You are currently browsing the archive for the YO LA TENGO category.

art work: Jad Fair

“Bill Wells & Friends – Nursery Rhymes” will be available on November 20th via Karaoke Kalk.

01. Three Blind Mice (Featuring Karen Mantler And Yo La Tengo) 04:01
02. Polly Put The Kettle On (Featuring Isobel Campbell And Amy Allison)
03. Humpty Dumpty (Featuring Amber Papini And Yo La Tengo)
04. Shoo Fly (Featuring Amy Allison And Yo La Tengo)
05. Oranges And Lemons (Featuring Syd Straw With The Karen Mantler Trio)
06. Hickory Dickory Dock (Featuring Norman Blake And Aby Vulliamy)
07. Hot Cross Buns (Featuring Michael Cerveris)
08. Ding Dong Bell (Featuring Bridget St John)
09. Lavender’s Blue (Featuring Norman Blake, Georgia Hubley And Yo La Tengo)
10. Bobby Shaftoe (Featuring Aby Vulliamy)
11.Rock A Bye Baby (Featuring Isobel Campbell)
12. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star (Featuring Satomi Matsuzaki) 02:28
13. Ring A Ring Of Roses (Featuring Karen Mantler And Yo La Tengo)
14. Hey Diddle Diddle (Featuring Annette Peacock) 01:33
15. Ride A Cock Horse (Featuring Norman Blake And Yo La Tengo)

painting by Sue Garner

Morr Music set to reissue 1993’s “SUPERPOWERLESS” (as 2LP/CD) album by Dump, a lo-fi home recording project by James McNew (Yo La Tengo)! Available on March 19th. Stream the album on PopMatters, HERE. Also, 1994′s “I Can Hear Music” (as 3LP/2CD) and a collector’s 5LP-Box (“Superpowerless” 2LP and “I Can Hear Music” 3LP) is available.

Dump -Superpowerless

“The year was 1994. Americans thrilled to the latest episodes of
“Friends” and “Frasier,” assholes smoked cigars in public with impunity,
the New York Knicks lost to the Houston Rockets in the NBA finals, and
Lo-Fi music was sweeping the nation!
Largely due to the astronomical
success of Dump’s debut album, Superpowerless, the music world shifted
dramatically away from the grandeur of Grunge and the pomp and
circumstance of Alternative Rock. Following Dump’s lead, bands had
turned away from the bloated, inaccessible recording studio system and
embraced 4-track cassette recording as the industry standard. In his
memorable article for Rockpool, Steven Hawking described this new
musical phenomenon as “Lo-Fi.”
–an excerpt from the Liner Notes by James MacNew himself

Yo La Tengo – Before We Run
Animated by Emily Hubley, the song is taken from the forthcoming album “Fade,” recorded with John McEntire at Soma Studios in Chicago. 
Due out on January 14th (UK) / 15th (US) via Matador. Pre-order, HERE
“Fade” deluxe numbered edition includes a bonus 7″ featuring two exclusive covers: I Saw The Light (Todd Rundgren) b/w Move To California (Times New Viking), and the vinyl includes MP3 download coupon featuring exclusive 11 minute jam.

Yo La Tengo – Stupid Things (single version)

ジェイムス・マクニューのダンプ復活! 第一弾12″シングルは坂本慎太郎(ex. ゆらゆら帝国)とのコラボレーションで、あのGGアリンの「NYC TONIGHT」をディスコ・ヴァージョンで! Presspop MusicZelone Recordsのコ・リリースです。

DUMP has returned! 
The DIY recording project of James Mcnew (of Yo La Tengo), Dump will release the collaborative 12″ with Shintaro Sakamoto (ex. Yura Yura Teikoku), featuring vocal/instrumental disco versions of “the most spectacular degenerate in rock & roll history” GG Allin’s ‘NYC Tonight‘. Art work is an homage to NYC’s distinguished disco label, SAM. First pressing ONLY comes with MP3 download card! A split release from  Presspop Music and Zelone Records in late June.


Yo La Tengo Quartet – WFMU Marathon March 2, 2012
— James, Georgia, Ira and Mr. Bruce Bennett 

Yo La Tengo returns to the WFMU Marathon on Friday, March 2nd from 9 to midnight! Ira, James, Georgia and pal Bruce play your cover song requests in exchange for pledges! —WFMU


clips from side 2 of SUPER HITS OF THE 70′s !

Yo La Tengo has covered Todd Rundgren’s ‘I Saw The Light,’ it appears on Michael Shelley’s 2012 WFMU Fund Raising Marathon DJ Premium CD “Super Hits Of the Seventies!” along with Stevie Jackson (of Belle & Sebastian), The Minus Five, Paul Collins, Joe, Dennis Diken with Bell Sound and more, as a reward for donating to WFMU’s fundraising marathon. All songs were recorded exclusively for the compilation only. Full track list and the further information is HERE


And YLT will headline the Images Festival closing night gala on April 21 at the Toronto Underground Cinema, wherein they will perform “The Sounds Of Science,” an original score for Jean Painlevé‘s films. They created the score for a screening at the 2001 San Francisco Film Festival.

Yo La Tengo/Feelies – White Light/White Heat
Live at Maxwell’s in Hoboken, NJ on December 2, 2010, on the 2nd night of Hanukkah.
(via Eardrum NY)

« Older entries