You are currently browsing the archive for the JAGJAGUWAR category.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – So Good At Being In Trouble (Official Audio)

‘So Good At Being In Trouble’ is taken from UMO’s upcoming full-length “II”, due out on February 5th via Jagjaguwar.
Streaming in full on NPR, HERE.

“Emerging from rampant hedonism and isolation is II, the new album from Unknown Mortal Orchestra. The musical vision of Portlander-via-New Zealand Ruban Nielson started as an anonymous home-recording project that fused psychedelia, soul, choppy percussion and funk. UMO came to life in basements and bedrooms after Nielson moved from his native New Zealand to Portland, Oregon with his family. Following the recruitment of bassist Jacob Portrait, new drummer Greg Rogove and a deal with Jagjaguwar, UMO toured the US with Grizzly Bear and Liars.” –Jagjaguwar

Foxygen – Make It Known

Jagjaguwar’s newest signee, Foxygen is the bi-coastal songwriting duo comprised of  Sam France (vocals, Olympia, Wash., 22 years old) and Jonathan Rado (guitar/keyboards, NYC, 22). Foxygen’s Jagjaguwar debut release, “Take The Kids Off Broadway” EP, is set to release on July 24th. Pre-order EP, HERE. Stream the EP in its entirety through their bandcamp.The EP was recorded in Astoria, Queens, NY on Tape and Computer, and mixed by Richard Swift (at National Freedom) and Sam & Rado (at Foxy HQ).

“They are the raw, de-Wes Andersonization of The Rolling Stones, Kinks, Velvets, Bowie, etc. that a whole mess of young people desperately need. They create a sometimes-impressionistic, sometimes-hyper-real portrait of sounds from specific places and times. Yet, it never comes across as anything but absolutely modern music. They bring the manic, freewheeling qualities of an artist like Ariel Pink to those aforementioned influences to make for one of the most refreshing listens of the year.” –Jagjaguwar

Women – Eyesore

‘Eyesore’ is taken from Canadian four-piece band Women‘s upcoming second full length “Public Strain” which is due out on August 23rd in the UK and EU, August 24th worldwide digitally, and September 28th via Jagjaguwar (US) / Flemish Eye (Canada).  It was recorded in the Fall and Winter of 2009/2010 by Chad VanGaalen again at Yoko Eno Studios in Calgary, Alberta.

Sharon Van Etten – Love More
Sharon Van Etten – Save Yourself (demo)

Brooklyn’s singer-songwriter Sharon Van Etten has announced the release of her second full-length “Epic,” is due out October 5th via Ba Da Bing Records.  It was recorded at Philly’s Miner Street Studios and features Meg Baird (Espers), Cat Martino and Jessica Larrabee (She Keeps Bees). 

Sharon Van Etten – I Couldn’t Save You
Califone – Ro (feat. Orso)
Sam Amidon – Cabin in the Corner

Also, ‘ I Couldn’t Save you’ is an original song for Jagjaguwar’s first feature film release “The Builder” DVD which is due out on July 27th via Jagjaguwar. And Califone and Sam Amidon’s tracks above are taken from a collection of songs “Music For The Builder,” on the Jagjaguwar’s web site, it features new, unreleased and demoed songs for the film.  Amidon’s ‘Cabin in the Corner,’ a rendition of an Irish traditional that features the brother of The Builder’s Colm O’Leary, Eamon, on bozouki and backing vocals and Califone‘s song features Orso.  Califone’s film “All My Friends Are Funeral Singers,” official selection of SXSW and SUNDANCE 2010 is now available on DVD.

The Builder is the first full-length feature directed by R. Alverson, a carpenter and musician from Richmond, VA. It features music by Bon Iver, Gregor Samsa, Pan American, Robert Donne and Spokane (Alverson and co-producer Courtney Bowles’ band, who have released 5 records on Jagjaguwar since 1999). Alverson’s second feature, New Jerusalem, starring Will Oldham (Bonnie “Prince” Billy) and The Builder’s Colm O’Leary, was completed in late winter of 2010.

Trailer for The Builder by R. Alverson

S. Carey – In The Dirt

‘In The Dirt’ is taken from S. Carey‘s solo debut full length “All We Grow,” out on August 24th via Jagjaguwar.  Sean Carey has been known as one of the brilliant percussionists for Bon Iver.  Engineered by Jaime Hansen and Brian Joseph, intermittently at home and at April Base (Justin Vernon’s studio outside of Eau Claire).

All We Grow is a convergence of Carey’s Waltz For Debby-era Bill Evans inflected jazz tendencies, and traditional rock band experience, taking leads from Mark Hollis’ Talk Talk.

from GAYNGS debut full length “Relayted” out on Jagjaguwar 5/11/2010
Written by Kevin Godley and Lol Creme (Published by EMI Music Publishing LTD)

GAYNGS covers 80′s pop classic music video, Godley & Creme‘s “Cry.”

Original “Cry” video (1985) by Godley & Creme

The Tripwire Presents: Small Black – “Despicable Dogs”

Small Black – Despicable Dogs

Brooklyn, NY-based four piece “CASIOblaze” band, Small Black consists of Ryan Heyner, Josh Kolenik, Juan Pieczanski, Jeff Curtin.  Re-mastered release of their debut EP with two extra songs added, “Kings Of Animals” and “Baby Bird Pt. 2.” is out now on Jagjaguwar. Their debut full length album, tentatively scheduled for release later this year on Jagjaguwar.

« Older entries