You are currently browsing the archive for the JUSTIN VERNON category.

“The MusicNOW: 10 Years compilation is set for digital release just prior to the 10th edition of this eclectic music festival of the same name founded in 2006 by Bryce Dessner of The National. MusicNOW Festival set out with a mission to present the best in contemporary music, offer artists an opportunity to take risks, commission new work and attempt innovative collaborations.” BRASSLAND

Sounds of the South (featuring Justin Vernon & Sharon Van Etten): “Trials, Troubles, Tribulations”

ブライス・デスナー(The National)によって2006年に立ち上げられ10年に亘り続けられてきたミュージック・フェス『MusicNOW』のコンピレーション(デジタル・リリースのみの模様)です。Dirty Projectors, Sufjan Stevens, Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, Bonnie “Prince” Billy, Grizzly Bear, My Brightest Diamondなどなど、未発表のパフォーマンス音源を収録。10周年を祝う今年は3月に5日間に亘って開催され、The National, Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra, Caroline Shaw, Sufjan Stevens, Nico Muhly, Will Butler, So Percussion, Mina Tindle, Perfume Genius、他が参加するとの由。

MusicNOW: 10 Years  
01: Sounds of the South (featuring Justin Vernon & Sharon Van Etten): “Trials, Troubles, Tribulations”
02: Robin Pecknold (of Fleet Foxes): “Silver Dagger”
03: Sufjan Stevens: “The Owl And The Tanager”
04: eighth blackbird: “Omie Wise”
05: My Brightest Diamond: “I Have Never Loved Someone”
06: Dirty Projectors: “Emblem of the World”
07: Tinariwen: “Imidiwan Ma Tenam”
08: Tim Hecker: “Chimeras (Live) 2011″
09: Colin Stetson: “Nobu Take”
10: Owen Pallett: “E Is For Estranged”
11: Erik Friedlander: “Airstream Envy”
12: Bonnie “Prince” Billy: “Love Comes To Me”
13: Richard Reed Parry: “Duet for Heart and Breath”
14: Grizzly Bear: “While You Wait For The Others”
15: The Books with Clogs: “Classy Penguin”
16: Andrew Bird: “Section 8 City”
17: Justin Vernon (of Bon Iver): “Love More”

Sounds of the South @ MusicNOW, May 13th 2011
organized by Megafaun, 
featuring Vernon, Sharon Van Etten, Megafaun, Matthew E. White and Fight the Big Bull
“Trials, Troubles, Tribulations” 
written by Estil C. Ball, originally entitled ‘Tribulations‘ and was recorded in 1959.

‘Flowers of Love’ is taken from the debut track off of Pieta Brown‘s latest album “Paradise Outlaw,” out now via Red House Records.

“Paradise Outlaw was recorded in four days at Bon Iver mastermind Justin Vernon’s April Base studio in Wisconsin with a supporting cast that includes Vernon, Amos Lee, Brown’s troubadour father, Greg Brown and various members of an experimental group of players she calls the Sawdust Collective. Paradise Outlaw boasts some of Pieta’s most emotionally resonant compositions, and some of her most expressive performances, to date.”
–Red House Records

a trailer for the upcoming new album “Megafaun”

Following-up to the last year’s mini-album “Heretofore,” Durham, NC-based Megafaun‘s self-titled third full-length album is due out on September 20th via Hometapes. It was recorded late last year at their former bandmate (DeYarmond Edison) Justin Vernon’s April Base Studios in Fall Creek, WI, and self-produced with the help of BJ Burton. ‘These Words’ is taken from the new album.

Megafaun – These Words

Megafaun – Kaufman’s Ballad
taken from the second album “Gather, Form & Fly” (Hometapes/2009)


DeYarmond Edison – Where We Belong from an unreleased EP (2006).
DeYarmond Edison (2002–2006) was founded by Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon and Megafaun’s Brad Cook, Phil Cook, Joe Westerlund. They re-united for a three-song set at The Fader Fort at SXSW. 2011.

ASTW Presents | Sounds of the South @ MusicNOW ft. Megafaun, Fight The Big Bull, Justin Vernon & Sharon Van Etten, May 13th 2011
Justin Vernon and Sharon Van Etten duet in a performance of ‘Trials, Troubles, Tribulations’ from a special collaboration between Megafaun, Fight The Big Bull, Bon Iver and Sharon Van Etten called Sounds Of The South, an evening of re-imaginings of the songs recorded by ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax in his early travels.

ALL TINY CREATURES / Harbors (Contrarede)
Release Date 2011.6.22 / Price 1,980 yen (with tax)
解説:Sara Padgett Heathcott (Hometapes Records)

All Tiny Creatures – An Iris

From Madison, Wisconsin, All Tiny Creatures is a new project by Thomas Wincek of Collection of Colonies of Bees and Volcano Choir, with Ben Derickson, Andrew Fitzpatrick, Matthew Skemp. The first full-legth “Harbors” is available on Hometapes and Contrarede (Japan / out on June 22nd).  Joining All Tiny Creatures vocalists Thomas Wincek and Andrew Fitzpatrick are Volcano Choir bandmate Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Roberto Carlos Lange (Helado Negro & Epstein), Phil Cook, Brad Cook, and Joe Westerlund (Megafaun), Ryan Olcott (12 Rods, Mystery Palace), Matthew Byars (The Caribbean), and Jennifer Fitzpatrick (a scientist and Andrew’s wife).
ボン・イヴェールの最新作 (『BON IVER』 via HOSTESS) と同日リリース!

All Tiny Creatures – An Iris (featuring Justin Vernon)
Directed by Michinori Saigo (contrarede)

contrarede presents

7/6 (wed)   Shibuya, WWW (03-5458-7676)
7/8 (fri)      Osaka FANDANGO (06-6308-1621)
7/9 (sat)     Nagoya, APOLLO THEATER (052-261-5308)
7/10 (sun)  Hamamatsu G-SIDE (053-541-5067)
7/11 (mon) Matsumoto ALECX (0263-38-0050)
further information:
contrarede phone: 03-5773-5061 / epistula@contrarede.com

VOLCANO CHOIR @O-West, Shibuya, Tokyo 08 Nov 2010

Thanx! Contrarede. ありがとう。

contrarede presents

11/8 (mon) Shibuya O-WEST
11/10(wed) Nagoya HUCKFINN
11/11(thu) Osaka, sunsui

Total info : contrarede 03-5773-5061

Bon Iver – Blood Bank (from “BLOOD BANK” EP)
Collections of Colonies of Bees – Flocks III (from “Birds”)
Volcano Choir – Island, IS (from “UNMAP”)

All Tiny Creatures – An Iris (Feat. Justin Vernon)

All Tiny Creatures is the project of Collections of Colonies of Bees/ Volcano Choir multi-instrumentalist Thomas Wincek, the debut full length “Harbors” featuring Justin Vernon (Bon Iver), Megafaun and Ryan Olcott (12 Rods, Mystery Palace), will be out in early 2011 via Hometapes.

Volcano Chior:
Justin Vernon – Bon Iver
Jon Mueller, Chris Rosenau, Jim Schoenecker,
Daniel Spack, Thomas Wincek – Collections of Colonies of Bees

Collections Of Colonies of Bees @ Cactus Club (Live), Milwuakee, WI
91.7 WMSE Radio Summer Camp 2010
Their 6th album “GIVING” is due out on October 13th via Contrarede.

S. Carey – In The Dirt

‘In The Dirt’ is taken from S. Carey‘s solo debut full length “All We Grow,” out on August 24th via Jagjaguwar.  Sean Carey has been known as one of the brilliant percussionists for Bon Iver.  Engineered by Jaime Hansen and Brian Joseph, intermittently at home and at April Base (Justin Vernon’s studio outside of Eau Claire).

All We Grow is a convergence of Carey’s Waltz For Debby-era Bill Evans inflected jazz tendencies, and traditional rock band experience, taking leads from Mark Hollis’ Talk Talk.

« Older entries