You are currently browsing the archive for the MEXICAN SUMMER category.

The End of Comedy is the debut album by Drugdealer, a new project
conceived and conducted by Los Angeles artist Michael Collins (formerly
of Run DMT, Salvia Plath) who guides a group of Angelenos through a
whimsical world informed by Jean Baudrillard, social media perception,
Sergio Leone’s spaghetti western vistas and Collins’ endless travels.

taken from Weyes Blood “Front Row Seat To Earth“, co-produced by Natalie Mering and Chris Cohen (Mexican Summer / 2016)

(Out Of Town Films
Quilt “Gome Home” - Philadelphia, PA – 07/01/2012 
‘Gome Home’ originally appeared on Quilt‘s 2011 debut full-length on Mexican Summer.


Magic Trick – Invisible at Midnight (from “Ruler of the Night”)

“Ruler of the Night,” the new album by Tim Cohen’s Magic Trick, is out now via Hardly Art. Magic Trick band features Noelle Cahill and Alicia Vanden Heuvel (Aislers Set), and James Kim (Kelly Stoltz’s band) with Tim Cohen (Fresh & The Onlys). All LPs include a download code.

The Fresh & Onlys – Yes Or No

And… The Fresh & Onlys (Tim Cohen, Shayde Sartin, Wymond Miles, Kyle Gibson) will release their first single for Mexican Summer, ‘Yes Or No’ b/w ‘Take Back the Night’ as a teaser for their fourth full-length “Long Slow Dance,” due out on September 4th via Mexican Summer. You can purchase the 7″, HERE.

Mexican Summer will be reissuing 2009′s “III” and 2011′s “EASY ACTION” (Ltd 2nd Edition) by the San Francisco-based experimental rock outfit The Alps on April 17th, 2012.

The Alps – Cloud One, taken from “III”

“Comprised of Alexis Georgopoulos aka ARP (RVNG Intl/Smalltown Supersound), Jefre Cantu–Ledesma (Type), who runs the Root Strata imprint, and visual artist Scott Hewicker (Troll), The Alps get together when they can. Though III was recorded when each of the band’s members lived in San Francisco, now only Hewicker lives in SF, while Georgopoulos and Cantu–Ledesma call New York and Berlin home, respectively.”

And …. stream “Mexican Summer / Sofware Recording Co. – Stash Rituals Sampler” featuring recent, present, and forthcoming selections from these two label catalogs.

Olden Yolk – Violet Vagaries

This is the debut video of Olden Yolk, the solo project of Boston’s folk psychedelic trio Quilt singer/guitarist Shane Butler (formerly of The Good Party)

“I have been writing and recording music on my own for as long as I have been playing tunes. I have always made releases under different names and played shows under various monikers: Olden Yolk is the most recent incarnation. Recording/playing solo is definitely a fun outlet cause it allows a totally different process of creation to take place. What I have been doing with Olden Yolk lately is starting songs with folk/acoustic/drone structures and looping and layering until it becomes super atmospheric drone-based folk.” (via Dog Gone Blog)

Quilt – Young Gold

The Song ‘Young Gold’ is taken from the Quilt self-titled debut album on Mexican Summer (released: Nov 8, 2011), the trio comprises of John Andrews (Wisdom Tooth): Vocals, Drums, Anna Rochinski: Vocals, Guitar, Organ and Shane Butler (Olden Yolk): Vocals, Guitar.

Magic Trick – Torture, taken from “Ruler of the Night”

Tim Cohen’s Magic Trick is set to release the new full-length “Ruler of the Night,” due out on June 12th via Hardly Art, as the follow-up to Cohen’s debut as Magic Trick “The Glad Birth of Love” album (Empty Cellar Records, 2011). In the beginning Magic Trick started as a solo project by Tim Choen, the lead singer and co-songwriter for The Fresh & Onlys, now the Magic Trick band comprises of Noelle Cahill (Sweet Chariot), Alicia Vanden Heuvel (Aislers Set), James Kim (The Court & Spark, Kelley Stoltz band).

Taken from the A-side of 7″ single (SEXBEAT, 2011), The Fresh & Onlys has almost finished the new full-length, their fourth LP for Mexican Summer. It was recorded at Lucky Cat Studios with producer/engineer Phil Manley (Wooden Shjips, Moon Duo, Les Savy Fav, Grass Widow).

Wymond Miles (of The Fresh & Onlys) has released his solo debut EP “Earth Has Doors” via Sacred Bones Records. ‘Hidden Things Are Asking You To Find Them’ is the first track from that EP. And The Fresh & Onlys’ new album, as their follow-up to last year’s ” Play It Strange,”  will be released this spring via Mexican Summer.

“Four years ago Wymond Miles, guitar player and songwriter in San Francisco’s The Fresh & Onlys, began writing solo material thematically based on the concepts of eschatology, anthroposophy, and Gnostic and Hermetic symbolism. Drawing from a vast musical pool of inspiration, including Scott Walker, Robert Wyatt, Arvo Part, and Nikki Sudden amongst others, Earth Has Doors is Miles’ first solo release.” —Sacred Bones Records

Rodriguez – Sugar Man (Live on KEXP)
Rodriguez performs “Sugar Man” at the Triple Door in Seattle as part of KEXP’s VIP Club concert series. Recorded 6/23/09 with the Fresh and Onlys. Rodriguez film documentary “Searching For Sugar Man,” directed by Malik Bendjelloul, debuted at the World Documentary competition of 2012 Sundance Film Festival.

« Older entries