You are currently browsing the archive for the MISTLETONE RECORDS category.

Jonti – Firework Spraying Moon
Taken from the first 7″ single from the debut album “Twirligig”

Jonti – Firework Spraying Moon

Jonti Danilewitz aka Jonti (formerly Danimals / Djanimals) is an Australian (moved from South Africa) multi-instrumentalist, arranger, producer and vocalist, his debut full-length “Twirligig” is due out on October 7th via Mistletone (through Inertia, Australia) and Stones Throw (US).

Twirligig draws inspiration from many of Jonti’s favorite artists, Madlib, Stereolab, Free Design and The Beach Boys. But Twirligig’s main inspiration came from cartoonist / filmmaker Norman Mclaren. Jonti explains, “His films are complex, but they’re still fun. You can feel his enthusiasm for techniques and experimentation. I try make simple pop songs with that same mentality.”

Jonti – Hornets Nest  another track from “Twirligig”


Norman McLaren “Blinkity Blank” (1955)
featuring a soundtrack combining improvisational jazz from composer Maurice Blackburn along with graphical sounds created by McLaren scratching onto the film’s optical soundtrack.

Free All The Monsters‘ is the title track and first single from the forthcoming 8th album by the legendary New Zealand band The Bats, due out October 14th on Mistletone in Australia and October 17th on Flying Nun in NZ. It was recorded at Seacliff, a former asylum just outside of Dunedin, New Zealand, and produced by Dale Cotton (HDU, The Clean, Dimmer).

The Bats – Free All The Monsters by Mistletone

The Bats – Free all the Monsters
Video directed by John Morrison. A Gamera-super-monster clip for The Bats awesome new track Free All The Monsters.

Montero – Rainman by Mistletone

Taken from the forthcoming debut 7″ by Montero, ‘Mumbai’ b/w ‘Rainman,’ due out on vinyl & digital release Sept 2nd via Melbourne’s Mistletone Records.

Montero is a new project from Melbourne music compadre, comic book and video artist Bjenny Montero (of Treetops II, The Brutals, The TM Band). This soft-rock/slow-wave supergroop features the musical smarts of Guy Blackman (Chapter Music honcho and balladeer), Geoffrey O’Connor (Crayon Fields), Cameron Potts (Ninety Nine, Baseball, Cuba Is Japan), Bobby Fresh Bravington (Cuba Is Japan) and Gerald Wells (of Treetops II, The Brutals, The TM Band/Baptism Of Uzi).

Montero – Rainman
Animated video by Bjenny Montero himself who also worked for the animated videos of Earth Girl Helen Brown’s ‘Story Of An Earth Girl’ (Sonny Smith’s 100 records project) and Sonny and the Sunsets’ ‘Death Cream.’