You are currently browsing the archive for the SHRIMPER category.

The Babies – Here Comes Trouble

Taken from The Babies‘ latest 7” single (limited to 300 copies), out now on Teenage TeardropsThe Babies are Cassie Ramone (Vivian Girls), Kevin Morby (Woods), Nathanael Stark (Bent Outta Shape~Bossy) and Justin Sullivan (Ringers~Stupid Party), their self-titled debut full-length which was released earlier this year, has been available from Shrimper Records.


The Babies – Wild 2
Live from Northside Festival 2011 in Brooklyn, NY
(via Puerto Rico Indie)

The Babies – Run Me Over

The Babies – Meet Me In The City

‘Run Me Over’ is taken from The Babies (known as Vivian Girls Cassie Ramone’s new band with Woods’ Kevin Morby) self-titled first full-length which is due out on February 8th via Shrimper.  ‘Meet Me In The City’ is taken from their previous release, MEET ME IN THE CITY/SOMEBODY ELSE 7″ via Make A Mess.

Refrigerator – Boom Boom (Thumb Rights) (Wckr Spgt Cover)   (via stereogum)
Soul-Junk – A Better Line
Golden Boots – She Is Electric

“SMOOTH SOUNDS: Various Artists Play the Future Hits of Wckr Spgt.”

This momentous double CD collection celebrates the 20th Anniversary of Shrimper Records contains 36 tracks written by Wckr Spgt and performed by Sentridoh, the Mountain Goats, Jad Fair, Simon Joyner and Chris Deden, Amps For Christ, Soul-Junk, The Human Hearts, Golden Boots, Toby Goodshank featuring Los Debutantes, The Perfect Failures, Tinyfolk, Falcon Eddy, Joy, The Bingo Trappers, Peephole Circus, Phil Yates, Ashley Reaks, Miniature and Presidential, Peter Peter Hughes, Alan Smithee, Refrigerator, Dude Mirror, Charlie McAlister, Unitard (featuring Jeremy S. Goff & David Scott Ewers), The Kurt Ross Band, The Uncalled For, Primordial Undermind, So Many Wizards, Mark Szabo, John Harrelson, Adam Lipman and Leon Reid, Baboonz, The Ah Club, Kukunuku, Desperation Squad, and Breathilizör. 
The release date is set for July 6th and the Worldwide Record Release Celebrations begin on July 24th.  Liner-notes by Franklin Bruno.

More Information here, pre-order here.
Thanks to Mark Givens (editor of MungBeing and member of Wckr Spgt.)

Donovan Quinn & the 13th Month – Mom’s House

Your Wicked Man is the second album from his primary band, Donovan Quinn & the 13th Month, created in collaboration with Nick Marcantonio on bass and Jason Quever (Papercuts) as producer and multi-instrumentalist. In much the same way his presence molded Cass McCombs’ early efforts, Quever’s contributions to Your Wicked Man serve Quinn’s narratives with arrangements that range from ornamental to rollicking to bare, pushing Quinn’s embrace of rustic, poetic popcraft to the fore. The band’s distinct take on art-pop forms re-imagines early efforts from Mekons, Nikki Sudden and John Cale as filtered through Californian folk-rock. (Soft Abuse)

Donovan Quinn & the 13th Month‘s forthcoming second album “Your Wicked Man,” is due out on August 3rd via Soft Abuse (LP/DL) and Shrimper Records(CD).

First video / single from “Your Wicked Man”