You are currently browsing the archive for the CHICAGO category.


Check out the full audio of the session, HERE!


Stream a couple of demo tracks, ‘Nyarai’ (Thomas Mapfumo) and ‘Yekermo Sew’ (Mulatu Astatke) by Trio Mokili from Chicago, the trio comprises of Nathaniel Braddock (guitar), Makaya McCraven (drums) and Junius Paul (bass).

Visit The Coctails on their FB page!

The Coctails were a musical group from Chicago, who formed while its members were attending the Kansas City Art Institute. The band was active from 1988 to 1995. Band members were Archer Prewitt, Mark Greenberg, John Upchurch, and Barry Phipps.”

THE COCTAILS on MTV news 1994

A Chicago-based long-running duo The Autumn Defense, comprised by multi-instrumentalists and producers Pat Sansone (Wilco, Uncle Tupelo) and John Stirratt (Joseph Arthu, Josh Rouse), has set to release their new full-length “Fifth.”  Out on January 28th, 2014 via Yep Roc, pre-order, HERE. Stream the first single from the upcoming album, “None Of This Will Matter.”

Stream The Autumn Defense’s previous works on their bandcamp, HERE.

From Chicago, IL, Billy Blake & the Vagabonds is, words by William Blake interpretated into song by the Vagabonds (Kennedy Greenrod, Reid Coker, Saleem Dhamee, Jason Labrosse & Seth Vanek).

Released 14 February 2013
Produced by Jim Becker (Califone) and Jim Becker & The Vagabonds.

Billy Blake and the Vagabonds Bandcamp, HERE.

Featuring original members, Fred Cash, Sam Gooden, as well as Reggie Torrian, who has been singing with the group since the early ‘70s – this single is the sweet soulful beauty you’d expect from the Impressions. “Rhythm” the aptly titled A-Side, is a Curtis Mayfield penned tune that was a big hit for Major Lance in the Mid-Sixties.

The Impressions – Rhythm!
The Impressions “Rhythm!” 45/MP3 single produced by Binky Griptite (Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings) is out now via Daptone Records.

Stream two tracks prepping upcoming Split Single debut full-length album. The songs were written & produced by Jason Narducy in the summer of 2012. Performed by Jason Narducy, Britt Daniel (Spoon, Divine Fits) on bass and Jon Wurster (Superchunk, Mountain Goats, Bob Mould Band) on drums. Mixed by Matt Allison and Jason Narducy.

Split Single is a rock band fronted by Evanston, IL native Jason Narducy. Jason is also a member of the Bob Mould Band. He was formerly in Verbow, Robert Pollard’s solo bands, and Telekinesis.

Split Single Soundcloud, HERE.

« Older entries