You are currently browsing the archive for the DAMIEN JURADO category.

Bill Fay is one of English music’s best kept secrets. At the dawn of the 1970s, he was a one-man song factory, with a piano that spilled liquid gold and a voice every bit the equal of Ray Davies, John Lennon, early Bowie, or Procol Harum’s Gary Brooker. He made two solo albums but his contract wasn’t renewed, which left his LPs and his reputation to become cult items. But he never stopped writing, the music kept on coming. Now, in his late sixties, he has produced Life Is People, a brand new studio album that shows his profoundly humanist vision is as strong as it ever was.”

“He was motivated by American producer Joshua Henry. Spooling through Bill’s home demos, Joshua discovered an incredible trove of material. Matt Deighton (Oasis, Paul Weller, Mother Earth) assembled a cast of backup musicians to bring out the songs’ full potential. These include Deighton on guitar, Tim Weller (who’s played drums for everyone from Will Young to Noel Gallagher and Goldfrapp), and keyboardist Mikey Rowe (High Flying Birds, Stevie Nicks, etc). In addition, Bill is reunited on several tracks with Ray Russell and drummer Alan Rushton, who played on Time Of The Last Persecution.”Dead Oceans

Life is People,” Bill Fay’s first properly crafted studio album since 1971, is due out on August 21st via Dead Oceans.

Bill Fay – Be At Peace With Yourself (Official Video),
off the album “Life Is People.”

Director: Dan Huiting / Camera: Dylan Wiehahn, Tabb Firchau, Dan Huiting, and Chris Hadland. / Editor/colorist: Kevin Russell

Damien Jurado and Richard Swift – Be Not So Fearful (Bill Fay cover),
taken from a collection of covers EP “Other People’s Songs Vol. 1” by Richard Swift & Damien Jurado, the song was originally appeared on the 1970′s self-titled album on Deram Nova / Decca Nova (reissued from Esoteric Recordings).

Cuff the Duke – I Hear You Calling (Bill Fay cover) (via),
taken from a collection of covers EP entitled “In Our Time” (Paper Bag Records, 2012) by Cuff The Duke, the song was originally appeared on the 1971′s second album “Time Of The Last Persecution” from Deram (reissued from Esoteric Recordings).

New guitar player…. (via)

Damien Jurado – Museum of Flight

Listen to the another new track from Damien Jurado‘s 10th full-length “Maraqopa,” produced by Richard Swift, mastered by TW Walsh.
Due out on February 21st via Secretly Canadian.
Pre-order with bonuses (3 different special 7″s featuring non-album tracks) is available, HERE.

Stream the album in its entirety on A.V. Club now.

Damien Jurado – Christmas Time Is Here

Spend a yultide by the fireside with Damien Jurado, who’s pumped out a piano- and horn-laden version of “Christmas Time Is Here.” The Vince Guaraldi original — popularized via “A Charlie Brown Christmas” — has a melancholy slowness that Jurado’s falsetto capitalizes upon, warms up with the Aki Kurose Middle School Academy Glee Club and prepares your brain waves for a long winter’s nap. Jurado’s got some help too from engineer Steven Aguilar and from producer/instrumentalist Kyle Zantos, plus Joe Ruppert, Cole Mauro and Dave Hall. — HitFix com.

A new Damien Jurado album “Maraqopa” is going to be released on February 21st, 2012 via Secretly Canadian.

Okkervil River – It Is So Nice to Get Stoned (Ted Lucas cover)

As a follow-up to their 2007′s “Golden Opportunities,” Okkervil River has released a brand new set of covers “Golden Opportunities 2″ which was recorded live and mixed live to 2 track by Danny Reisch at Premium Recording, Austin, TX, November 3rd.
Available now for free download through the Okkervil River web site.

Track listing:
1. It Is So Nice to Get Stoned (Ted Lucas)
originally appeared on Ted Lucas’ self-titled solo album (known as “The OM album”) recorded in Detroit, 1974, LP reissued on Yoga Records.
2. U.F.O. (Jim Sullivan)
originally appeared on Jim Sullivan’s debut album “U.F.O” (Monnie 1969) featuring the legendary Wrecking Crew (Beach Boys, Phil Spector). Reissued from Light in the Attic Records.
3. One Soul Less on Your Fiery List (The Triffids)
originally appeared on The Triffids’ 1986 album “In The Pines,” reissued from Domino Records.
4. Plan D (Bill Fay)
originally appeared on Bill Fay’s second album “Time of the Last Persecution,” released in 1971 from Deram Records, reissued from Esoteric Recordings.
5. Dry Bones (traditional spiritual song)

Ted Lucas – It Is So Nice to Get Stoned

Damien Jurado & Richard Swift – Be Not So Fearful (Bill Fay cover)

from “OTHER PEOPLE’S SONGS – Volume One – Performed by Damien Jurado & Richard Swift” (2010), a Free collection of covers recorded 2010. Originally written & performed by Bill Fay on his self-titled first album (Nova, 1967), reissued from Esoteric Recordings. Also…. Wilco and Loose Fur (Jeff Tweedy and Glen Kotche with O’Rourke) has covered ‘Be Not So Fearful,’ and Jim O’Rourke covered ‘Pictures of Adolf Again,’ the song from “Time of the Last Persecution”, for 2007′s Koji Wakamatsu’s film “United Red Army” OST.

Damien Jurado – Nothing is the News

A new Damien Jurado album “Maraqopa” is going to be released on February 21st, 2012 via Secretly Canadian, ‘Nothing is the News’ is the first track on the album.

Damien Jurado at National Freedom
Damien Jurado in the studio with Richard Swift.
A little teaser trailer for the upcoming Damian Jurado.
More info, coming soon … Also Damien Jurado has produced an Americana songwriter, James Apollo‘s new record, titled “Little War, Little Less” recorded at Bear Creek Studio in Seattle. Due out in February 2012.

夏場はFruit Batsと一緒にツアー、今秋はThe Shinsのツアーをサポート。Cultsの「Bumper」が「The Bully」(from the “Ground Trouble Jaw” EP, 2009) のパクリか?騒動は無事にソングライティング・クレジットにスウィフトの名が記載されたことで決着した模様。彼のオレゴン、コテージ・グローヴにあるスタジオ、ナショナル・フリーダムはあたかも森のブリルビルディングと化し、Gardens & Villaのデビュー・アルバム、Laetitia Sadier、Josh Ottumのアルバムが録音され、朋友Damian Juradoや、再度The Mynabirds、ヴェティヴァーの二人のプロジェクト、Pure Bathing Cultureなども現在進行中との由。

From Old Lights‘ latest EP “Like Strangers,” released 19 July 2011, recorded at National Freedom, Cottage Grove, Oregon with Richard Swift. Digital download, HERE.

Old Lights is the mastermind of chief songwriter/multi-instrumentalist David Beeman. He is a transplant from southern California to St. Louis, Missouri. Known to date primarily as a drummer with David Vandervelde and a sound engineer for bands such as Cold War Kids, Delta Spirit and Elvis Perkins.


Lady Luck (Richard Swift cover)
Pickwick at the Crocodile with Damien Jurado, 2011
City Arts Festival, 10.21.2011, Seattle, WA

Richard Swift – Lady Luck
taken from “The Atlantic Ocean” album (Secretly Canadian, 2009)

Hailing from the Pacific Northwest, Space Needle city, very vintage R&B/Pop-influenced group, Pickwick consists of six guys Galen Disston, Michael Parker, Garrett Parker, Matt Emmett, Cassady Lillstrom, Kory Kruckenberg.

WATCH more :: Pickwick – Blackout (Suzzallo Reading Room), Pickwick sings an a capella rendition of ‘Blackout’ to the Suzzallo Reading Room at the University of Washington.

RIYL: Squeeze/Paul Carrack, Nick Waterhouse, Richard Swift ….

« Older entries