You are currently browsing the archive for the THE MANTLES category.

Listen! the first track from the first solo full-length by Michael O. (of The Mantles). Available on Fruits and Flowers, HERE.

“MICHAEL O. (Olivares) of beloved Bay Area psych-pop band THE MANTLES (Slumberland, Siltbreeze etc) has been secretly building songs in his basement in Oakland with the help of HORRID RED’s Edmund Xavier for the past few years. The result is this affecting collection of cracked pop hits & tragic ballads. The Mantles are known to lay down a thick electric jangle, but with Michael’s solo songs the focus rests on rough-hewn vocal melodies & lyrics, laced with synths, acoustics, noises & clarinet. Michael tumbles headfirst into MODERN LOVERS, JACOBITES, TRONICS, TALL DWARFS territory…home recorded & highly personal but not lo-fi, please. “

西海岸版ウッズか?な! オークランドのザ・マントルズのマイケル・オリヴァレスの初ソロ。Dick Diverもリリースしてる自身のレーベル、Fruits and Flowersから。

“FRUITS & FLOWERS digs into the home recording vaults of three cracked pop songwriters for a split cassette. Fans of 80’s UK D.I.Y. and/or 90’s Shrimper will appreciate these tracks by MICHAEL O. (of THE MANTLES), PIANO MOVERS (ex-NODZZZ) and THE REDS, PINKS & PURPLES (Glenn Donaldson of ART MUSEUMS/SKYGREEN LEOPARDS). “

The Mantles – Raspberry Thighs

Following “Pink Information” EP (2010) on Mexican Summer, San Francisco’s the Mantles release new ‘Raspberry Thighs‘ b/w ‘Roman Hat’ 7-inch via French label, SDZ Records, available online through the label.

The Mantles – Cascades
Directed by Erren Franklin
from The Mantles “Pink Information” EP (2010) on Mexican Summer, following-up to their self-titled debut album from Slitbreeze.

The Mantles – Lily Never Married

from Mexican Summer’s Mexican Summer/Waterloo Compilation LP (2010), The Mantles consists of Michael Olivares (vocals, guitar), Drew Cramer (guitar), Matt Kallman (bass), Virginia Weatherby (drums).

Jonathan Richman meets the Byrds!

taken from Mantles‘ self-titled debut album on Siltbreeze Records (2009)