You are currently browsing the archive for the UNDERWATER PEOPLES category.

taken from the upcoming split 7″ tour single, Gap Dream (Gabriel Fulvimar) / Part Time, out on August 26th via Burger Records.


ニュージャージー第三の新人(?)Free TimeはUnderwater Peoplesからも8月半ばにシングル出ます。「Guess Work」は、リアル・エステートのマーティンが録音。

taken from the B-Side to the Esoteric Tizz 7″ by Free Time via Underwater Peoples in mid-August.

遅まきながら、祝・さらにはリチャード・デイヴィス(ザ・モールス、カーディナルズ、コスモス)が21年振りでザ・モールス名義で録音。フル・アルバムはFire Recordsから年内リリース予定、フリー・タイムやリアル・エステートやスコット&シャーリーンズ・ウェディングなど米・豪ミュージシャンが録音をサポートしたとの由。先行シングルの「Beauty Queen Of Watts」はウッズのジャーヴィスがブルックリンで録音。

taken from the first single from RICHARD DAVIES (The Moles, Cardinal, Cosmos) under the name of The Moles in 21 years. The album, recorded with Woods’ Jarvis Taveniere and featuring Free Time, former members of Real Estate, Scott & Charlene’s Wedding, will be released later this year via Fire Records.

Underwater Peoples has announced their upcoming release of “No Matter What”, the debut EP from Family Portrait frontman Evan Ønly,  The EP is set to release in early 2014. The EP was produced by Kurt Feldman (The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Ice Choir frontman).

“Yeah, ‘On Me,’ which includes the interpolation of the melody and theme of the Bill Withers song, was originally a demo of what became “Men in Jail.” But when I was toying with names, I ended up singing “Lean On Me” on that first song. And that was the one song I recorded at home on GarageBand. “Come Back” was also done at our apartment.” (via BOMBLOG)

Following the 2010′s “Moon Deluxe,” Andrew Cedermark (the former Titus Andronicus guitarist) release his new full-length “Home Life”. Out on July 16th via Underwater Peoples, Pre-order, HERE.

The majority of Home Life was recorded by Kevin McMahon at Marcata in New Paltz, New York, with two separate bands: on half the songs Kevin Haney played drums and Jacob Wolf played bass guitar; on the other half Alex Tretiak played drums and Sarim Al-Rawi (of Liquor Store) played bass guitar. Jacob played all the keys and contributed many melodies, and Andrew wrote the songs and plays all other parts. “On Me” and “Come Back” were recorded at homes in Charlottesville, VA and New York City.

Julian Lynch – Gloves
Director/Producer: Sarah Kinlaw

“Thankfully, the Real Estate affiliate held onto the Phil Elverum-esque ‘Gloves,’ otherwise we wouldn’t have the track’s bizarre Sarah Kinlaw-directed video…” 

from Julian Lynch’s new album “Lines” LP (2013, Underwater Peoples)
The vinyl is available on April 30th. Order, HERE.

Julian Lynch – Pitchfork Weekly (via)
Julian Lynch performs stripped down versions of songs off his upcoming album.

Coming off the heels of last year’s Terra, Julian Lynch has finalized the work on his newest album, Lines, which you can expect in stores March 26th, 2013.

In addition to recording and performing music, Lynch currently leads a parallel life as a PhD student in Anthropology and Ethnomusicology at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He has a show planned for those in the region on February 23 at the Icehouse in Minneapolis. — Underwater Peoples Records

Julian Lynch – Carios kelleyi I by underwaterpeoples
Pre-order, HERE.

Girlseeker – Dream (from “1-800-Greed”)

Copenhagen’s very weird synth-pop outfit, Girlseeker‘s “1-800-Greed” LP (originally released 2011 on cassette via Endurance) has a split-release with Underwater Peoples, Big Love, Insula, Release the Bats, Denim Hologram, Silver Ghosts, KRAAK, New Images, Music City, 4:2:2v2. Vinyl-version was mixed and remastered by Peter Peter for the occasion.

RIYL: Ariel Pink, Alan Vega, Joy Division…

Girlseeker – Snake eyes by kraakfestival2012
(from “1-800-Greed”) (via)


Girlseeker @Kraak Festival 2012

The Memories – Higher (Live at Boom Bap)

The Memories – Softly

The Memories, a new project by White Fang’s Erik Gage (the founder of Gnar Tapes, Portland-based DIY music & cassette collective) and Kyle Handley, released their debut self-titled LP now from Underwater Peoples Records. The band comprises of Erik, Kyle, Izak Arida (aka Skinny Jesus) of Boom! and Aaron Levy of Meth Teeth. 

« Older entries