You are currently browsing the archive for the COMPILATION category.

Here’s a 6-track EP of originals “December 24th,” Christmas compilation via Indiecater Records. Visit their bandcamp!

“The Holidays Don’t Have To Be So Rotten” is the 4th installment in Flannelgraph Records‘ annual benefit compilation, featuring 19 new, original holiday songs by Circuit Des Yeux, Candy Claws, Octagrape, Jonathan Rado (of Foxygen), and many more Flannelgraph superstars and friends of the label.

Released 26 November 2013
Mastered by Eric Day at Sleepwalk Recording
Album cover by Gavin Smith

also from Loren Connors via Flannelgraph Records.

“a fine and rare collection of magic and oddness, including folky bits, tape manipulation, songs about drunk driving (on the CD not the LP), death, love, beaches, Autumn and more besides”

Extraordinary music made by children at school. “CLASSROOM PROJECTS” compilation is available via Trunk Records. Order, HERE, and HERE.


Jessica Pratt‘s ‘Dreams’ is taken from “I Need You Bad” compilation album curated by Sonny Smith (Sonny & The Sunsets), it documents the influential San Francisco garage rock scene.  Pre-order for its limited edition “slime green” LP (out on 11/26 via Polyvinyl), HERE.  Cassette is available via Burger Records.

AON Sessions: Jessica Pratt
While on tour opening for Father John Misty, we got the chance to hang out with Jessica for a while backstage as she treated us to a couple of brand new unreleased songs.

artwork: Shannon Shaw (Shannon and the Clams)

“I Need You Bad” compilation curated by Sonny Smith (Sonny & The Sunsets), documents the influential San Francisco garage rock scene (and a little bit beyond) as it exists here and now.  It features 15 artists including Chris Cohen, Warm Soda, The Memories, Cool Ghouls, Sonny & The Sunsets, Jessica Pratt, Magic Trick, Little Wings, The Sandwitches and the others.  Due out on limited edition “slime green” vinyl / digital formats November 26th via Polyvinyl Records, cassette via Burger Records.

Limited Edition Screen-printed Poster
you can grab one HERE

Stream the tracks from Pet-Tich-Eye (previously posted), the Triangle Creative Collaboration Project. Available on their bandcamp.

Track 3 from the Pet-Tich-Eye record. This song is the collaborative effort of Joe Hall of Hammer No More the Fingers/Blanko Basnet, Matt McCaughan of Bon Iver and Phil Moore of Bowerbirds. Album Art by Steve Oliva.

Track 10 from the Pet-Tich-Eye record. This song is the collaborative effort of Brad Cook of Megafaun, Jeff Stickley of Hammer No More the Fingers and M.C. Taylor of Hiss Golden Messenger featuring Chris Boerner, Matt Douglas, Nathan Golub and James Wallace. Album Art by Shaun Sundholm. 

This limited pressing 7″ compilation “Songs In The Key Of Bob – Under The Influence Of Guided By Voices” is the first release from Hibernator Gigs, a record label, a video production outfit out of Charlottesville, VA. It features seven original songs written and recorded in the style of Guided By Voices, including The Invisible Hand, Moore Brothers. Artwork by Thomas Dean. Out on April 30th.

“The origin of the comp began in a dusty library warehouse sometime in 2011. Adam Brock (The Invisible Hand), who happens to be a member of several of the bands featured on the comp, was employed in said warehouse sorting books. To stave off boredom he began to imagine the elaborate titles of the theses and journals he came across as though they were the titles of some lost classics by his low fi heroes, Guided By Voices. He made a list of his favorite titles, such gems as Cream of the Jesters and Viet Cong Motivation, and sent the list out to some of his favorite bands. The rules were simple: find a title that inspires you and write a GBV inspired song, no longer than two minutes, then record it using a four or eight track cassette recorder, in order to truly capture the GBV aesthetic.” –Hibernator Gigs Records

« Older entries § Newer entries »