You are currently browsing the archive for the NEW IMAGES category.

Vancouver-based retro rock foursome The Shilohs‘ debut full-length “So Wild” (Light Organ Records) is available now on their bandcamp. The Shilohs are Dan Colussi (Bass), Ben Frey (Drums), Mike Komaszczuk (Guitar, Vocals) and Johnny Payne (Guitar, Vocals).

Released 05 February 2013
All Music and lyrics by Johnny Payne and Michael Komaszczuk.

Recorded Summer 2010 at JCDC and The Hive, Vancouver, Canada by David Carswell (The New Pornographers, Destroyer, Apollo Ghosts) and Tanis Gibbons.

Their 7 inch ‘Private Lives’ b/w ‘English Roads’ is available now on Matt Mondanile’s (Ducktailsl, Real Estate) New Images Ltd. label.

The Shilohs – The Place Where Nobody Knows I Go

Stream the title track from the forthcoming Ducktails (a.k.a. Matt Mondanile of Real Estate) full-length “The Flower Lane,” fourth album and his first for Domino Recording Co.. Due out on January 29th, 2013 in North America and January 28th, 2013 in rest of the world.

The album was recorded over the summer of 2012 with his fellow New Jersey band Big Troubles, and contributions from Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never), Joel Ford (Ford + Lopatin), Madeline Follin (Cults), Jessa Farkas (Future Shuttle) and Sam Mehran (Outer Limitz). Mixed by Al Carlson (Peaking Lights, Oneohtrix Point Never).

The ten songs, along with a stunning cover of founding Clean/Chills member Peter Gutteridge’s “Planet Phrom”, on “The Flower Lane” move across a range of expressive pop songs that are bright and expansive, but venture even further with forays into saxophone leads, synth lines and piano accompaniment that would have been at home on the early records of sophisticated guitar pop icons such as Aztec Camera and Prefab Sprout. –Domino

The Babies — NYC’s four-piece band comprising of Cassie Ramone (Vivian Girls), Kevin Morby (Woods), Justin Sullivan (Bossy) and Brian Schleyer— will release a new 7″ single ‘My Name’ b/w ‘The War’ on Record Store Day, April 21st and digital single to follow on April 23rd via York, UK label Bad Paintings.
Both songs were taken from the first songs ever written and recorded by The Babies in the summer of 2009. And The Babies have been working on their second album with producer Rob Barbato (Darker My Love, Cass McCombs) who worked on the latest La Sera and engineer Drew Fischer.

The Babies – My Name by badpaintings

The Babies – The War by badpaintings

First single from “Cry Along with The Babies,” 6-track 12″, a collection of acoustic demos and outtakes from 2010-early 2011. Out now via New Images label run by Matt Mondanile of Ducktails, Real Estate.

One of the most recognized Finnish experimental music makers, Jan Anderzen is a Tampere based artist who rearranges images and sounds and makes the music of Tomutonttu audible. He is also known as the leader of the band Kemialliset Ystävät.  ‘Lautta lähtee’ is a new song, and ELÄVÄNÄ PLANEETALLA 12″ is due out on Matt Mondanile’s “New Images” label soon with DUCKTAILS‘ “KILLING THE VIBE” 12″.

Tomutonttu – Lautta lähtee by Tomutonttu