You are currently browsing the archive for the CARROT TOP RECORDS category.

via Carrot Top Records.

“Wild animals, tall tales, and dark stories from American history populate the lyrics of Wilderness. Appalachian holler, psychedelic rock, tin pan alley, and medieval music continue to inform The Handsome Family’s unique brand of Americana, while their affinity for old-tyme ballads and clawhammer banjo has never sounded so seamlessly connected to their use of samples, loops, and sonic effects. ” –Carrot Top Records

Husband and wife duo Brett and Rennie Sparks, The Handsome Family has unveiled a brand new song ‘Spider’ from their upcoming full length album “Wilderness,” due out on May 14th via Carrot Top Records. A companion book, also titled Wilderness, features original artwork and essays by Rennie Sparks. A deluxe box edition of “Wilderness” includes a 12”x12” full-color edition of the book, the LP with an 11”x17” color poster and six-postcard set featuring Rennie Sparks’ art. A black and white edition of the book will be will be published by The Handsome Family.

Megan Reilly – Sew The Threads Into Your Heart

“Like her past few albums, Megan’s enveloping music, a cross between emotive Irish fatalism and Southern Gothic macabre, comfortably camps in these darkest of corners.”

The Memphis native, now New Jersey-based singer/songwriter Megan Reilly is set to release her first album in six years since her 2006′s album “Let Your Ghost Go” (Carrot Top), “The Well” is due out on April 24th via Carrot Top Records. The band for “The Well” consists of James Mastro (The Bongos, Health and Happiness Show, Patti Smith, Ian Hunter) on guitar, Steve Goulding (Mekons, Waco Bros) on drums, and Tony Maimone (Pere Ubu) on bass, and the guests include John Wesley Harding (a duet on ‘Old Man and the Bird’ written by Harding himself) and Lenny Kaye who plays guitar on the first two tracks of the album. Also there’s a cover of Iris Dement’s song ‘After You’re Gone.’ Take a listen ‘Sew the Threads Into Your Heart’ off her upcoming album. Digital single is available now on the iTunes.

Track listing:
1. To Seal My Love / 2. The Lady of Leitrim / 3. Little Angel / 4. Sew the Threads Into Your Heart / 5. The Old Man & the Bird / 6. Throw It Out /
7. Under the Waves / 8. After You’re Gone / 9. The Rise + Fall of Sleep

Megan Reilly & John Wesley Harding – ‘Old Man and The Bird’

The Mayfair Workshop – “Music House of TOMORROW!”
Animation – Calabash Animation, Voice Talent – Dave O’Donnell, Sound Design – Mark Greenberg (of the Coctails), Music – The Mayfair Workshop, Composers – Ethan Stoller, Dean Jones, Matt Walker, Chris Fuller, Tamar Berk, Jeremy Jacobson

THE MAYFAIR WORKSHOP is a music house located in Chicago, IL. Their composers create music, soundtracks, and scores for TV, radio, movies, games, and wherever else you hear music.
Visit The Mayfair Workshop and their Facebook page!

The Coctails- Whoopsy Daisy (from “The Early Hi-Ball Years” CD) by carrottoprecords

Wee Scary Beasties “Creepy Lullabies”
(Wee Beatz/Double 7″/2008)

Listen to ‘Pumpkinhead’ by Wee Scary Beasties: Jon Langford and Sally Timms of the Mekons, Kelly Hogan (Neko Case, Pine Valley Cosmonauts), Devil in a Woodpile. (via Carrot Top Records)

Wee Scary Beasties-Pumpkinhead by carrottoprecords