You are currently browsing the archive for the F.W. MURNAU category.

So Percussion-Matmos – Treasure

‘Treasure’ is taken from the forthcoming collaboration album “Treause State” by Brooklyn’s So Percussion and the Baltimore’s Matmos, available on July 13th (June 8th, digital release) via Cantaloupe.

Starting as a gentle exercise in Martin Denny-esque Polynesian fantasy, Treasure erupts midway into a delirium of squealing animal noises, fuzzed out sitar and electric guitar from Mark Lightcap (of Acetone); after the squall, the song regains composure and returns gently to earth on a lush bed of grand piano and accordion from Zeena Parkins. 


F.W. Murnau’s “TABU: A Story of the South Seas”
The final version of the 2nd scene from F.W. Murnau‘s classic silent film “TABU” (1931) re-scored by Louis Gentile and premiered at the Herbstlichen Musiktage Bad Urach festival in Germany on October 5 2007.

F.W. Murnau’s “Faust”/music by Phillip Johnston: 12 flying

This is an excerpt from an original score for F.W. Murnau’s 1927 silent film “Faust.” The music was composed by Phillip Johnston, lyrics by Hilary Bell.  It was recorded live at the Massachusetts Museum of Contemporary Art on Feb 6th, 2003. The musicians are: Phillip Johnston: saxophone, piano, ukulele; Kate Sullivan, voice; Guy Klucevsek: accordion; Tomas Ulrich, cello.  New York expatriate Phillip Johnston Phillip Johnston is known as a founding member of the Microscopic Septet and his own Phillip Johnston’s Big Trouble and Phillip Johnston’s Transparent Quartet and now Sydney-based quartet  Phillip Johnston & the Coolerators.

Also the other film music projects of Phillip Johnston are including “The Georges Méliès Project “(1997 / Directed by Georges Méliès, 1912), “Page of Madness” (1998 / Directed by Teinosuke Kinugasa, 1926), “Cops” (2001 / Written & Directed by Buster Keaton & Edward F. Kline, starring Buster Keaton, 1922), “Noise” (Directed by Henry Bean, 2007) and more.