You are currently browsing the archive for the JOHN DWYER category.

‘Set the Woods on Fire”’ is taken from the forthcoming Earth Girl Helen Brown‘s “MERCURY” EP, due out on April 14th via Empty Cellar Records.

Earth Girl Helen Brown (Heidi Alexander of The Sandwitches) release, MERCURY, featuring The Boogeyman (Emmett Kelly), Sunshine Lady (Sonny Smith), Loro Valiente (Tahlia Harbor), Ziggy Spec (Ty Segall), José Deseo (John Dwyer), L.F.F. (Tim Cohen), Jim Win (James Finch Jr.), the Former Future (Sean Smith), and Jasmine Ivanov (Jamin Barton).

MERCURY is the first in a seasonal series tributing our fellow solar satellites Mercury, Mars, Saturn, and Venus, and benefiting organizations committed to popular planetary intelligence, energy management, communicative freedom and love.

Pre-order, HERE!

Track Listing:
01 Fox Trott
02 Earth Elevator
03 Space Travel Is In My Blood
04 Set the Woods on Fire
05 The Other Man
06 Starlight 

WATCH :: Earth Girl Helen Brown at the SF Eagle ( 2/23/2017 pt II)  

A new collaborative 10″ EP by Carletta Sue Kay and Pruno Truman (i.e. Heidi Alexander of The Sandwitches) is out NOW on Weird World Records. This track was recorded with John Dwyer, Kelley Stoltz, Jamin Barton, and Doug Hilsinger. Also, Two additional releases under the name of PRUNO TRUMAN will be out next week on Southpaw Records and Empty Cellar Records. Both are limited tape EPs.

The Fresh & Onlys – All Tomorrow’s Parties

The Mallard – There She Goes Again

Ty Segall – Femme Fatale

(All tracks via The Bay Bridged)

Castle Face Records will release a tribute album to “The Velvet Underground & Nico,” celebrating the 45th anniversary reissue of that classic VU record, on November 6th. Limited to 1000 copies EVER. On Banana Yellow vinyl, with original art by David Shrigley. Only available through John Dwyer’s Castle face Records site (already sold out now) and from the bands at shows, no distro.

01. Kelley Stoltz: “Sunday Morning”
02. Warm Soda: “I’m Waiting For The Man”
03. Ty Segall: “Femme Fatale”
04. Blasted Canyons feat. Jeremy Cox (of Royal Baths): “Venus In Furs”
05. White Fence: “Run Run Run”
06. The Fresh & Onlys: “All Tomorrow’s Parties”
07. Burnt Ones: “Heroin”
08. The Mallard: “There She Goes Again”
09. Here Comes The Here Comes: “I’ll Be Your Mirror”
10. K. Dylan + The Black Angel’s Death Songsmen: “The Black Angel’s Death Song”
11. Thee Oh Sees: “European Son”

Thee Oh Sees – Lupine Dominus

An incredible Sci Fi-Psychedelic-Krautrock groove, ‘Lupine Dominus’ is a latest track from the forthcoming new “Putrifiers II,” 14th LP by the San Francisco’s Psyche-Art-Garage outfit Thee Oh Sees. The LP will be released on September 11th via In The Red. Thee Oh Sees are John Dwyer, Brigid Dawson, Petey Dammit, Mike Shoun, and the featuring guests on “Putrifiers II” are Mikal Cronin (sax), Heidi Maureen Alexander (trumpet, vocals) and K Dylan Edrich (viola).

so nice (rough cut) by Thee Oh Sees

Sonny Smith’s 100 records project
Earth Girl Helen Brown – Story Of An Earth Girl

Story of An Earth Girl …..
Check out this new composition by one of our favorite singers, Earth Girl Helen Brown. Helen tells us that the amazing video was put together by the talented Mr. Ben Montero and Ms. Sophie McInerny.

Earth Girl Helen Brown was created by Sonny Smith (of Sonny & the Sunsets) with help from his fellow artists including Heidi Alexander and Grace Cooper (of The Sandwitches), John Dwyer (of the Oh Sees), Kelley Stoltz, and others. And the track will be featured on the forthcoming album.

Sword + Sandals – Untitled Track 1

Sword + Sandals = John Dwyer (traps.flute.bass string), Randy Lee Sutherland (alto.bass clarinet.traps), Shaun O’Dell (tenor.alto.keys)

An experimental free jazz trio from San Francisco, SWORD + SANDALS was founded by John Dwyer (Thee Oh Sees, Coachwhips etc.) with Randy Lee Sutherland (Vholtz, Freakout Tapes, Murder Murder), later they brought on broad John Dawyer’s old friend Shaun O’Dell (best known for his visual art work) to fill in the the rest of the S+S sound.  Their debut studio recording “Good & Plenty” is available now on Empty Cellar.  The album was recorded by the trio with Anthony Petrovic sitting in for one track on synth.  Listen their live recordings, here.

Castle Records / etching by WILLIAM KHEIN