You are currently browsing the archive for the DR. DOG category.

Dr. Dog – The Truth (Flying Dog Sessions)

New album “B-Room,” is available, HERE.
WATCH more :: on Out Of Town Films.

We recorded 4 songs this summer at our friend Brian McTear’s studio in Philadelphia and we’re real happy with how they came out. We of course just released an album a few months back and we’re not feeling particularly anxious to ask you for more money, so we’re just gonna give some songs for FREE (at Facebook page).

Dr. Dog – Take Me Into Town

‘Take Me Into Town’ is one of Dr. Dog‘s new songs, their latest full length “Shame, Shame” has been available on Anti.  And Juston Stens, the former drummer of Dr. Dog has a debut EP, “Juston Stens & The Get Real Gang” (Park The Van) is available digitally now.

Dr. Dog’s new video for “Shadow People” from their latest album “Shame, Shame.”

Juston Stens & The Get Real Gang – Falling
Brass Bed – Begs Me Not To Beg

After 6 years and 5 albums with Dr. Dog, Juston Stens, self taught multi-instrumentalist, put down the drumsticks and returned to guitar to write and finish old songs of love, life, loss, heartache, heart break, and death.

In January of 2010 Juston left Philadelphia for Tucson, AZ to record with his dear friends The Golden Boots. From there he drove down to Black Mountain, NC to record with Seth Kauffman of Floating Action. This collection of songs is to be released in a series of 7″ records later this year, and later as a digital EP on Park The Van Records. The full length album will then be recorded with Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys, this full band venture will include newer songs co-written with newest member Ms. Carrie Battle (Harlan Twins).

Juston Stens & The Get Real Gang and Brass Bed (a four piece from Lafayette, LA) embark on a mini tour in late June through early July.  Brass Bed is the latest signing to Park The Van Records, their debut full length “Melt White” will be out in the Fall of 2010.

“Twistable, Turnable Man: A Musical Tribute to the songs of Shel Silverstein”

Shel Silverstein, as a writer, poet, and songwriter has influenced generations upon generations of kids (and kids at heart) with his brilliant, witty, and touching turns of phrase. It is Silverstein’s oft-overlooked catalog of classic songs that is the focus of this new all-star tribute. As a songwriter, Silverstein penned indelible songs for artists such as Johnny Cash, Dr. Hook, Loretta Lynn, Bobby Bare, and countless others. On this collection, lovingly produced by Bobby Bare Sr. and Bobby Bare Jr., two distinct generations of artists inspired by Silverstein have lined up to pay tribute. From Kris Kristofferson, Ray Price, and John Prine to Andrew Bird, Billy Bob Thornton’s band the Boxmasters, Black Francis, My Morning Jacket, Dr. Dog and more, “Twistable, Turnable Man: A Musical Tribute to the Songs of Shel Silverstein” is an eclectic, endearing valentine to this giant of American song.
Release date: June 8th on Sugar Hill Records.

01. Lullabys, Legends and Lies: My Morning Jacket
02. The Twistable, Turnable Man Returns: Andrew Bird
03. This Guitar Is For Sale: John Prine
04. The Unicorn: Dr. Dog
05. The Winner: Kris Kristofferson
06. Queen Of The Silver Dollar: Sarah Jarosz w/ Black Prairie
07. Daddy What If: Bobby Bare, Jr. w. Isabella Bare
08. The Cover Of The Rolling Stone: Black Francis w/ Joey Santiago
09. Sylvia’s Mother: The Boxmasters
10. Me And Jimmy Rodgers: Ray Price
11. A Boy Named Sue: Todd Snider
12. The Ballad Of Lucy Jordan: Lucinda Williams
13. The Living Legend: Bobby Bare, Sr.
14. The Giving Tree: Nanci Griffith
15. 26 Second Song: My Morning Jacket

Shel Silverstein on “The Johnny Cash Show” (1970)

The Actual ’73 Giving Tree Movie Spoken By Shel Silverstein

The Man Suits – Spirit Oh Spirit

Tuesday, April 20, 2010 – Vol. 1, Number 4 in the Shaking Through 2010 Series features a one time pick-up band of familiar faces called The Man Suits (mems. of MeWithoutYou, BC Camplight, Dr. Dog, Elvis Perkins in Dearland, and featuring Charlie Hall and the Silver Ages). The project is curated and produced by Shaking Through Guest Curator, Scott McMicken (of the band Dr. Dog), who assembled the group to perform one of his songs, “Spirit, Oh Spirit”. Recorded by Jonathan Low and Amy Morrissey, and mixed by Low and McMicken at Miner Street Recordings. Video Produced by Brian McTear and Andy Williams. Directed by Andrew David Watson, and Edited by Bryan Baker. Additional photo and video by Peter English.

For more info, Download ‘Spirit Oh Spirit’ MP3 @Shaking Through.com

Shaking Through: Recording “Spirit, Oh Spirit”

shot and edited by Peter English, with additional footage by Andrew David Watson

Coming April, May and June, 2010: three Shaking Through projects curated by Scott McMicken of the band Dr. Dog. The first project, The Man Suits (mems. of MeWithoutYou, BC Camplight, Dr. Dog, Elvis Perkins in Dearland, and featuring Charlie Hall and the Silver Ages) is a pick-up band of familiar faces performing Scott’s song “Spirit Oh Spirit“. Coming the third Tuesday of May and June, Floating Action and a new project by Mike Visser.  (via Weathervane Music)

WATCH :: Previous Shaking Through videos
Strapping Fieldhands, curated and produced by Daniel Smith of Danielson

Weathervane Music, the non-profit music organization Brian McTear founded in early 2009, partnered with WXPN, the non-commercial radio station from the University of Pennsylvania. Weathervane’s mission is to support and advance the work of great independent musicians.  Brian is a musician, record producer and studio owner from West Chester who currently works and lives in Philadelphia. He is the Founder and Executive Director of Weathervane Music, and the owner of Miner Street Recordings in Fishtown.  “Shaking Through” (named after an early REM song) is the series of music and video project, partnering with XPN.

Shaking Through #1: Sharon Van Etten (Jan. 2010)
Shaking Through #2: Sonoi (Chicago) and the Strapping Fieldhands (Philadelphia), curated by Daniel Smith (Feb./Mar. 2010)

New Album “Shame, Shame”
April 6th release of their Anti- Records debut

Dr. Dog – Shadow People
(exclusively premiere the song via Stereogum)