You are currently browsing the archive for the OKKERVIL RIVER category.

Okkervil River – It Is So Nice to Get Stoned (Ted Lucas cover)

As a follow-up to their 2007′s “Golden Opportunities,” Okkervil River has released a brand new set of covers “Golden Opportunities 2″ which was recorded live and mixed live to 2 track by Danny Reisch at Premium Recording, Austin, TX, November 3rd.
Available now for free download through the Okkervil River web site.

Track listing:
1. It Is So Nice to Get Stoned (Ted Lucas)
originally appeared on Ted Lucas’ self-titled solo album (known as “The OM album”) recorded in Detroit, 1974, LP reissued on Yoga Records.
2. U.F.O. (Jim Sullivan)
originally appeared on Jim Sullivan’s debut album “U.F.O” (Monnie 1969) featuring the legendary Wrecking Crew (Beach Boys, Phil Spector). Reissued from Light in the Attic Records.
3. One Soul Less on Your Fiery List (The Triffids)
originally appeared on The Triffids’ 1986 album “In The Pines,” reissued from Domino Records.
4. Plan D (Bill Fay)
originally appeared on Bill Fay’s second album “Time of the Last Persecution,” released in 1971 from Deram Records, reissued from Esoteric Recordings.
5. Dry Bones (traditional spiritual song)

Ted Lucas – It Is So Nice to Get Stoned

Damien Jurado & Richard Swift – Be Not So Fearful (Bill Fay cover)

from “OTHER PEOPLE’S SONGS – Volume One – Performed by Damien Jurado & Richard Swift” (2010), a Free collection of covers recorded 2010. Originally written & performed by Bill Fay on his self-titled first album (Nova, 1967), reissued from Esoteric Recordings. Also…. Wilco and Loose Fur (Jeff Tweedy and Glen Kotche with O’Rourke) has covered ‘Be Not So Fearful,’ and Jim O’Rourke covered ‘Pictures of Adolf Again,’ the song from “Time of the Last Persecution”, for 2007′s Koji Wakamatsu’s film “United Red Army” OST.

In Search of a Midnight Kiss is an American independent romantic comedy written and directed by Alex Holdridge. It is listed on the National Board of Review’s Top 10 Independent Films of 2008, won the Independent Spirit’s John Cassavetes Award in 2009 as well as having earned awards at festivals around the world. (WIKI)

Unfortunately “In Search of a Midnight Kiss” wasn’t shown in any theaters in Japan, only on TV.  Its music compilation of tracks features Okkervil River (‘Lines’ and ‘Mermaid’), Shearwater, Brian McGuire, Mendoza Line and Sybil ….. and also the film features legendary architectures in LA.

Roky Erickson & Okkervil River perform “Goodbye Sweet Dreams” from the upcoming album ‘True Love Cast Out All Evil’ at SXSW 2010.

Will Sheff was recently in Austin hanging out with Roky and they were followed around by a videographer. You can view a suitably impressionistic snippet of them at the legendary Austin store Toy Joy. (ANTI-)

Legendary Roky Erickson returns with “True Love Cast Out All Evil” his first new album in 14 years. Produced (and art direction) by Will Sheff and featuring his band Okkervil River backing Erickson.  The cover features a stark Todd Wolfson portrait of Erickson. 
(comes out on 04/20 on Anti-Records)