You are currently browsing the archive for the THE FRESH AND ONLYS category.

The Fresh & Onlys – All Tomorrow’s Parties

The Mallard – There She Goes Again

Ty Segall – Femme Fatale

(All tracks via The Bay Bridged)

Castle Face Records will release a tribute album to “The Velvet Underground & Nico,” celebrating the 45th anniversary reissue of that classic VU record, on November 6th. Limited to 1000 copies EVER. On Banana Yellow vinyl, with original art by David Shrigley. Only available through John Dwyer’s Castle face Records site (already sold out now) and from the bands at shows, no distro.

01. Kelley Stoltz: “Sunday Morning”
02. Warm Soda: “I’m Waiting For The Man”
03. Ty Segall: “Femme Fatale”
04. Blasted Canyons feat. Jeremy Cox (of Royal Baths): “Venus In Furs”
05. White Fence: “Run Run Run”
06. The Fresh & Onlys: “All Tomorrow’s Parties”
07. Burnt Ones: “Heroin”
08. The Mallard: “There She Goes Again”
09. Here Comes The Here Comes: “I’ll Be Your Mirror”
10. K. Dylan + The Black Angel’s Death Songsmen: “The Black Angel’s Death Song”
11. Thee Oh Sees: “European Son”


Magic Trick – Invisible at Midnight (from “Ruler of the Night”)

“Ruler of the Night,” the new album by Tim Cohen’s Magic Trick, is out now via Hardly Art. Magic Trick band features Noelle Cahill and Alicia Vanden Heuvel (Aislers Set), and James Kim (Kelly Stoltz’s band) with Tim Cohen (Fresh & The Onlys). All LPs include a download code.

The Fresh & Onlys – Yes Or No

And… The Fresh & Onlys (Tim Cohen, Shayde Sartin, Wymond Miles, Kyle Gibson) will release their first single for Mexican Summer, ‘Yes Or No’ b/w ‘Take Back the Night’ as a teaser for their fourth full-length “Long Slow Dance,” due out on September 4th via Mexican Summer. You can purchase the 7″, HERE.

Magic Trick – Torture, taken from “Ruler of the Night”

Tim Cohen’s Magic Trick is set to release the new full-length “Ruler of the Night,” due out on June 12th via Hardly Art, as the follow-up to Cohen’s debut as Magic Trick “The Glad Birth of Love” album (Empty Cellar Records, 2011). In the beginning Magic Trick started as a solo project by Tim Choen, the lead singer and co-songwriter for The Fresh & Onlys, now the Magic Trick band comprises of Noelle Cahill (Sweet Chariot), Alicia Vanden Heuvel (Aislers Set), James Kim (The Court & Spark, Kelley Stoltz band).

Taken from the A-side of 7″ single (SEXBEAT, 2011), The Fresh & Onlys has almost finished the new full-length, their fourth LP for Mexican Summer. It was recorded at Lucky Cat Studios with producer/engineer Phil Manley (Wooden Shjips, Moon Duo, Les Savy Fav, Grass Widow).

The Sandwitches – Joe Says

The Sandwitches – Lightfoot

Both tracks (via GvB) are taken from The Sandwitches‘ (Grace Cooper & Heidi Alexander, former Fresh & Onlys and collaborators of Sonny Smith’s 100 Records Project) forthcoming new full length “Mrs. Jones’ Cookies,” due out on March 29th via Empty Cellar.  Engineered by Donny Newenhouse, mastered by Paul Oldham, and featuring guest appearances by San Francisco swingers Shayde Sartin, Dic Stusso, and James Finch Jr..

photos by Kristin Klein

The Fresh & Onlys – Do You Believe in Destiny

Following up the 2010 album “Play It Strange,” The Fresh & Onlys‘ new “Secret Walls” 12″ EP/CDEP is due out on April 26th via Sacred Bones.  Recorded at guitarist Wymond Miles’ San Francisco home studio.

Tracklisting: 1. Secret Walls  2. Keep Telling Everybody Lies  3. Do You Believe in Destiny  4. Wash Over Us  5. Poison Wine

Tim Cohen – Don’t Give Up

‘Don’t Give Up’ is taken from the upcoming third solo full length “Magic Trick” by Tim Cohen known as the frontman of San Francisco’s the Fresh & Onlys and also known for helping Sonny Smith’s 100 Records project.  Joined by fellow soul searchers James Kim (Kelley Stoltz band), Noelle Cahill, and Alicia Vanden Huevel (Aislers Set), along with other supportive friends, “Magic Trick” is due out on February 22nd via Captured Tracks.  At the same day Captured Tracks release Cohen’s double 7″ with poster sleeve, an eight-song EP “Bad Blood.”

Tim Cohen – I Come Alive
‘Come Alive’ is taken from Secret Seven Record’s San Francisco compilation “In A Cloud“, released last year (LP is sold out, CD version will be available in March or April, 2011).

The Sandwitches – Summer of Love

“Imagine a 60′s Girl-group is on tour and their van breaks down near a gothic castle high on the hill, Dario Argento invites them in to perform a concert for his tweaked actors in a big dark red room inside and, if the dream is right, it’s the Sandwitches – they’d fit right in with those misfits and speak the same language. I’d like to be there to dance. Close your eyes and you’ll see what I mean. These are fab, haunting tunes wrapped in tender weird pop. That’s what we got here. A heavy party you want to hang out at.”   Kelley Stoltz 

‘Summer of Love’ is taken from The Sandwitches‘ new 7″ single (b/w My Teddy) which is due out on November 30th via 1-2-3-4 Go! Records, pre-order is available now, here.

« Older entries