You are currently browsing the archive for the KILL ROCK STARS category.

Horse Feathers “So It Is With Us”
released 21st October 2014 via Kill Rock Stars

Horse Feathers from Portland, Oregon, comprise of Justin Ringle, the man behind all ten years of the band (Guitar, Vocals) and Nathan Crockett (Violin, Mandolin, Saw), Dustin Dybvig (Drums, Piano), Lauren Vidal (Cello), Angie Kuzma (Violin, Vocals).

“For this album, the band was influenced by the following: Pentangle,
Talk Talk, Paul Simon, The Band, Van Morrison, John Wesley Harding era
Bob Dylan, Desire era Bob Dylan, and Abner Jay (not what you would have
guessed, right?)”

Grass Widow – 11 of diamonds

’11 of diamonds’ is taken from San Francisco all-female trio (Hannah Lew – bass/vocal, Lillian Maring – drums/vocal and Raven Mahon – guitar/vocal) Grass Widow‘s Kill Rock Stars debut full length “Past Time,” available now via Kill Rock Stars, P-Vine (Japan).

STREAM ::  “Past Time” in its entirety on AOL’s

Grass Widow – Fried Egg
‘Fried Egg’ is the new video from “Past Time,” the video was created by Grass Widow’s Hannah Lew.

Grass Widow – 11 of Diamonds
Video by Mike Stoltz / B+W Super8/16mm film

New video for ‘belly of June’ from Portland-based singer/songwriter, Justin Ringle’s indie hushed-folk outfit Horse Feathers‘ latest full length “Thistled Spring” out now on Kill Rock Stars / P-Vine (JP), out on May 19th.  Directed by Clyde Petersen (whose works including music videos for Deerhoof, Quasi, Laura Veirs and more), with the squadron of bees built by Seattle animator Britta Johnson.

猫に鰹節 ….. か?


01 ELLIOTT SMITH “Angeles” from Either/Or
02 THE THERMALS “Now We Can See” from Now We Can See
03 GOSSIP “Standing In the Way of Control” from Standing In The Way of Control
04 THAO “When We Swam” from Know Better Learn Faster
05 SLEATER KINNEY “Oh!” from One Beat
06 PANTHER “Love Is Sold” from Entropy
07 UNWOUND “Corpse Pose” from Repetition
08 THE PAPER CHASE “What Should We Do With Your Body? (The Lightning) from Someday This Could All Be Yours (Part 1)
09 XIU XIU “Dear God, I Hate Myself” from Dear God, I Hate Myself
10 DEERHOOF “Believe E.S.P.” from Friend Opportunity
11 QUASI “Repulsion” from American Gong
12 MARNIE STERN “Transformer” from This Is It…
13 STEREO TOTAL “I Love You, Ono” from My Melody
14 LILIPUT “Ain’t You” from Liliput
15 BIKINI KILL “New Radio ” from New Radio
16 BRATMOBILE “Die” from The Real Janelle
17 COMET GAIN “Kids In The Club” from Realistes
18 THE SHAKY HANDS “Allison and the Ancient Eyes” from Let It Die
19 THE DECEMBERISTS “16 Military Wives” from Picaresque
20 HORSE FEATHERS “Curs In The Weeds” from House With No Home
21 JEFF HANSON “Hiding Behind the Moon” from Son

Horse of Feathrs – Belly of June

‘Belly of June’ is taken from the upcoming Horse Feathers‘ full-length “Thistled Spring,” out on April 20th via Kill Rock Stars. (LP/CD/Digital, the first 300 Pre-Orders come with a FREE folded promo poster)

STREAM :: ‘Thistled Spring’ the title track @, song of the day (April 13th, 2010)

San Francisco band Grass Widow is putting out an album on Portland label Kill Rock Stars. Tentative release date is August 24th, 2010.

Grass Widow – Rattled Call (via flamgirlant)
Grass Widow – Yellow Balloons (via fader)
taken from self-titled debut LP via Make a Mess Records (2009)

On April 6th, Kill Rock Stars will be reissuing the late Elliott Smith’s last album “From a Basement on the Hill” (originally released in 2004 on Anti-) and basement-recorded, his first solo album “Roman Candle” (originally released on Portland’s Cavity Search Records in 1994). “Roman Candle” has been re-mastered for the re-release by Larry Crane, editor of Tape Op Magazine and archivist for Elliott’s family, and Roger Seibel at SAE Mastering. Also “Roman Candle” on vinyl for the first time in the U.S..

Elliott Smith – Last Call (taken from re-mastered “Roman Candle”)
Elliott Smith – Twilight (taken “From a Basement on the Hill”)

« Older entries