You are currently browsing the archive for the WILCO category.

A Chicago-based long-running duo The Autumn Defense, comprised by multi-instrumentalists and producers Pat Sansone (Wilco, Uncle Tupelo) and John Stirratt (Joseph Arthu, Josh Rouse), has set to release their new full-length “Fifth.”  Out on January 28th, 2014 via Yep Roc, pre-order, HERE. Stream the first single from the upcoming album, “None Of This Will Matter.”

Stream The Autumn Defense’s previous works on their bandcamp, HERE.

photo by PSquared Photography – courtesy of brooklynvegan

Wilco: June 22nd, 2013 Solid Sound Festival – via NYCtaper

and also…

(Yep Roc Official New Album Announcement)
Wilco members John Stirratt and Pat Sansone will release their fourth Autumn Defense album Once Around” on November 2nd 2010 via Yep Roc Records. The band will perform during the Wilco-curated Solid Sound Festival on August 15th.

The Autumn Defense – Every Day from “Once Around” by smartleydunn

Cult singer/songwriter James Jackson Toth cut his teeth as the leader of New York-based avant-garde/freak folk ensemble Wooden Wand & the Vanishing Voice and their myriad incarnations. The Memphis-based artist, along with his wife, Jex Toth, have put out numerous collections of eclectic psychedelic folk-rock under an even more diverse set of names, many pressed onto CD-Rs and sold at shows in extremely limited quantities. For his first “official” solo album, Toth looked to producer Steve Fisk (Nirvana, Soul Coughing, Soundgarden) and a small army of San Francisco-based musicians from the likes of Deerhoof, Vetiver, and Geraldine Fibbers to craft a nuanced, decidedly straightforward collection of songs echoing everybody from Richard Hawley and Chris Isaak to Jason Molina and Bob Dylan. Waiting in Vain arrived in summer 2008 on the Rykodisc label. –by James Christopher Monger (All Music Guide)


James Jackson Toth – Arranger, Electric Guitar, Vocals, Soloist
Jex Toth – Arranger, Vocals

Andy Cabic (Vetiver) – Vocals
Otto Hauser (Vetiver/Espers) – Percussion, Drums, Vibraphone
Carla Bozulich (Evengelista) – Vocals
Nels Cline (Wilco) – Electric Guitar
John Dieterich (Deerhoof) – Electric Guitar
Jason Quever (Papercuts/Skygreen Leopards) – Piano, Electric Guitar, Wurlitzer
Shayde Sartin (Sonny & The Sunsets/Skygreen Leopards) – Guitar (Acoustic), Bass, Arranger
Tahlia Harbour (Sonny & The Sunsets/Citay) – Vocals
Jarvis Taveniere (Woods/Meneguar) – Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar

Steve Fisk – Piano, Producer, Engineer, Fender Rhodes, Mixing, Wurlitzer
Ian Pellicci – Engineer
Ed Sherman – Art Direction

James Jackson Toth – Doreen

Being There (1979)

Being There is Peter Sellers last movie directed by Hal “Ashbee”.

Wilco – Being There (1996)
Wilco named the album Being There after a Peter Sellers film of the same name.

Bound for Glory (1976)

Hal Ashby’s movie about the life of Woody Guthrie.

Billy Bragg & Wilco – Mermaid Avenue(1998)
Billy Bragg and Wilco were teaming up to set their own music to Woody Guthrie’s unrecorded lyrics.

from Wilcoworld.net>>

Beck’s Record Club: Skip Spence “OAR” (1969)
The album chosen to be reinterpreted is Skip Spence’s (Moby Grape) legendary album “OAR” for Record Club sessions.

by Beck Hansen

Record Club: Skip Spence “Books Of Moses,”
featuring veteran drummer James Gadson (well known for Bill Withers’ recordings), Brian Lebarton, Jamie Lidell. 

by Beck Hansen

Record Club: Skip Spence “War In Peace,”
featuring Jamie Lidell and Feist, Nels Cline’s (Wilco) guitar.

by Beck Hansen

Record Club: Skip Spence “Broken Heart,”
featuring Jeff Tweedy and Feist duet.

Watch more >>