You are currently browsing the archive for the MINNEAPOLIS category.

A brand new album of Jim Ruiz Set, formerly known as the Legendary Jim Ruiz Group, “Mount Curve Avenue” is now available via Korda Records and Allen Clapp‘s Mystery Lawn Music. “Mount Curve Avenue” is the first release in 14 years by the legendary Jim Ruiz.

The Set:
Jim Ruiz – guitar, vocals, bass on 11
Emily Ruiz – drums, vocals on 4
Charlotte Crabtree – bass, vocals

Produced by Allen Clapp

Peter Anderson, Allen Clapp, Mike Crabtree, Max Eider, David Hamilton, Clint Hoover, Allison LaBonne, Jim Ouska, Peter Robelia, David Salmela, David Schelzel, Brian Tighe

Mixed by Allen Clapp at Mystery Lawn Studio, Sunnyvale, CA
Mastered by Myles Boisen at Headless Buddha Mastering Lab, Oakland, CA

The Legendary Jim Ruiz Group – The Ruling Class
(The Monochrome Set cover) (via)

Domino Records has announced a Minneapolis-based trio Night Moves as their latest signee, the debut 7″ single ‘Headlights’ a new mix by Thom Monaghan (Vetiver, Beachwood Sparks, The Lilys) b/w ‘Horses’ 7 will be released on April 6th via Domino. ‘Headlights’ was previously appeared on their “Colored Emotions” album (Afternoon Records, 2011). Monaghan and the band are currently working on their debut album from Domino. The trio comprises of guitarist/lead vocalist John Pelant and multi-instrumentalist Mark Ritsema, both formerly of The Battle Royale, and bassist Mickey Alfano, formerly of the Mouthful of Bees along with Ritsema.

Night Moves – Headlights by DominoRecordCo

Also from Afternoon Records, Minneapolis Country-Electro-Soul inspired trio Night Moves has released the “Colored Emotions” album as a free download, here. RIYL: Ariel Pink, Todd Rundgren….

Night Moves – “Headlights” by Afternoon Records

Night Moves – “Country Queen” by Afternoon Records

Leisure Birds – Down The Drain

Leisure Birds – Copper Scroll

Hailing from Minneapolis Leisure Birds consist of Jake Luck, Nick Ryan (Gayngs), Cory Carlson, Alex Achen.  Both tracks are taken from their debut full length “Copper Scroll” via Totally Gross National Product

Influences: The Kinks, Hawkwind, The Monks, Holy Modal Rounders, Can, 13th Floor Elevators 

Buffalo Moon – Low Tide Moon

‘Low Tide Moon’ is taken from Buffalo Moon‘s upcoming 7″ ‘Black Magic’ b/w ‘Low Tide Moon’ out on September 10th, pre-order is available now on Moon Glyph.

Buffalo Moon – Pool Side Dreaming

taken from the cassette “Wetsuit” (Moon Glyph), also via iTunes and CD from the band.

Minneapolis based five-piece band Buffalo Moon consists of Preston Holm, Karen Freire, Joel Schmitz, Johnny Wetzler, Sarah Darnell.

Music video for the song Organ Donor from Jeremy Messersmith’s newest record “The Reluctant Graveyard.”  Directed by Eric Power at Clear Productions.  “The Reluctant Graveyard” is available on Digital downloads via his bandcamp page, Physical copies can be purchased at the online store.

<a target="_blank" href="http://jeremymessersmith.bandcamp.com/album/the-reluctant-graveyard" >Lazy Bones by Jeremy Messersmith</a>

Murzik – In Nothing

Hailing from minneapolis, Murzik is a dark folk band formed in 2003. The band consists of Bryan Steenerson, Nathan Simar, Ryan Pfeiffer, Darin Steenerson, Tobias Smith, Kathleen Dikareva.  The name Murzik is a reference to a common Russian name for cats. ‘In Nothing’ is taken from their self-released 2009 album “into the darkness“  (via)

RIYL: Leonard Cohen, Nick Cave, Tom Waits, Lou Reed

« Older entries