You are currently browsing the archive for the NEW ZEALAND category.

Lawrence Arabia – Toy Orchestra

Here’s a 2010′s chamber toy pop music (appeared on the B-side of the Apple Pie Bed 7″) from New Zealand’s James Milne a.k.a. Lawrence Arabia, whose third album is almost complete, the follow-up to 2009′s “Chant Darling” album (Mistletone/Honorary Bedouin, Bella Union). His forthcoming new album was recorded with Elroy Finn — a son of Neil Finn (Split Enz and Crowded House), a younger brother of Liam, Connan Mockasin a.k.a. Connan Hosford, engineered by Joe Gubay and Nick Abbott.

taken from 2011′s collaborative album “Unlimited Buffet” by Fabulous/Arabia — Mike Fabulous (Lord Echo/The Black Seeds) and Jame Milne (Lawrence Arabia/The Reduction Agents).

The Bats – In The Subway
Taken from the new album “Free All The Monsters”
Directed by Paul Kean.

A legendary New Zealand Jangly Pop Band, The Bats‘ eighth album “Free All The Monsters” is out today on Flying Nun Records. It was recorded at Seacliff, a former asylum in the grand Victorian style just outside of Dunedin, New Zealand, and masterfully produced by Dale Cotton (HDU, Dimmer).

Free All The Monsters‘ is the title track and first single from the forthcoming 8th album by the legendary New Zealand band The Bats, due out October 14th on Mistletone in Australia and October 17th on Flying Nun in NZ. It was recorded at Seacliff, a former asylum just outside of Dunedin, New Zealand, and produced by Dale Cotton (HDU, The Clean, Dimmer).

The Bats – Free All The Monsters by Mistletone

The Bats – Free all the Monsters
Video directed by John Morrison. A Gamera-super-monster clip for The Bats awesome new track Free All The Monsters.

David Kilgour & the Heavy Eights – Diamond Mine

‘Diamond Mine’ is taken from David Kilgour‘s new album in four years “Left By Soft” out now on Arch Hill Records (NZ) and Merge Records (US).  David Kilgour, formerly of The Clean with his brother Hamish, has been a well known musician from Dunedin, a city in the South Island of New Zealand.

The Heavy Eights are Taane Tokona on drums, Tony de Raad on guitar and keyboards, and Thomas Bell on bass and keyboards. David plays guitar, keyboards, and harmonica.

The Clean – Tally Ho (1981)

Listen to a brand new EP from Unknown Mortal Orchestra, 7″ EP (Limited to 300 copies) is due out on December 13th via a new UK label The Sounds Of Sweet Nothing.

Lawrence Arabia – The Undesirables
Lawrence Arabia – The Beautiful Young Crew
taken from the album “Chant Darling”

New Zealand native Lawrence Arabia (James Milne) is known as a former member of bands like The Ruby Suns (Sub Pop) and The Reduction Agents with Ryan McPhun, and The Brunettes as well as a touring member of Okkervil River, Feist.  “Chant Darling” is his first full-length album on UK-based label Bella Union (Fleet Foxes, Midlake, Beach House). US release: out on March 9th via the Yep Rock Label Group.

“Fight Softly”is The Ruby Suns‘ 2nd album for Sub Pop, coming out March 2. California-born, and now New Zealand citizen) Ryan Mc Phun (ex. The Brunettes) created The Ruby Suns in New Zealand in 2004.  Lawrence Arabia (James Milne) is known as the former member of The Ruby Suns.

The Ruby Suns – Cranberry
Ruby Suns – Closet Astrologer
Ruby Suns – Tane Mahuta

“Fight Softly” is the second album for Sub Pop by New Zealand’s pop masters The Ruby Suns. Ryan McPhun (their prime mover) has the kind of voracious musical mind that cites as equal influences ‘80s New Jack Swing and modern Angolan kuduro, Fleetwood Mac and Britney Spears, Brazilian tropicalia and Argentinean cumbia. He’s the kind of diligent, meticulous soul that spends days hunched over a laptop in a tiny rented studio in Auckland, NZ just to perfect a sequenced drum track (mission accomplished). And Fight Softly is the kind of head-spinning combination of big-picture vision and sumptuous detail that only comes from an artist with an urgent need to express all the stuff he’s seen. And you can dance to it!
California-born (and New Zealand citizen) McPhun took childhood trips to New Zealand and finally made Auckland home in 2003. Though he soon started playing with Kiwi indie darlings The Brunettes, he’d been making his own music for years—-four-track bedroom stuff that mixed his faraway vocals with effects-laden guitar, synths, and all manner of field-recorded samples. With his own new band, Ryan McPhun and The Ruby Suns, McPhun recorded and released his first album for NZ label Lil’ Chief Records. By the time its follow-up, Sea Lion, was ready the foreshortened Ruby Suns had gained a college following in New Zealand and toured Australia with :The Shins”: and the UK with Field Music, among others. The album came out on Sub Pop in early 2008 and landed on various best-of lists that year.
And for a few summer months The Ruby Suns landed in Seattle. There they played Sub Pop’s not-so-humble 20th anniversary festival and began work on ??Fight Softly…

(Sub Pop)