You are currently browsing the archive for the THE SHINS category.

Flannelgraph Records will release Yuuki Matthews‘ 4-track 12″ record “Funny Morning,” a remix of the song by Richard Swift, as well as two instrumental pieces, “Generations” and “Chrysanthemum (Slow)”.  Due out on September 30th.  A former member of Crystal Skulls, Seldom, currently a member of The Shins and Teardrops (with Richard Swift), Yuuki Matthews is a Seattle-based via Hollywood (Burbank), Californian musician. …. also he has been known as a contributor of David Bazan (Pedro the Lion) and Sufjan Stevens. 

1. Funny Morning (LP Version)  2. Generations
1. Funny Morning (Richard Swift Remix) 2. Chrysanthemum (Slow)

現在、ザ・シンズの新メンバーとして(リチャード・スウィフトとのプロジェクト、ティアドロップスも進行中)、そしてスフィアン・スティーヴンスやデイヴィッド・バザンのコントリビューターとしても知られるシアトルのマルチ・インストゥルメンタリスト、ユーキ・マシューズ(ex. Crystal Skulls, Seldom, Pedro the Lion)。下記の音源は2011年のデジタル・リリースした際の「Funny Morning」で、フランネルグラフ・レコーズから9/30にリリースされる12″には、同曲のスウィフト・リミックスを含む新ヴァージョンが収録されて〼。

from Digital Delivery Device, released 07 June 2011

from Asthmatic Kitty’s “Library Catalog Music” series
released 08 December 2009

original version appeared on Wake Owl‘s latest album “The Private World of Paradise” (produced by Richard Swift), this remix was done by Teardrops (Richard Swift and Yuuki Matthews).

from Bazan Monthly: Volume 1 / Number 2 /August 2014
Produced and Mixed by Yuuki Matthews
Guidance and Mastering by TW Walsh, Artwork by R. Swift
“Two new David Bazan songs will be released every month for the next five months.”


“Sings The Truth” 

Little Boxes” is a song written by Malvina Reynolds in 1962, which became a hit for her friend Pete Seeger in 1963, The song has been recorded by a number of musicians, including Rise Against, Chester Bennington of Linkin Park, The Shins, Regina Spektor, Devendra Banhart, Phosphorescent, Man Man, The Submarines, Death Cab For Cutie, Elvis Costello, The Decemberists, Kate and Anna McGarrigle (French version ‘Petites Boîtes’), Julianna Raye, Jenny Lewis, among others. “Sing The Truth” (reissued via Omni) includes the song.


Malvina Reynolds – Little Boxes

The Shins – Little Boxes

Kate and Anna McGarrigle – Petites Boîtes (french version)


Jenny Lewis & Johnathan Rice – Little Boxes

The Decemberists – Little Boxes

Nara Leão – Little Boxes

*MP3s via Versions Galore

photo by Julie Thompson

Levi’s® Pioneer Sessions: The Shins

The Shins covered a song of the Squeeze for the Levi’s Pioneer Sessions. It was recorded by James Mercer & Dave Hernandez of original member of the Shins with new members included Joe Plummer (Modest Mouse).  ‘Goodbye Girl’ was originally appeared from the Squeeze second album “Cool for Cats” (1979), released as its first single for the album.

The Shins – Goodbye Girl