You are currently browsing the archive for the MISSISSIPPI RECORDS category.

Michael Hurley – Automatic Slim & the Fatboys
previously unreleased early version, first appeared on “Snockgrass” (Rounder/1979, reissue on vinyl: Light In The Attic/2011)

Michael Hurley – I Can’t Help Myself
taken from “Ida Con Snock” album (Gnomonsong/2009)

Michael Hurley has released the lost album “Fatboy Spring” including unreleased tracks from 1972-73, it was co-released by Secret Seven/Mississippi Records.

The Attic Tapesと呼ばれ、40年近くを経て遂に陽の目を見たマイケル・ハーリィの70年代初期のお宝音源。その後、この録音時のバンド、ファット・ボーイズにホーリィ・モーダル・ラウンダーズのメンバーたちなどが合流してハーリィ爺の名盤「Have Moicey」を録音したのだとか ….。

The musicians in Automatic Slim and the Fatboys playing in various configurations on The Attic Tapes are: Michael Hurley, (Doc Snock) vocals, guitar / Robert Iwaskiewicz (Wax), guitar, bass, vocals / David Bessett (Silent Dave) guitar, vocals / Doug Southworth (The Reverend), mandolin, bass / Robert Nickson (Frog), percussion. Fatboys were formed in Vermont, 1972, the original band was called Puddledock.

“I wrote the tune “Automatic Slim & the Fat Boys” while I was there and it was supposed to be a theme song for the band. Eventually, with musicians going their own ways, the Fat Boy band morphed into another group called Sheriff Mocus (moakus) and the Derangen Cowboys. And then I formed another band called The Redbirds. Original members of the Fat Boys who were on the Rounder record Have Moicey were Robert Iwaskiewicz, Robert Nickson, and myself.” Michael Hurley

Junk Culture – Hang Roxy (feat. Jana Hunter)

Junk Culture – Chippewa Kids (feat. Sarah Barthel)

Both tracks are taken from a recent digital 7″ by Oxford, Miss.’s Deepak Mantena aka Junk Culture, featuring Jana Hunter (of Lower Dens) and Sarah Barthel (of Phantogram).

Michael Hurley – Who Ever Heard Of You

Secret Seven and Mississippi Records have joined forces to reissue Blue Navigator, one of Michael Hurley‘s rarest and most enjoyable albums, on 8-Track cassette–a fitting format for a former 8-Track repairman.  Blue Navigator was originally released on LP in 1984 on Rooster Records and quickly went out of print after a fire destroyed the Rooster offices and BN master tapes, making it one of Hurley’s most sought after albums. Transferred from the original vinyl to virgin tape, and housed in a recycled cartridge.  This 8-Track tape release is limited to 50 copies. Sold Out Now.

Songs: Blue Navigator, Who ever heard of You?, Dices Dices, Werewolf, Wolf Dispatch, ’54 Chevy, Code of the Mountains, Ghost Woman Blues, Somebody to Say Bye Bye To, Open Up (eternal lips)  / original release: Rooster Records, vinyl. 1984

Michael Hurley‘s another classic, his third LP “Hi Fi Snock Uptown,” originally recorded for The Youngbloods’ Raccoon label in 1972 will be re-issued on May 25th via Mississippi Records (MR-048/LP) in Portland, Oregon. Remastered from the original tapes.