browsing the archive for the BIG TROUBLES category.

Stream the title track from the forthcoming Ducktails (a.k.a. Matt Mondanile of Real Estate) full-length “The Flower Lane,” fourth album and his first for Domino Recording Co.. Due out on January 29th, 2013 in North America and January 28th, 2013 in rest of the world.

The album was recorded over the summer of 2012 with his fellow New Jersey band Big Troubles, and contributions from Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never), Joel Ford (Ford + Lopatin), Madeline Follin (Cults), Jessa Farkas (Future Shuttle) and Sam Mehran (Outer Limitz). Mixed by Al Carlson (Peaking Lights, Oneohtrix Point Never).

The ten songs, along with a stunning cover of founding Clean/Chills member Peter Gutteridge’s “Planet Phrom”, on “The Flower Lane” move across a range of expressive pop songs that are bright and expansive, but venture even further with forays into saxophone leads, synth lines and piano accompaniment that would have been at home on the early records of sophisticated guitar pop icons such as Aztec Camera and Prefab Sprout. –Domino

Here’s another track from Liam the Younger’s the upcoming “Clear Skies Over Black River” album re-issued along with “After The Graveyard” album, due out on February 7th through his own label A Learning Computer and Underwater Peoples. Now you can stream the both albums entirely on Prefix Magazine.

by moogie

Liam The Younger – Bob Dylan
Liam the Younger raging “Bob Dylan” backed up by Luka Usmiani (No Demons Here) and Samuel Franklin (a.k.a. Fluffy Lumbers), both from Big Troubles, at the Low Log Loft Show on September 18th, 2010. Video maker Maia Stern. (via Low Log)

Big Troubles – Misery  from “Romantic Comedy”

Big Troubles‘ upcoming 7″ single ‘Sad Girls’ b/w ‘Phantom’ is due out on August 30th and their second full-length “Romantic Comedy” is due out on September 27th via Slumberland Records / Plancha (jp), 日本盤はボーナス・デモ・トラック3曲を追加. “Romantic Comedy” was recorded with producer Mitch Easter formerly of Let’s Active and Sneakers with Chris Stamey (of the dB’s), and as a producer, well known for his work with R.E.M, Pavement, Velvet Crush among others. The single’s B-side ‘Phantom’ was recorded for the Shaking Through sessions curated by Jenn and Liz Pelly, the twin sister co-authors of

Big Troubles – Georgia / Video: Alexander Iezzi
from 2010 album “Worry” via Olde English Spelling Bee / Plancha (jp)

R.J. Reynolds High vs Ridgewood High ….  

Shaking Through: Big Troubles – Phantom
May 17, 2011 – Vol. 2, Episode 5 in the Shaking Through 2011 Series
Curated by Jenn and Liz Pelly of The Pelly Twins. Recorded on March 5 and 6, 2011, produced by Brian McTear, engineered by Jonathan Low at Miner Street Recordings in Philadelphia. The Video was produced by Peter English, with camera work by Ian Markiewicz, and edited by Mike Plunkett.

Big Troubles – Phantom

Alex, Ian, Sam and Luca arrived the night of March 4. The next two days would prove to be an amazing first recording experience in a high-end studio. Their song, “Phantom,” was the first full band recording since the album, Worry. 

Big Troubles‘ latest full length “Worry” has been available on Olde English Spelling Bee and Plancha (Japan, plus 8 bonus tracks).  ‘Phantom’ will be appeared on the flip-side of their first single for the forthcoming 2nd full-length produced by Mitch Easter!, released by Slumberland Records in fall 2011.

WATCH more :: Big Troubles – Georgia

Big Troubles – Georgia / Video: Alexander Iezzi

‘Georgia’ is taken from their latest album “Worry,” available on Olde English Spelling Bee Records (2010). 

New Folk Sounds of Julian Lynch, live on WFMU

Julian Lynch made his WFMU debut with a special acoustic set on Talk’s Cheap. He was joined by Ian Drennan of Big Troubles on bass, and Evan Brody of Family Portrait on electric guitar & synth. Julian brought along his new 12-string acoustic, which he swapped for an effect-laden clarinet (á la the aforementioned Karnatic saxophonist Gopalnath) on the last drone piece.  (via FMA)

‘Terra’ will be the title track of his forthcoming 3rd full-length via Underwater Peoples.

WATCH :: Julian Lynch – “Travelers” (Part 1) at Subterranean A on January 9, 2011.

No Demons Here – Every Second Darker

No Demons Here – Fade Into You (Mazzy Star cover)

Hailing from Glen Rock, New Jersey (home of Titus Andronicus), No Demon Here is known as the solo moniker of Luka Usmiani who also plays in the Fluffy Lumbers and the Big Troubles – Glen Rock collective.  NDH’s new full length tape “In Aluminum Headache” is getting ready for Halloween season release, and “Boy Eaten By Thing In Water” (2009) is reissued now on their Bandcamp page.

READ :: Interview with Luka Usmiani @Low Log

No Demons Here played “Station (Is a Gift)” at the Low Log Loft Show on September 18th, 2010.  Video shot by Maia of You Boggle My Mind.

No Demons Here – Sayonara

« Older entries