You are currently browsing the archive for the OLYMPIA category.


Stephen Steinbrink – Trust
Edited and directed by Adam Oelsner.
The song is taken from Stephen Steinbrink’s latest album “Arranged Waves”, available now from melodic records and iTunes.

“Arranged Waves”
Engineered and produced by Stephen Steinbrink in the Langridge House Studio in Olympia, WA. Basic tracking for “Now You See Everything” and “Sand Mandalas” by Eli Moore. 

Mastered by Ephriam Nagler.
Musical arrangements by Stephen Steinbrink and Andrew Dorsett.
All music and words written by Stephen Steinbrink.

 こんなにメロディックなSSWなのに、なぜかいつも倒錯気味な被りものが…どうも好きらしいスティーヴン・スタインブリンク。現在はオリンピア在住ですが、かつてはアリゾナ州フェニックスでフレンチ・クオーターというソロ・プロジェクトで評判に。その頃は「ボクはカートゥーン描きのポップ・ミュージック・メイカー」なんて語ってました。LAKEのアンドリュー・ドーセットもその頃からのコラボレーター。今度のアルバム『Arranged Waves』は、フェニックスで録音した一昨年のアルバム『I Drew a Picture』に続く作品で、オリンピアでアンドリュー・ドーセットと一緒に録音、LAKEのメンバーたちもバックアップした作品で、UKレーベル、Melodic Recordsからの初リリース、日本盤はP-Vineからリリースされています。

LAKEも来日間近! 詳しくはコチラで。

R. Stevie Moore with LAKE
at the Eagle’s Hall in Olympia, Washington

LAKE has released their new album, “Circular Doorway” on Bandcamp and also their another new album “The World Is Real” will be coming on K records in the end of summer.
国内盤は”The World Is Real”と”Circular Doorway”、2枚の新作カップリング日本限定盤で、7e.p.より9/11にリリースされますヨ。詳しくはコチラで。

taken from the “Fukt!” album (released 21 November 2008 ), available on R. Stevie Moore’s bandcamp.


Calvin Johnson has been well known as the co-founder, owner of K Records in Olympia, Washington since 1982, and the formerly member of the bands Cool Rays, Beat Happening, The Go Team, The Halo Benders and Dub Narcotic Sound System. The Hive Dwellers is his most recent band that he’s been playing for about three years now and currently the band comprises of Gabriel Will, Evan Hashi and Calvin Johnson. The forthcoming Hive Dwellers album “Hewn from the Wilderness,” recorded at Dub Narcotic Studio, is due out on June 12th via K / May 16th via 7e.p. (Japan).

The Hive Dwellers – “Tell-Tale Heart”
Recorded March 20th, 2012 during a practice session at Dub Narcotic Studio, Olympia, Washington, USA. Gabriel Will on bass, Evan Hashi on drums, & Calvin Johnson on guitar & voice.

Karl Blau and Calvin Johnson at Dub Narcotic studio (via)

Lovers without Borders on St. Valentine’s Day, 2012.
They’ve just recorded 4 songs at Dub Narcotic studio for the upcoming 7″ on IPU (International Pop Underground) series. Engineered by Calvin Johnson and Eli Moore (of LAKE). The session includes cover of Lois song ‘The Second Most Beautiful Girl in the World.’ (via k Records)

Lovers Without Borders – The Second Most Beautiful Girl in the World (Lois cover)

LOVERS WITHOUT BORDERS is a latest combo of Karl Blau, K Records veteran and Anacortes resident. Karl sings and plays saxophone with Jessica Bonin (of Daffodils) from Edison on drums, Allen Peril from Bellingham on guitar. Their 2011 self-titled 7-song cassette is now available via Dog Daze Tapes.

Lovers Without Borders – My Harem Shall All Have Hashbrowns

Portland Cat

LAKE just joined the Bandcamp!
Now they’ve just uploaded the first two albums of Lake.

And Ashley Eriksson (of Lake) has a new 7″ single ‘What A Fool Believes‘ b/w ‘Following A Brooke’ which is due out on Feb 1st via Funkytonk Records. Yes! it’s a cover of the Doobie Brothers smash hit ‘What A Fool Believes.’

“The music on this cassette is the product of over two years of face-to-face recordings I collected from various regions of the country. About one-third of the artists here represent the Pacific Northwest, where I have been living over the past five years or so. I chose the Carter Family as the focus of the project mostly because their music is the foundation of American songwriting.” —Markly Morrison

America Salutes The Carter Family,” 30-track, 93-minute cassette which was compiled and recorded by Markly Morrison (Skrill Meadow, LAKE, Lazer Zeppelin), will soon be available on cassette via K Records, or now available digitally through the bandcamp.

All songs were recorded on portable cassette recorders by Morrison except #8. Cover art was designed and drawn by David Lasky, and colored by Frank M. Young. A portion of the proceeds will benefit Rita Forrester and the Carter Family Fold. Rita, a grand-daughter of Sara and A.P. Carter, suffered a horribly tragic house fire two years ago. It took the life of her husband, Bob Forrester.

Track List:
01. Dennis Driscoll – Bury Me Beneath the Weeping Willow
02. The Family Stoned – Wouldn’t Mind Dying
03. No-Good Redwood Ramblers – The Storms are on the Ocean
04. LAKE – Lonesome Valley
05. Maggie Morris – I Shall Never Marry
06. Golden Boots – What Would You Give In Exchange
07. Jeff Elbel – He Turned The Water Into Wine
08. Leviticus – The Poor Orphan Child
09. Fisher J Price – My Dixie Darling
10. Jeffery Lewis – Chewing Gum
11. Peter Stampfel – The Titanic
12. Pine Hill Haints – No Depression
13. Vince Brown and Monica Peabody – Gold Watch and Chain
14. Generifus – You Have Proved To Be False Hearted
15. Second Sacred Steel Band – the Dying Mother
16. Slippery Slopes – Sinking in the Lonesome Sea
17. Sandman the Rappin’ Cowboy – Buddies in the Saddle
18. The Curious Mystery – Hello Stranger
19. the Great White Jenkins – Where Shall I Be
20. Castanets – Answer To the Weeping Willow
21. Jack Lewis and Marcie Lebrun – Single Girl Married Girl
22. Lazer Zeppelin – Will The Circle Be Unbroken?
23. Brian Hayes – Wildwood Flowers
24. Margy Pepper – Waltzing
25. Letters with Ariel Birks – Give Me the Roses While I Live
26. Calvin Johnson – Diamonds in the Rough
27. R. Stevie Moore – Little Darlin’ Pal of Mine
28. Paleo – Lulu Walls
29. Live Active Cultures – Let That Lie Alone
30. The Amazing & Incredible Randy – Will You Miss Me (When I’m Gone)

Carter Family Comics: Don’t Forget This Song
(Kickstarter campaign video, it successfully raised the funding goal)
For the upcoming Carter Family graphic novel, “Don’t Forget This Song” by David Lasky and Frank M. Young

LAKE – Roger Miller

LAKE – Roger Miller (with R. Stevie Moore)

Olympia, Washington’s pop group Lake release their third proper studio LP “Giving & Receiving” due out on April 12th via K Records and on April 6th via 7 e.p. (+ 5 bonus tracks for Japan).  Astrud Gilberto-esque breezy song, ‘Roger Miller’ is the third track from the album which different version features R. Stevie Moore.

LAKE formed in 2005 in Olympia, WA.  Lindsay, Markly, Ashley, and Andrew all knew each other from Canada (California). Collaborators include: Your Heart Breaks, Typhoon, Karl Blau, Adrian Orange, and Half-handed Cloud.

Ashley and Eli from LAKE

« Older entries