You are currently browsing the archive for the THRILL JOCKEY category.

Sam Prekop – Weather Vane (Official Music Video)
from the album “The Republic” (2015) by Sam Prekop, on Thrill Jockey Records
Courtesy of David Hartt and David Nolan Gallery, NYC

Golden Retriever is the duo of Matt Carlson (modular synthesizer) and Jonathan Sielaff (bass clarinet, formerly of Au), two musicians who blur the line between sounds created electronically and acoustically. The pair formed Golden Retriever in 2008 and began to develop a language informed by the practices of free improvisation as well as the tradition of American experimental electronic composers like Alvin Curran & David Behrman. Golden Retriever creates music that is creatively challenging and structurally complex while remaining inviting and emotionally dynamic rather than adopting a confrontational stance toward the listener.”Thrill Jockey Records


Aki Tsuyuko – Rainbow Train

From the album “Hokane” (Thrill Jockey, 2006).

Glenn Jones – Bergen County Farewell (from “My Garden State”)

Guitar player Glenn Jones, founding member of Boston experimental rock group Cul de Sac formed in 1990, will release his fifth full-length and second for Thrill Jockey Records, “My Garden State.” Out on May 14th via Thrill Jockey Records.

released 17 February 2012
“Twilight Peaks,” a formal reissue of Basho’s last recordings, has been available via Smeraldina-Rima. It was mastered for vinyl and CD in its entirity by Glenn Jones (of Cul de Sac fame) and Matt Azevedo, from the original demo tapes.

Brokeback – The Wire, the Rag and the Payoff

‘The Wire, the Rag and the Payoff’ is taken from Brokeback‘s first new album “Brokeback and the Black Rock,” since 2003′s “Looks at the Bird”. A new version of the band since 2010 comprises of Douglas McCombs with the three new guys, Pete Croke (Tight Phantomz, Head of Skulls!, Reds and Blue), Chris Hansen (Pinebender, Head of Skulls!), and James Elkington (the Zincs, the Horse’s Ha). “Brokeback and the Black Rock” was recorded with McCombs’ fellow engineer John McEntire (of Tortoise) at his Soma Electronic Music Studio.
Pre-order is now available on Thrill Jockey. 
(Release Date: January 22, 2013)

Brokeback is the longstanding project of Douglas McCombs. McCombs is a member of Tortoise, Eleventh Dream Day, and Pullman, and has worked with Tom Ze, Azita Youseffi, Will Oldham, Calexico and Yo La Tengo.

Town and Country, December 15th, 2002
Jim Dorling, Ben Vida, Liz Payne and Josh Abrams

The Sea and Cake – On and On
Video and Sand animation by Naomi Nagata (永田ナヲミ)
The song is taken from their latest release “Runner” via Thrill Jockey.

« Older entries