You are currently browsing the archive for the FATHER/DAUGHTER RECORDS category.

Artwork by Jenny Brown

Leapling is a Brooklyn, NY-based is pop/experimental/rock quartet comprising Dan Arnes, Yoni David, R.J Gordon, Joey Postiglione, “Losing Face” EP is their first official debut via Father/Daughter Records.

Leapling – If You’re Patient
taken from their latest 5-song EP “Losing Face” (out now via Father/ Daughter Records)

Leapling began as home recordings, written by singer/guitarist Dan Arnes over the course of several months. From there, Dan and drummer, Yoni David, edited the tracks down to what would ultimately become Losing Face and also assembled a live band, which includes bassist R.J. Gordon (who also mastered the EP) and Joey Postiglione on lead guitar. Aside from the addition of some drums and effects on “June,” the EP is largely unchanged from those solo home recordings.

The project is fairly new to the scene but the players are not — they are the hearts and minds behind the Bushwick DIY venue/art space Big Snow Buffalo Lodge and the artist collective known as American Buffalo Recordings. You’d be hard pressed to find a group of people more committed to the local music community than these four dudes. Since their inception in early 2012, Leapling has performed live with friends and comrades Twin Sister, Ava Luna, Each Other and Total Slacker.

Seventeen by Leapling
released 11 September 2012 
Mixed & Mastered – Dan Arnes & Yoni David at Big Snow Buffalo Lodge
American Buffalo Recordings 0012

Pure Bathing Culture – Ivory Coast

“Daniel Hindman and Sarah Versprille began writing songs together in 2009 while living in Brooklyn, NY. In 2011, between tours with Sub Pop’s Vetiver (who Versprille and Hindman play keyboards and guitar in respectively,) the duo packed up their lives, moved to Portland, OR and realized that it was time to put a name to the new project — Pure Bathing Culture was born.” –Father/Daughter Records.

‘Ivory Coast’ is taken from Pure Bathing Culture‘s forthcoming their self-titled EP on May 22nd via Father/Daughter Records. It was recorded by Richard Swift at his National Freedom studio in Cottage Grove, OR. Pre-order the vinyl, HERE. Listen more tracks on their bandcamp.

Beardy Session: Pure Bathing Culture – Ivory Coast

Lizard Kisses – Slow Bones

Mutual Benefit – No Names feat Lizard Kisses & Steffaloo

‘Slow Bones’ is taken from Brooklyn’s duo (cory siegler & marc merza), Lizard Kisses‘ new single from French digital singles label, Beko.  There is a physical release on CD-Record format- a record you can play on your CD player and record player!  Mutual Benefit’s new song ‘No Names’ featuring Lizard Kisses and Steffaloo, is taken from the upcoming Holy Spirits / Mutual Benefit split 12” due out on May 24th via San Francisco’s Father/Daughter Records.

Official video for Family Trees‘ ‘No One Will Ever Know,’ B side of ‘Dream Talkin’ 7″ available now on father/daughter records.  Brooklyn based Family Trees consists of Ryan Trott, Amanda Finn and Joe Pruitt (Son of Rams).

Son Of Rams’ entire self-titled album is available, here.

Son of Rams – Flying Tigers
Son of Rams – No Concept No Logic

Family Trees – Dream Talkin
Son of Rams – In Kind

Brooklyn’s three-some Family Trees‘ new 7″ single ‘Dream Talkin’ will be out on June 29th via Father/Daughter Records as their very first record.  Family Trees are: Ryan Trott, Amanda Finn, Joe Pruitt (Son of Rams).

DOWNLOAD :: Son of Rams’ whole record here!

Maureen ‘Moe’ Tucker – Will you love me tomorrow?
(via Family Trees’ Blog)