You are currently browsing the archive for the MAC DEMARCO category.

01 Calvin Love – Chin Chin by ArbutusRecords

Sean Nicholas Savage is a magnetic character. As an integral part of the upcoming Montreal music scene, and an inspiration to many, several artists eagerly accepted the challenge to cover his songs; in celebration of his past work, but also for the promise of what’s still to come.
17 of Savage’s songs – ranging from anthems to obscure gems – are anthologized on this release. As the first act ever to release on Arbutus, a community has developed surrounding Savage, his songwriting, charisma and his social philosophies. 

It is a true honour to present such a mix of genre and creative thought – and this is what’s captivating about the compilation. A group of artists brought together not by genre but by circumstance: a shared home, one which Savage represents as a primary character in the Canadian music scene.”Arbutus Records

06 Eola – Someone’s Got A Secret by ArbutusRecords

02 Mac DeMarco – Bye Bye Bye by ArbutusRecords

the song is taken from “Flamingo”

Montreal-based lo-fi soul pop group Homeshake (previously posted), the solo recording project of Peter Sagar (Sans Aids, Outdoor Miners), set to release the debut 9-song cassette “The Homeshake Tape” on January 29th via Fixture Records (Freelove Fenner, Sheer Agony, Dirty Beaches, Chevalier Avant Garde). Recorded mostly at home with the help of Jackson MacIntosh (Sheer Agony) and Mac DeMarco. Pre-order is available now.

“Using the move as an opportunity to leave behind his previous project Sans Aids and start fresh, Peter began writing and recording songs that blended the 60s and 70s Memphis soul sound of Hi Records artists like Ann Peebles and O.V. Wright with the melancholy guitar-driven songwriting of 50s balladeers like Roy Orbison.”

Montreal-based Homeshake is Peter Sager (also known as a guitarist of Mac DeMarco and co.) and friends.

Little teaser from the Homeshake tape, coming out January via Fixture Records. Recorded with help from jack and mac at the smoke pit and jizz jazz.

The Newtown Sessions: Mac DeMarco
Filmed and recorded at Swan7 Studios

Curated for Newtown Radio by Colin Ilgen

Music by: Mac DeMarco (‘Ode to Viceroy’, ‘Freaking Out the Neighborhood’, ‘Baby’s Wearing Blue Jeans’, ‘I’m a Man’)

Track List:
01. I’m a Man
02. Me and Jon Hanging on
03. The Stars Keep on Calling My Name
04. Ode to Viceroy
05. Cooking up Something Good
06. Freaking Out the Neighborhood
07. My Kind of Woman
08. Baby’s Wearing Blue Jeans
09. She’s Really All I Need
10. Together

Mac DeMarco’s first full-length “Mac DeMarco 2″ is available on Captured Tracks.

“I think I might do a record in the spring with Chris Cohen—Captured Tracks just signed him—and Matt Mondanile, who’s in Real Estate. He does the Ducktails stuff.”  –Mac DeMarco
(via) (via Yuya Shimizu

Mac Demarco – She’s Really All I Need

Mac DeMarco – Baby’s Wearin Blue Jeans

Both songs above are taken from the forthcomig debut EP “Rock And Roll Night Club,” due out on March 20th via Captured Tracks.
Now Montreal-based artist Mac Demarco, formerly known as Makeout Videotape, is an weird musical wizard hailing from Edmonton garage.

from “YING YANG,” released 13 December 2010

from “BOSSA YEYE,” released 01 November 2010

from “EYEBALLING,” released 02 November 2010